We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staffs, clean room & convenient transportation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Pacific Hotel
Ranked #95 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staffs, clean room & convenient transportation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went to Hong Kong in mid January 2012 and stayed at Island Pacific Hotel. The location is very convenient, there are many food stalls, convenient stores within walking distance. The room is neat and clean and, the mattress is firm. The public transport is also easy to access and high frequency, such as buses and trams with the bus/tram stop nearby. The cost is affordable, we can take bus number 5, 5B to go Wan Chai which costs about hk$2.40/person. The hotel staff is very helpful to provide all the transport information we need. Moreover, most of the Hong Kong young citizens are English speakers and can give us direction. Furthermore, the hotel also provide free shuttle bus to the IFC mall which takes about 15 minutes. We can take the airport express train from here to the Hong Kong International Airport or vice versa. We can also check in our luggage at this point for most of the International airlines.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Victoria harbor are quieter and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harapan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    890
    238
    36
    18
See reviews for
209
465
212
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We travelled to hong kong in November and stayed at this hotel. We knew it wasn't central but it was in a charming traditional area with good transport links nearby. There is a team stop outside the hotel and costs $1.60 hk for a journey. The mtr station is only 10- 15 mins walk away but often we just kept walking to central in the mornings in order to take in the atmosphere. The hotel runs a good shuttle service but it finishes early evening. Plenty circle k and seven eleven stores nearby to stock up on essentials. Also many laundries nearby that offer great service at cheap prices! Never use the hotel laundry! We found out on our last day that the hotel actually used the laundry we did but charged through the nose. We paid 20 dollars for full bag of washing! The concierge staff were excellent and always able to help and give advice. We found the reception staff we dealt with a bit aloof. When we checked in we mentioned that we had liked the hotel on the Facebook book in order to receive free breakfast. The person didn't really listen so we asked someone else later and were told just to sign anyway. We were still charged for breakfast despite all this but it was refunded eventually! The reception area of the hotel had an overwhelming perfumed scent probably due to the dried seafood in the area round about which incidentally isn't bad at all. Rooms were compact but clean with excellent shower and comfy bed. Free wi- fi always a bonus. Will definetly be back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flufster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

booked my room thru asia rooms stating that i wanted wan chai my fault should have checked location
but i was so pleased when i checked in 25 floor room over looking the harbour stunning
staff where so helpfull cleaned my room after 6pm
when i checked out at 1pm left my luggage with them collected my bags at 6pm asked doorman to get me a cab after 20 mins could,nt get one so hotel supplied me with a free lift to central station
if i ever return to hong kong this is the only place i will stay
hope they read this and i wish all the staff a happy new year

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aadams6850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston/ Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel during Chinese New Year. It's located within 5 minutes taxi ride from Central (costs about HKD 24.00 by taxi). However, the hotel run a shuttle between the hotel and central/HK station/admiralty every 30 minutes. So, we almost never needed a taxi when we had to commute to the MTR. Free WiFi connection is really good.
The hotel staff set very high expectations for customer service right from the minute we checked in. I had wrong information about the hotel shuttle service and hence missed it when I arrived in the HK station. So, took a taxi to the hotel. Surprisingly, the front desk refunded me the taxi fare when I casually mentioned them that I couldn't find the shuttle at the station. (remember, I didin't even ask for the taxi fare becoz the mistake was partially mine).

The cafereria is really nice and deccently priced; a la carte breakfast costs from $75- 100 HKD and a buffet cost about HKD 140...

I stayed in a superior sea view room. The room was compact, but convenient for two people. This place is slightly more expensive than a budget hotel; but its worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunprasad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

First of all, I love the location. I always stay in this area when I visit HongKong; It has a lot more charm and a more genuine Chinese atmosphere than Central or other parts. The tram station is right outside the hotel, you should not visit HongKong without taking a ride on a tram! It is such a nice way to travel, and only costs about 2 HKD. The ride to central takes about 5-10 minutes.
The hotel was surprisingly good, small but sufficient. Clean bathroom, comfortable bed, lots of international TV-channels. The difference is in the small details which I really appreciated; docking station for Iphone, free and really good wifi, and excellent service.

I will recommend this hotel to my friends and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaofStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#64 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#129 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Pacific Hotel

Property: Island Pacific Hotel
Address: No.152 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is the centerpiece of outstanding waterfront landmarks in West Central, offering a superb retreat from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The Hong Kong Island Pacific Hotel is one of the major Hong Kong Hotels of the area and a proven favourite Hong Kong base for discerning business travellers. The 343 room hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Sai Ying Pun Station and offers easy access to the Central business district and is only 15 minutes away from The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Serving as a relaxing retreat from the hectic pace of life in this vibrant city, the hotel offers boutique style accommodation at an affordable rate in a luxury environment. One of the world's great harbour views can be enjoyed from 80% of the hotel's accommodation, and all rooms and suites are configured to enjoy the optimum level of natural daylight through floor to ceiling windows. Plus, enjoy free WiFi access at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Pacific Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Island Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing