We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy room and convenient location..!”
Review of Homy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homy Inn
Reviewed 11 January 2013

There are several hotels and hostels in and around Tsim Sha Shui. If you're looking for a place that has clean (as in spotless!) and cosy rooms and a place near the shops, then Homy Inn would be a good choice. This Inn/hostel is less than a year old, so it was no surprise that the place looked and felt new.

The Tsim Sha Shui branch has rooms in two buildings - Windsor Mansion (5/F) and Union Mansion (6/F). Some people might get lost when looking for the hotel as the address says Chatham Road South because the main reception area is on a mini street just off the main road - Hart Avenue. (Best to google map it in advance - big help).

Highlights:
1. Location - located just a quick 5-minute walk from the nearest MTR entrance (Tsim Sha Shui East - which connects to the main Tsim Sha Shui station) and just across the street from the A21 bus stop. A 5-minute walk from Nathan road as well, which is a good thing - near the shops, but away from all the noise and traffic if you stay on Nathan road. (If you arrive past midnight and take the N21 from the airport to Homy Inn, you'll have to get off Nathan Road (near Middle or Mody Road).
2. Sleep - bed sheets they use are the ones you'd find in 5-star hotels. You won't read any reviews about and bed bugs or stained sheets as the sheets here are fluffy, new and clean as ever..! I went in winter so nights were warm thanks to them. You'll sleep like a log.
3. Room amenities - like the bed sheets, this place has room amenities you won't find at other hostels. Sure you'll pay a tad more, but it just makes the entire stay more cosy and convenient - complete with daily complimentary coffee/tea; an electric kettle, hair dryer, power extension with converters, slippers, towels, tissue, toothbrush/paste and bath gel and shampoo.
4. Service/staff - we stayed in Windsor Mansion which is across the street from the main check-in area. the staff were accommodating. We arrived past 1am in the morning and they were there to greet us and take us to our room. They were also very quick to reply to my email when asking about room rates. They didn't have a family room (1 double and 1 single bed) available so they offered the bigger room (with 2 double beds) with a slight discount. They were quick to provide info on places to eat and activities to do. Maps are available at the inn as well (if you weren't able to get them at the airport).


Things to note:
- Wi-fi - the internet connection was fast but only on a Samsung phone. We informed the staff that our other phones couldn't connect to the wifi. (There is a computer in one of the reception areas should you need to surf the internet, and free printing if you need it).
- Rooms - be ready to live in 'Hong kong-sized' rooms - small for global standards but normal for local standards so don't complain. (Note though I've read that the beds are small if you're over 6ft tall). If you want space, you'll have to go to a hotel. And pay extra, most likely.
- No common room/lobby - not something really needed given that a) you'll already have what you need in the room and b) you'll be out most of the time and will barely be in the hotel since there's so much to do in HK!
- Elevators- unlike some hostels, the lift/elevators are 24/7 so won't have to ever take the stairs (esp. when you have luggage)

Room Tip: In general, hostel rooms in Hong Kong can be small. State the obvious when asking about the room - e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LGR_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are very small.
But other than that, the Homy Inn is a great place to stay!
The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was clean, the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The positives are the cleanliness, the location and the helpful/cheerful staff. And I guess it was cheap. But you get what you pay for and I was suprised just how small the room was; when my suitcase was open it covered about 50% of the total floor space. That's small. I would say the floor space was about 1m x 1m. And that was a double room so although I travelled alone then I just can't see how 2 people with 2 suitcases could have coped. To be fair the room was well equipped but this made it even more cramped. Arriving at the hotel was rather eye-opening......along a corridor, up in the lift, along a dreary corridor with old boxes stacked up and unpainted concrete walls to a tiny Reception. And then I was escorted down the way I came, across a road and up inside an altogether different building to my room. So beware of the room size which is miniscule but make the most of the excellent location and enjoy Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

first of all, staffs at Homy are really helpful. Emailed them about our late check in and they were fast to make arrangement. Was greeted by their warm smile every morning.

we stayed in a double standard room. room is a little small, something typical about houses in HongKong (so we shouldnt be complaining about this!). it was very clean and furnished with everything we needed. location of the inn is very good! near MTR stations and bus stops. large variety of food is available and is just a few steps away.

will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mongchachacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just back from hk , and stayed at homy inn for 5 nights ( 3 nights with family room + 2 night basic double bed room) .

this hostel is easy to find as we just get off bus no. A21 at bus stop no.16 mody street and walk about 2 mins to union mansion buliding (bike shop is around the corner in case u walk pass the lane) , the staff here r very helpful ,smile , the elevator to 6th floor r nice too , i didnt feel scary at all

3 first nights we stayed in family room (in another building call windsor mansion just 1 mins away) that has 2 double bed and bathroom , it was nice and big enough for us (3 people) beds r clean ,bath room still look new (dec 2012) the shower got hot n cold and its working so great ,they also provide towels , toothbrush ,toothpaste ,shampoo n bath gel

same as 2 nights later they also provide these stuffs in basic double bedroom too , even the room is tiny but i dont feel any inconvenient , they also have service to make up your room everyday as u request and the room is all new and clean every night i came back

The hostel itself gotta use keycard before go inside i feel quite safe and impressed , the environment near hostel is ok too , not busy street ,not dangerous ,not far from main road , easy to walk to MTR just around the corner got elevator down to subway (tsim sha tsui station) ,got 7-11 nearby ,easy to go anywhere although its first time u here in hk ^_^

U can also walk to the ferry station to macau not far from hostel , just walk around 10 -15 mins i got an advice from hostel staff so its very easy to go traveling to macau and come back a bit late at night

I will recommend this hostel to my friends who is coming to visit hk in the future and every time i go to hk too , thank u

Room Tip: From the elevator (P3) around the corner down to subway u can just walk to avenue of star so easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Minnithepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 164 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#3 of 164 in Hong Kong
608 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
#13 of 164 in Hong Kong
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mahjong
#1 of 164 in Hong Kong
188 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InnSight
InnSight
#22 of 164 in Hong Kong
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homy Inn

Address: 6/F & 7B Union Mansion 33-35 Chatham Road South, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €21 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing