We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Mira Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mira Hong Kong
Ranked #58 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stay here for business several times a year and would like to say this modern, contemporary hotel is great and in a really good location!!
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Always a pleasant experience!! Although rooms are tiny...my only criticism!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,824 of 3,117 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Hotel lived up to all expectations with spaceous, modern rooms and excellent restaurants however the whole stay experience was made by the Staff. My Wife had an unfortunate accident on the second day of our 7 day stay requiring a wheelchair (which the hotel supplied) and the Staff assisted us in all our daily coming and going, they also moved us from a conventional suite to a special suite equipped for disabled persons which enabled us to have some sort of normalcy in our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Upon arrival, we had some miscommunications between our reservations and the Front Desk. We booked our room through Orbitz, and unfortunately it did not specify to the Mira on whether we wanted 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. When we checked in (around 6:30pm), all of the rooms with King beds were taken...and they were about to put us into a room with 2 twin beds. After some back and forth, they were able to fix that and find us a room with a King bed. Winfield saw our disappointment and tried his best to accommodate our needs even though they were fully booked. This really made me like the Mira, and probably secured my loyalty to them should I ever return to Hong Kong.

In addition, the location and the hotel itself were great! The rooms were beautifully designed with a very modern and hip vibe to it. The hotel itself is connected to the Miramar Mall, I believe, which made it really convenient. My boyfriend and I purposefully chose this hotel for its central location, as it is conveniently located in Kowloon on Nathan Road with plenty of shopping, dining, and tourist attractions that are within reasonable walking distance. Yes, the hotel is a bit pricier than others, but it felt good to come home after a long day out in the Hong Kong heat/humidity to a beautiful room (with a nice city view, I might add!).

Some tips for new travelers to HK: if you're looking to save some money on transportation, there is a bus that will take you from the airport and drops you off right by the Mira. Go to the bus queue at the airport, take Bus 21A and get off at The Mira (not exactly sure of the street name, but the bus stops lists the street and the major hotels near it, so just keep a lookout for the Mira...I think it was Stop 12). It will definitely save you money, as the taxi will cost your triple the amount.

Book this place if you're looking for an excellent location and beautiful rooms! All in all, we had a very short (2 nights) stay there, but I will definitely return to the Mira.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katerrnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. Very hip and modern throughout the entire hotel. The best buffet breakfast with an enormous selection. The indoor pool was amazing and stylish. The rooms are fantastic, latest technology. I loved all of the hidden drawers and doors. The bathroom walls are glass, but can pull down blinds for privacy. They provide a turn down service nightly and even made a birthday cake for my husband. The staff are very very friendly. Excellent hotel.

The only fault with this hotel is that the pool staff are a little overbearing. Being followed into the bathroom and being watched whilst swimming was a tad uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

the Mira is a an almost indecently luxurious, modern hotel right opposite the Kowloon Park.
It looks as good as new out- and inside - i guess it must have had a complete refurbishing in the last years

Found the location fantastic. Of course its a superb base for Kowloon, and one can take a short (3-4 minutes) walk down Nathan street until reaching waterfront turn the corner at the Peninsula, take the ferry across the Harbour and continue exploring Hongkong on Victorias island.
The Metro station is just a 1 minute walk from the hotel entrance down Nathans Road.

The ambience inside the hotel is special - i am not sure if i particularly like it but i must say its an outstanding design-job. They used lots of black marble inside, and a black ceiling which makes the whole place relatively dark. daylight is close to none in the lobby, its a bit an atmosphere like in an old temple or like in a cave.

i stayed twice within a few weeks, once in a standard "Park.view" room, and the next time in the "Spa Suite". Both room-types have their own strong points and disadvantages and are very different from each other.

The Park-view Room had a large windowfront overlooking the Kowloon Park on the opposite site from the street. The windows let in plenty of daylight, so contrary to the hotels general dark theme, the room was bright and awash in sunlight. though the Mira is a low-rise building compared to most other hotels in Hongkong the view was nontheless great, overlooking the Park towards the ICC Tower.
the Standard rooms in the Mira are not large, but sufficiently spacious, and nicely furnished.

Something special about the Mira is the amount of electronic gimmicks at your disposal in the rooms.
There is a Sony design PC, with a wireless keyboard and the Flatscreen-TV as monitor.
a wireless phone with the reception, etc. numbers preprogrammed, that you actually can use not only in the hotel-grounds but take it with you and use ANYWHERE in Hongkong - and calling HK-numbers is free of charge.
a TV built-in the bathroom mirror ....... and so on .......

Now the Spa-Suite was quite different from the Standard-room. the Suite was much more spacious (obviously), but more like the theme of the hotel as a whole - a bit dark. there was only 1 window to get daylight in which looked over the (very nice) courtyard-garden of the hotel.
the "private SPA" however made more than up for that. the Jacuzzi is amazing not just a round bathtub with nozzles inside, but a huge one, more like a plunge-pool.
Same thing with the steam-room and the rain-shower - great quality and large
i dont need to stay in this room every day, but for a change it was very interessting in this Spa-Suite

Service is excellent throughout the hotel, whether the staff in the lobby or the restaurant
Dishes we tried out in the restaurant were all very tasty and the breakfast is as well with a great
variaty of western and oriental options.

All-in-All: the Mira is an excellent hotel, in a city full of excellent properties.
if one doesnot bother the slightly dark theme of the hotel (make sure you get a Park-view room if you want lots of daylight into your room) this is a great choice for Kowloon.

The price-tag is steep - including the 10% service-charge which IS NOT INCLUDED IN LISTED PRICES on online-bookingsites or the the hotels own site, the rooms start out at around 300 Eur - unfortunately excellent hotels in Hongkongs prime central locations are all in about that range.
There would be other truly excellent properties for less (150+ - 200+ Eur) in HK, but not in this kind of super central location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#18 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,247 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,635 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#53 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#43 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,053 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mira Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mira Hong Kong

Address: 118 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: €160 - €378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mira Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip interiors, award-winning cuisine, and personalised guest service continue to build on our reputation as Hong Kong's hottest Design hotel. And now, our Michelin recommended restaurants: Cuisine Cuisine at The Mira and WHISK offer some of the finest culinary experiences the city has to offer. Stylish, iconoclastic, individualised. Marked by art, music, cuisine, and all that's uplifting and edgy in-between. A discreet designer haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mira Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mira Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hong Kong
Miramar Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Miramar Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing