We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service and the harbourview!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #73 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Location, service and the harbourview!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Recently spent a week at this hotel at the Harbourview Room. It wasn't cheap but was the best value I could find for a room with a view of the famous HK skyline.

The view, stretching from the west of HK Island to about the Admiralty area, was spectacular and allowed us to watch the Symphony of Lights show from our room. We could also see the highest building in HK, ICC, from the bed, and watch all the harbour activity with the Star Ferry pier and cruise ship pier directly below the hotel.

The room itself was very spacious by any standard, clean, refurbished with new and spotless carpet, quality furniture and bedding. It was very comfortable with all the amenities, except for an iron, needed for a hotel stay. Toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, toothbrush/paste, etc) were replenished daily. The towels were fluffy, water pressure sufficient, bathrobes and slippers provided. The large flat-screen TV had an extensive selection of channels. Turndown service was provided nightly. The wi-fi is free throughout the hotel, the signal in the room was strong.

The location of the hotel is simply unbeatable, just steps away from the Avenue of Stars, Star Ferry terminal, buses, money changers (Chungking Mansions), restaurants, bars with views (at the Intercontinental, the Peninsula, One Peking Road, etc), shops, shops and more shops. It is near an MTR stop but involves a long walk, including an underground passage. The K2 Airport Express (AE) shuttle bus stops at the hotel or otherwise it is only a HK$30 taxi ride to Kowloon AE station for the ride to the airport.

Our room rate did not provide for breakfast, so we had it outside the hotel. The adjacent Star House has a McCafe, Starbucks and Cafe de Coral (local fast food place). We usually caught a Star Ferry to Central and had breakfast at the IFC mall's (SimplyLife) - preferred it for the view and less hectic atmosphere.

The service on all occasion that we requested was excellent, polite and very prompt. Went to the pool once just before it closed for maintenance. Again, service poolside was great, with warm drinking water (it was a bit chilly outside), fresh apples and newspapers provided. We did not experience any queues at check-in or check-out but sometimes we would see queues in the lobby.

One negative about the hotel was the lobby - small size, a lack of sufficient seating (the few seats that were there were always occupied) and a very strong smell of piped perfume. Couldn't imagine spending a lot of time in the lobby as I'd get a headache pretty quickly because of this overpowering scent.

Overall, a great choice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Harbourview Room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    911
    279
    92
    42
See reviews for
614
715
151
712
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Had a room overlooking the Island and the pier and enjoyed our stay very much. Very comfortable, friendly staff, room servicing was very high standard and the location by Star Ferry was terrific. Wi-fi access was very good - would stay again.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room with a view of the Island skyline and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Marco Polo HongKong hotel is located in Tsim Sha Shui area, its a popular area in HK and approx 1hr from HK Int'l airport. Via MTR is fastest to reach hotel. Taxi in HK are expensive and distance is quite far from airport

There are 3 Marco Polo hotels in the city and all located quite near to each other so make sure you know which Marco Polo you are staying at. There is a Marco Polo Prince hotel as well and our taxi driver brought us to it initially

The entrance to hotel is along Canton road and you had to walk down a flight of stairs to reach the lobby which i found werid esp for those with big luggage. After check-in, you also need to walk-up some steps to reach lifts, again quite inconvenience

Rooms were extremely large by HK standards and had a huge sofa and walk-in wardobe. Bed was ok and internet in the room is all wireless and free

I had a chance to try their room service, not great but decent, definitely in HK, you find great food everywhere, thus comparison pales

I must commend their staff for their service and will like to stay Marco Polo again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just stayed in this hotel for 7nights. I was fortunate to have paid corporate rate for my stay otherwise, it would have cost quite a bomb. Rooms were clean, cosy and spacious. I like the idea that guests are offered a pillow menu to select their favourite pillows. During my stay, I was disappointed that the pool was under maintenance. However, the free access to fitness first health club at the gateway(3 mins away) made up for it. It was interesting that the housekeeping team had asked us if we wanted the bed to be turned down(I never knew there was such a service). It was in general a comfortable stay. The only thing that I can pick on is the walk from the MTR station which involved going up and down the underpass.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This place has a great location and very clean rooms.

The rooms were a good size and very comfortable.

The main problem with this hotel is the size.

It took me 40 mins to check in. My friend had made a booking through bookings.com and had requested a harbour view. The hotel claimed they were unaware of this request and suggested we pay an extra $HK270.

As the front desk was always so busy it was impossible to get any local information from the hotel. The only time I tried was on checkout and was told to catch the ferry "leave hotel and turn left" not very helpful.

I did complain to the manager (didn't want to complain on trip advisor with out talking directly to the hotel) and was offered a free bottle of wine and free breakfast. This was very nice but doesn't change my experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city's busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong's cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex. Guests enjoy easy access to the area's major tourist attractions like Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel's 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel, or catch up with the latest blockbuster from the wide selection of movies while enjoying the hotel's In-room Dining service. For guests preferring the exclusive comfort and personalised service of The Continental Club, our designated guest floors come with unparalleled benefits that have become hallmarks of the Marco Polo hospitality. In a city known as the 'Culinary Capital of Asia', the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel features three of Hong Kong's most renowned restaurants and bars, to include Cucina which features Italian open kitchen, all-day international cuisine at Cafe Marco, and the Rum Bar at Lobby Lounge - conferred the Guinness World Record for "Bar with the World's Largest Selection of Commercially Available Rums." Whether you are looking to plan your dream wedding or the perfect corporate meeting, our 14 state-of-the-art function rooms will meet your every need. The built-in audio-visual facilities of the function rooms on sixth level provide the ideal setting for small- to medium-sized events. The Centenary Ballroom at lobby level is the perfect balance between elegance and intelligent architecture, where clients can transfer even the biggest display materials easily due to the ballroom's unique lobby level access. Stay connected with family, friends, and workplace from our Connect Lounge. Take a dip in our pool to unwind after a long day out, or do a quick workout at the gym. Better still, indulge in some retail therapy at the adjacent Harbour City shopping mall which is the ultimate destination for shopping, dining and entertainment with over 450 shops that feature the world's leading brands. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Staying at the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel gives you the perfect blend of warm Asian hospitality and a central location with its convenient access to Kowloon and Hong Kong. Hotel note: In our effort to continually provide a top quality environment for our guests at Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, a hotel exterior upgrading programme will be carried out in phases, from Mondays to Saturdays between 9am and 6pm, with expected completion in the second quarter of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing