We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For people on a tight budget”
Review of Goodrich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Goodrich Hotel
Ranked #272 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For people on a tight budget”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Good Stuff:
1. Very near MTR, Bus Stop for Airport (A21/A22 bus), Temple Street, food, massage parlors, supermarket
2. English Speaking Staff
3. Free wifi in lobby and room
4. With basic necessities (ref, tv, toiletries, phone, blow dryer)
5. 30 mins from the airport by bus

Bad Stuff:
1. Very thin walls. I can hear the plumbing when the guest staying in the other room are showering.
2. Sometimes there is no staff on the reception.
3. Very very tiny room. No cabinet/closet.
4. Very small shower space.
5. Not for 6 footers and above
6. Very few TV channels (6 only)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0rap08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    41
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
5
10
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Firstly I just want to point out that my rating has no baring on the size of the room, I was well aware having read previous reviews that I was going to end up with a tiny box for a room, I was prepared for this, and a box it was.
So negatives:
What I wasn't happy with was that the bed was clearly made for an umpa lumpa not a human being. There was enough room to put a proper length single bed into the room yet the bed was probably only suitable for people up to 5'5-5'6 max. At 5'11 my feet were hanging out the end. The shower cubicle had one of the 2 sliding doors missing so the bathroom got soaked with every shower. The pop up waste in the sink got stuck everytime it was pushed in, so after every shave i had to leave this for the cleaners/maintenance to sort, only to repeat the process the following morning. The towels are tiny and too small, there's no safe in the room, and the only safe available behind reception is also tiny and not big enough for anything bigger than a small camera. The aircon although functional seemed to slow down well before the set temperature, and the room never seemed to get cool enough, I was regularly waking up in the night boiling hot, regardless of what i set on the air con. The reception are pretty uninterested in most things. I wouldnt say they were rude, they were pleasant enough, just nothing seems to ever get done.
positives:
the room was clean and tidy, and the hotel well located. There's a macDs just around the corner on Jordan Road. Handy for breakfast as the hotel has no restaurant and im not fan of eating rice for breakfast. Underground is a great and cheap way to get around HK so the station was dead handy. Pick up an octopus card and airport express ticket at the airport, get express to HK/Central and then train to Jordan from central, 2mins and your at hotel. Temple night market is literally the next street too so handy to get in some last minute shopping before you leave.
If you just need somewhere to lay your head for a couple of nights, this place is bearable, but tbh I think if I had the time again i would of been better off in a hostel. Most of the benefits of a hotel over a hostel are pretty much lost in this place.

Room Tip: My single room had no window, some do some dont, so it might be worth asking if it bothers you. Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m1ckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Hotel is bang in the heart of Temple street, Hong Kong's most happening night market. I was travelling alone, so I would recommend this place for people who just want to rest their heads for the night. Fairly clean room, but very cramped up. I guess you cannot complain very much for the price too. The area is full of massage parlors, shopping and fairly in the heart of the city. Would not recommend this hotel when travelling with family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonpinto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Though Goodrich Hotel advertises free Internet, it does not work. It doesn't work in the rooms, nor in the lobby. I even asked the front desk clerk if there was someone she could call to get it fixed, and she said 'no.' When I'm traveling, I must have Internet access in my room so that I can do work, and that's why I had purposely chosen this hotel, because they advertised that they had Internet service. Having now looked at some online reviews of the place, even a month ago someone complained that Internet was not working in the room. So at this point it's false advertising. Also, they allow smoking in the rooms, and the walls are so think that if someone in the room next to you starts smoking, your room will fill up with smoke as well. Not good at all! Carpet was also filthy. I don't recommend this hotel and would NOT like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This is the right kind of hotel for a certain kind of traveller. This hotel is meant for those who are looking for basic, clean, affordable, no frills accomodation in a convenient location.

Pros:
1. It`s clean. The rooms are tidy. The bathrooms have been recently re-done and are clean and modern.
2. It`s conveniently located. It`s a quick 3 minute walk from Jordan subway Station and one street away from the thriving Temple Street Night Market. Tons of restaurants and shops nearby. You can also catch a shuttle bus straight to the airport, just up the road.
3. It`s affordable. Hong Kong hotels can be pricey. Goodrich is relatively cheap, about $50-$60 Canadian a night---even cheaper in the off-season.
4 There`s air conditioning. There is a window mounted AC unit in each room. Very necessary in the impossibly humid summer months.
5. There`s a TV mounted on the wall with a couple of Hong Kong channels and a phone with free local calling.

Cons:
1. First and foremost, the rooms are TINY (really really tiny). If you have a large suitcase, it will take up all of your floorspace. Not for the claustrophobic!
2. The walls are thin.
3. No view. The rooms have windows, but they look into an alley.

Tips:
1. If you`re travelling in a pair, ask for the Twin Room instead of the Double Room. Both types of rooms are very small, but the Twin Room has slightly more floor space, which makes a world of difference when you`re looking for a place to put two suitcases. The disadvantage is that you and your spouse will sleep in separate twin beds, but at least you`ll each have a place to put your bags!
2. If you`re travelling with 3-4 people, ask for the Triple Room. I chose the Goodrich because my family stayed there exactly one year before my visit and had good things to say about it. They booked the Triple Room, which apparently is quite spacious and was excellent value.

In short, there`s nothing luxurious about this hotel. The Goodrich is right for you if you`re just looking for a clean, affordable, central place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamLimaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
Mingle in The Shai(Yau Ma Tei)
#351 of 718 in Hong Kong
49 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
West Hotel
West Hotel
#302 of 718 in Hong Kong
160 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Comfort Lodge Hong Kong
Comfort Lodge Hong Kong
#298 of 718 in Hong Kong
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#385 of 718 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#169 of 718 in Hong Kong
645 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#384 of 718 in Hong Kong
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodrich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodrich Hotel

Property: Goodrich Hotel
Address: No.92-94 Zuodun Wusong Street, Kowloon District, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goodrich Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goodrich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing