We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bumps” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #65 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bumps”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had a terrible experience here. I received a few bumps and was met with a very poor response from the management team. After going through the reviews, I found an old one by someone called EUTrav (Rating 182 in this list) which horrified me. Generally the hotel was fine - I don't know what happened - maybe the sheets were dirty or it was a trick from one of the service staff, but after waking up with some bumps, I would not return. Generally the hotel was OK value for HK but it is definitely further out so be warned about that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    706
    167
    38
    26
See reviews for
253
510
186
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

had a blast staying in this hotel room is small but filled with every amenities u r expecting food is good and bar just amazing to chill yourself with amazing varieties of cocktails and beers and surrounding is just amazing as hotel is in the heart of city will stay here again in the future

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuwannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

A clean, modern hotel that surpassed our expectations. It was further out from Central than we expected, but the streets around the hotel are still buzzing with life - in fact, we found the long walk into central quite refreshing, as we didn't see any other tourists at all until we got closer to Holywood Road, just lots of Hong Kongers going about their business. Of course walking isn't the only option - the hotel has a free shuttle which runs about once or twice an hour (difficult to plan your day around this though), and there are also trams and buses, and it's very easy to get a taxi outside.
The breakfast buffet has a wonderful selection, but it's quite pricey, and after our first night we worked out that it was cheaper to have breakfast in bed than to eat in the restaurant.
We found staff very friendly and helpful, and housekeeping always left our room immaculate.
Our only complaint is a little cheeky, in that we were hoping for a little something in recognition of our honeymoon, as our travel agent had notified them that we were honeymooners - maybe we were being too optimistic!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A very smart modern hotel, with very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Location a bit out of town but once you've got to grips with the trams and buses just round the corner, distance from the city not a problem. Our room was miniscule but adequate for just three nights and it was kept very clean, as was the ensuite. View from the window not great but guess thats just the everyday Hong Kong. Breakfast was very good, well laid out with plenty of choice and the small bar/restaurant on the top floor do a lovely supper menu. All in all a good experience and bonus is a free shuttle bus from the hotel into town every 45minutes or so.

Room Tip: Considering the hotel is on a very busy bustling street, traffic noise in the room not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polly66Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Rooms are clean and you can have both wired and wifi internet. Location is good – there is supermarket, McDonalds, KFC and Yoshinoya nearby.

I stayed 2 nights and wanted to extend my stay by one day. So, I told the staff at the front counter and paid money. To my surprise when I came back, I was checked out of this hotel and my luggage was moved to the storage room, even I have been told by staff that I can stay in the same room. Never had such experience before of being checked out of the hotel I have paid in advance for.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hill are better, no need to get city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#62 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#93 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#103 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#33 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#73 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing