We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there unless you want trouble”
Review of New London Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New London Hostel
Ranked #123 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Stayed there three times. Cheap but always problems. Hard to get ahold of. Very poor service. Leaky toilets. Loud noises at night. Cooking smelly food at night. Soiled sheets. And they give out different prices.

Wi fi works poorly or not at all. Won't go back

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scarletibis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here as the first leg of our travel to South east Asia. We actually bookd th marigold hostel but got sent here. We caught a bus from he airport which dropped us outside chunking mansion. We were instantly swarmed by mobs of people trying to sell you anything under the sun. Head straight through them and to he first elevator to the left just past a nice convenience shop. Head to the top floor. You are not here yet. Scale a flight of stairs, avoiding the bursting rubbish sacks on the stairwell. Head immediately right when you reach the large room full of laundry, towards the dingy door proclaiming "New London". Our room was so tiny it couldn't have fit anything else. Both people cannot stand at the same time. On the plus side the sheets weren't overly dirty (a few gross stains) and no bugs other than a few mosquitoes. After a day people stop trying to sell you things and you warm to the place. Don't expect anything more than sleeping space and you won't be too disappointed. Glad we persevered with it for four nights looking back.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank willyo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Besides that, everything is going wrong there. It is located on a building full of people trying to sell you made-in China products and Kebab stores. You actually have to run away from them from the entrance until the elevator so they don't bother you. The place, unfortunately, stinks like fried food. The room is so tiny that there might not be enough air for teo people to breath. I was there with my sister and we had a room with 2 beds. They are weirdly made in a way to fit the tinniest room I've ever seen and so if one of us wanted to stand up to go to the bathroom the other had to stay in bed because there wasn't enough space. The bathroom is an adventure, the douche is hanging from the wall and on top of the toilet seat, so you're more like praying for the bath not to take long. Not to mention the water was very cold with joyful 2 minutes of hot water after a long time waiting. And then it was back being cold. Breakfast is unspoken of, reception is non-existant, there's no window in the rooms and it's by far the worst experience I had.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gabriella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

they move all of us from marrigold hostel to this new london hostel, the room is so small even baggage can't fit, the smell from the toilet make us want to puke, the lift is so small, and the entrance si so scary, not recomended for familly with child..

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The place where this hostel is situated is not recommended for staying. The hostel itself was ok with high price and very limited facilities. This place Chung King Mansion is in complete chaos situation. If you find a better option then select that rather then this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels
2  Thank Jignesh0648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,144 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 727 in Hong Kong
831 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 727 in Hong Kong
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 727 in Hong Kong
6,124 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New London Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New London Hostel

Address: Flat A9, Block A, 17/F, Chungking Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €25 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New London Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New London Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing