We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I absolutely recommend the Habor Plaza Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #48 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I absolutely recommend the Habor Plaza Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had a Great experience at the Habor plaza hotel in Hongkong. I stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days. I got a discount for booking through my company.

The main positive was the famous pool. It was located at the top of the hotel. Also when I went swimming I could see the habor view through the glass wall. This pool is almost always in Hong Kong movies because it has an amazing view especially at night.

The breakfast buffet provided a good selection of foods and was good quality. It was excellent.
.
I was there with my mom and the hotel provided us with some champagne, fresh fruit and other luxurious dishes as we were first time visitors. I remember that we talked about a lot of things through the night with champagne!

On the downside the location was a little inconvenient. Except for this point, everything was perfect.

I absolutely recommend the Habor Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skypass23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Harbour Grand Kowloon. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a memorable time. If you didn't get a chance this time, we do provide a complimentary shuttle bus for guests to make coming and going more convenient. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    960
    242
    59
    31
See reviews for
667
1,229
106
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Harbour Grand Kowloon
Rated 5 star and located on the harbour in Hung Hom, East Kowloon. The inconvenience of being distant from the main attractions is made up by a fabulous view of Hong Kong harbour. Luckily there is a free shuttle bus which leaves every 30 mins from 7.30am till 10.30pm. This stops at Mody Road (Tsimshatsui Centre) and Hankow Rd (next to the Peninsula and within walking distance of the Star Ferry). The pick up point at Hankow Rd leaves every 30 mins too, so I assume they have 2 shuttles operating at once (beware though, if the shuttle is full, the driver won't let anyone else on).
Check in is 2.00pm, check out 12.00pm. Efficient staff at reception, they spoke good English and were polite and friendly.
We had a superior harbour view room (40 m2) but upgraded to a deluxe harbour view room. The only difference between the rooms is that the superior rooms are on floors 3-8 and the deluxe rooms on floors 9-15. The club lounge is on the 19th floor and the outdoor swimming pool and gym, sauna, spa and solarium on the 21st floor. The rooms are very clean, large flat screen LG TV, marble bathroom, full sized bath, separate shower, chaise lounge chair. No IPod dock though.
We upgraded to the club lounge for HKD660+10%tax a night. This gets you a complimentary fruit platter on arrival, access to the lounge, open from 7.00am to 11.00pm and late check out till 3pm.
The lounge has breakfast 7am to 10am, afternoon tea 3pm to 6pm and evening refreshments 6pm to 8pm. Free wi-fi available and newspapers. The breakfast is certainly not as extensive as the buffett in the Promenade but more than adequate, you can order eggs cooked as you wish. The only Chinese dish is congee , no Japanese options. There is a pushbutton coffee maker which I almost broke!
Evening refreshments were much better than I had imagined. There were a couple of warm snacks, small appetisers, some mini buns, cheese and crackers, desserts, plus fruit juices, wine, and soft drinks.
The lobby has a sweeping curved glass atrium with views of the harbour, a grand marble staircase ideal for weddings. The main restaurant is the Promenade for buffet breakfast (HKD 198+tax), lunch (HKD218+GST) and dinner (HKD418+tax). The other main restaurants are the Harbour Grill., Robatayaki for Japanese food, Hoi Yat Heen for Chinese food and the Corner Cafe for cakes and pastries.
Gym is well equipped with 4 treadmills overlooking the harbour, gives you the feeling you are on a cruise ship. There is also a promenade in front of the hotel for long evening strolls.
Internet is charged at HKD130 per device (can use in room and public areas of hotel).
There is a local supermarket and department store called Justco nearby (look for the ship Whampoa) for your basics, a Pacific Coffee Company Cafe about 50 metres away as well and a Starbucks on the next block.
My impressions: a large busy bustling hotel with fantastic harbour views, friendly courteous staff,
Cons: off the beaten track from Nathan Road but free shuttle bus is actually a bonus as it brings you with all your heavy shopping straight to the entrance. No free wi fi.
Recommendations: skip the garden view room and go straight to a harbour view room. Upgrade to club lounge if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mirroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest, A very lovely and thorough review. You've done my job for me! Sincerely, we appreciate your review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to being able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked a harbour suite for 3 nights and the rooms were beautiful, spacious, amazing view, complimentary fruit, great bathroom, cable TVs - really can't fault it, it was the height of luxury and was lovely to come back to after full on days in the city and on the island. The hotel itself is grand indeed - impressive reception and very helpful doorman, regular taxis and their own shuttle bus all make this hotel very accessible even though it is just away from the action of the main streets.
The hotel roof pool is impressive but a little windy and not heated so we didn't brave much more than a few toes - also bit disappointing was the jucuzzi which was also cold - would have been lovely to have enjoyed this. The gym is very well equipped - good machines and weights area - much better than most hotels.
The transport was not a problem for us at all - the shuttle runs regularly, the star ferry is always fun, the tube was very efficient and convenient plus taxis are sooo cheap in Hong Kong that you can always hop in one and it rarely costs you more than a few pounds.
So the few things they could have done better - wi-fi. We booked through expedia and on our booking it was noted we had free wi-fi, but reception didn't have this noted and wanted to charge us for this. When they did accept we had this included they only let us have this for one device per day (ie one laptop or one mobile), the charge wasn't much but I think for a hotel of this level and the price we were paying for the room this should be complimentary - it's standard in Hong Kong that most places have free wi-fi - Starbucks does so feels a bit off to be charged at the hotel! It's also not the most modern hotel, this didn't bother us at all, and it's finished to a high standard but when compared to the W or ritz carlton it is a bit more traditional compared to their slicker and modern looks. Aside from this and the cold pool this is a first class hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citybreakfan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate your honesty and agree that there is always room for improvement and it is something we are constantly working on. We have taken note of your comment and have passed it on to the appropriate departments. The pool is heated in the winter but it maybe something we have to look into for the summer. Nonetheless, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Booked an exec room which worked out good value. Room was spacious and clean. Good bar/restaurant on the water's edge. Shuttle sevice bus ran every half hour to the centre which was good for shopping and star ferry. Close to railway station which was convenient as we were catching the overnight train to Beijing. This too was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank balihiSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed Hong Kong and Beijing and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was the 2nd time my family and I have stayed at the Harbour Grand Kowloon hotel and again we were NOT disappointed!
From our late night arrival to our afternoon departure the hotel staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Our Harbour View rooms were comfortable, well maintained and clean. The hotel has a shuttle service which runs every 30 mins until late at night and the staff are very helpful and provide maps and directions to all the places of interest to your group ... and I must mention the door man who always has a smile and a hello!!
During our stay, my daughter celebrated her 40th birthday and the staff (with very short notice) presented her with a birthday cake during our evening meal in the Buffet while the band sang Happy Birthday to her in English ... quite an unexpected surprise but very much appreciated - as was the Tray with champagne, cake and red rose which was left in her room. These thoughtful touches made her birthday extra special ..Thank you to all!! ...We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: The corner Harbour View rooms are very spacious and worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Love that you have a picture of our door man - he is one of the stars of our hotel. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are always so pleased to hear that our guests come and stay with us again - here's looking to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,057 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotelopia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing