We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Just returned from 3 week trip to China, finished up in Hong Kong. I read about other client comments regarding hotel being "dated;" well, it is not - the decor is perfect with the style and ambience expected of a grand hotel in Hong Kong - if you want modern plastic furniture, synthetic carpets, go elsewhere - you will be disappointed in the solid Asian wood decorations (in the lobby and your room), magnificent chandeliers, marble fountain, and colorful hand woven rugs. Yes, the staff is old-fashioned (thank goodness!) - they are magnificent! - They will spoil you to no end! You stop in the lobby and two will immediately come over and ask to help you - the check in staff is quick, knowledgeable, and always ready to respond to to you; the Concierge Desk is - well -overwhelming helpful. Just ask for Jorie, Billy or Kobe who will handle ANYTHING for you! I had an issue with a hotel policy and was upset and ready to complain to the manager, but Kobe listened, smiled and solved the matter quickly. Billy drew maps for us and gave advice on the Metro and Taxi use - Jorie gave welcome advice on shopping, eating out, going places, and life itself - all with a smile and graciousness that made you want to stay and talk (we did). And that buffet Breakfast - do not go to it to lose weight! It IS the best in Hong Kong - see for yourself. The rooms and bath are large, well appointed and well serviced. Nice location for walking around and shopping (3 blocks from Nathan Road ) and walking to the night light show.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room though Hong Kong does have a pollution issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear James B, we are most pleased to hear that you were well taken care of throughout your stay with us. Thank you for your nice compliments for Jorie, Billy and Kobe, who, along with our frontline colleagues, are all excited to have left a lasting impression on you with their genuine service. We are also glad to know you enjoyed great convenience exploring the neighbourhood with our prime location. Thank you again for your kind support, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality in the near future. Yours, Philip Dewar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 3,705 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Have been coming here for years, but after some bad experiences at other hotels, I thought I should give kudos to the hotels that are also top notch.

Room decor I would call classic modern. Warm, inviting, without feeling dated.

The bed is comfortable, the sheets soft, a choice of pillows, nice towels, clean (even in the corners).

Staff are friendly and responsive. If there is an issue, they deal with it, and if they can't I always get a call from management with an explanation of the steps they will be taking during my stay to resolve the issue. They truly understand good service.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shamefulaudacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear shamefulaudacity, thank you for your continuous support! It is delightful to know that you had such a wonderful time here. Your compliments are the biggest motivation to us all as we always spare no efforts in delivering an enjoyable stay and dining experiences to all our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Yours, Philip Dewar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
173
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Good hotel with great service, large fresh breakfast and executive lounge with a great view. A bit unmodern, dark rooms, gym and pool is quite small. Good location! Great for business trip or equivalent.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your comments and observations with us. Comments like yours are certainly helpful, as we tirelessly strive for improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Yours, Philip Dewar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Most fantastic hotel ever.. Everything is first class: hotel,facilities,staff from cleaners to management. Nothing is too much for them. Your happiness is their priority. Daphne in the Horizon Club was extremely helpful, giving tips on where to visit in certain areas of Hong Kong and a special mention to Steven the doorman who saved the day when we were not picked up from the hotel by a tour that we had booked. He took it upon himself to Ri g the tour company and found out that there had been a mix up so he hailed a taxi and found out we had to be at a certain pier for 6.15 as the cruise left then. We had 15 mins to get there and we made it with one minute to spare ! If it hadn't have been for Steven a fabulous trip on the harbour, meal and visit to The Peak would have been missed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you .

Stayed: September 2017
Thank bery5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear bery5757, thank you for sharing your staying experience with us. We are all thrilled to hear how our genuine service and dedication have left such a lasting impression on you. Thank you for your kind compliments on Daphne, Steven and the team, who are all pleased to know that you had such a great time here with us again. We hope to welcome you back real soon. Yours, Philip Dewar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the huge room on the 11th floor. Nice view. Bathroom and main room looked remodeled. However the hallway has an odor and is quite stale. No air movement. Great amenities in the room, but I was highly disappointed that the iron was so dirty that it burned a dirty stain in my pants. Frustrating as this is a multi-city business trip and I planned to wear those pants again. My trip was short (2 nights) so I didn't have time to inform management. Now I know to check the iron plate for cleanliness before using.

Many restaurant options within the hotel. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff. All that said, I would explore other options before returning here. I've stayed at 3 other hotels in Hong Kong with very positive experiences.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank PCHan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear PCHan888, thank you very much for sharing your compliments and comments, which are all much appreciated as we continue to strive for service excellence. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality next time you are in town. Yours, Philip Dewar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,120 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,635 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,142 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
825 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: €217 - €490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing