We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$188
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$332
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$350
US$214
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Butterfly On Morrison(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$226
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
489
86
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
86
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraining hotelpok fu lamthe south china seaan ocean view roomvocational traininghospitality studentsturn down serviceoctopus cardbucket of iceminute bus riderooms are hugemini bar isstanley marketvictoria peakpublic transporthong kong islandhotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have family who live in this part of hong kong, and one of their friends told me about this place. When we had a family event on, and a few of us were in hong kong, I offered to try this place out. The family friend was so positive about this place and before we checked in I thought that it can't be that good - but it really is... The deal is that you stay in a stunning 5 star standard room for a very reasonable price. Its based on the 6th floor of a Chinese cookery school. The down sides are that it's about a 15 min drive into central hong kong and the staff are all in training. However, I would say the downsides are not that bad - there is a bus stop right outside and we never waited more than 3 mins for a bus to central. A bus to central is about 50 pence (gbp). The hotel are willing to order cabs but we did wait a while so it's just as quick to get the bus. Most of the time, we got a taxi back to the hotel - cost
around 70 hkd (about £6 gbp) but its a good idea to have one of the hotel cards with you as
a few taxi drivers were not aware of this facility. You have to be a bit patient with the staff
as they are all in training, but what they lack in experience and confidence they make up for
in eagerness, also I should say that there is always an experienced supervisor around so they
step in when things may be taking a bit to long or they lay the cutlery out incorrectly for
example. Other plus points are that the drinks in the mini bar, and at the bar, plus dinner are all very very reasonably priced. We had a bottle of wine for 88hkd (£7 gbp) - bet you wont find that in any other hotel, and there are some lovely sea views from the rooms and bar terrace. Another tip from someone who has been to hong kong a few times - the hotel is very near pokfulam country park, and there is a great walk up to the peak. Go to the park and at the gate, turn left up a big flight of stairs. At the top of the stairs bear right and you'll join a path. Follow the path round to you get to a road. Turn left and follow the road up to the peak. It's about an hour to hour and a half walk depending on your fitness.

Stayed: March 2012
7  Thank LucyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was a really great find. Exceptionally good value, about half the price of similar. Although the staff are training, they are competent and very keen to please. You won't get any attitude here.
The rooms are superbly designed and extremely well equipped. Well-stocked mini-bar that you can actually use because the item prices are low. Good restaurant with, again, very reasonable prices, including the wine (an excellent bottle of Chardonnay was $15!).

Great views from the Harbour view rooms. Well equipped gym. Slight downside is that it is away from the main Harbour, but that's only a 10 minute taxi ride (which is about $7). Close to the Stanley market (must see) and the jumbo restaurant (expensive and grumpy).

Room Tip: Harbour view. There are adjoining rooms for families
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank StewartW96653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The past month I spent 2 days in this hotel and I just want to share that this was a great value for money I payed. The staff was great and helpful, the views are amazing and the breakfast was very tasty. Everyone was courteous and very friendly, easy access from the airport. I would highly recommended and I will difinately go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank donCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Absolutely beautiful and service impeccable little hotel in HK is more than just a value for money.
Beautifully designed rooms with everything you need, including WiFi, super comfy bed and minibar with very reasonably priced goodies. I really liked the white wine!
Location, in my opinion, is actually not in the center of everything. The hotel is situated a bit aside, in like training schools area, but the public transport system in HK is very well-developed, so you can get a bus and go anywhere.
I regret I haven't used the gym there, it is so polished and has very good machines together with beautiful shower rooms.
As for included breakfast, it was okay. Pretty good choice of everything, western and chinese options. But coffee is very average, that was the only thing I found was a drawback.
Also I am not sure why not many people mention how incredibly convenient is to get from the airport to the hotel - by bus. You are literally hop in the bus at the terminal and get out 1 hour later right next to the hotel. Thanks to the notes on reservation form provided from the hotel during booking we got our tickets for A10 bus in the airport and got there safely and hassle-free. So if it is your short stay in HK, no need to buy an octopus card.
Little tip: it is better to buy return ticket from the airport, because it is cheaper and on the way back you will find out that the bus driver do not sell tickets - u can either pay by electronic card or pay cash, but no change.
Also the trainees in the hotel are no allowed to accept tips;)

Room Tip: ask for a sea-view room during the booking, you might be lucky to get one.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank baycoralore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2012. First tip when arriving, get the airport express train to Hong Kong Station, then a taxi. We bought tourist Octopus cards that included 2 single airport transfers plus all trains for any 3 consecutive days and you can add money to use on buses, ferries and lots of other stuff (dead simple, we are both over 60 and we managed it!!). Any money you add is refunded if not used. Tip2 print off the hotel info sheet, keep it with you as its invaluable to know which buses drop at the hotel.

We arrived early and we got into the room no problem. We had an ocean view room, really nice, spotless, just as the pictures indicate. Mini bar is very cheap. We don't usually use it but we did here. The room was very quiet.

Staff very helpful, obviously a little nervous and sometimes slower when carrying out tasks, but that doesn't detract from the experience.

Tip 3 - book early for Friday dinner special, we didn't and it was fully booked. Breakfast was OK. Because they are dealing with relatively small numbers the buffet is not particularly well stocked and could be hotter but it is more than adequate.

We tried to tip the person who brought our cases, but we're politely told that as it was a training hotel, they could not accept tips.

The location might be an issue for some, but be advised the transport system is very efficient. We used mainly buses from the hotel to the centre (15 mins) and dont think we ever waited more than 3 or 4 minutes because there's a lot of options. When coming back on the bus, just remember to watch for a couple of blue Chinese Institute signs followed by a blue road sign with an exit signed to Pok Fu Lam and hit the bell. Central bus terminus is a good place to get the bus back because one stop is used for all the buses that pass the hotel (not M74).

When leaving, book the complimentary hotel shuttle to HK station and check in there, including dropping cases. You can then carry on looking round HK if your flight isn't till later in the day.

This was our first trip to HK, but if we ever return, we would definitely consider staying here. It was a real find.

Tourist tips, big bus gives a good insight into the place. We found the weather clearer in the afternoon, so bear this in mind when doing the peak, which is a must. Sha Tin races was excellent, even on Derby day it was comfortable, but take your passport to get a tourist members badge (£15) , then you can sit (Yes sit!) in line with the finish line if you want to! Everyone likes different things, so your guide book will point you in the right direction. Talking of which we used the Time Out Guide book and found it very good.

Whenever you go, have a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Paul593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews