We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mingle Place By The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mingle Place By The Park
Ranked #423 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Waitakere, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great central budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed here in for two nights on a stopover trip - I booked the Lite room which was all I needed - clean en-suite, single bed, TV, air conditioning. The free wifi was fast and consistent - important for me because I had to do some work while I was there. There was a (tiny) balcony which I liked - some budget hotels I've stayed in haven't even had any outside windows.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Please note the lack of elevator, even reception is up a couple of flights of stairs.
The location is excellent. Wan Chai has lots of eating and shopping places and is only 2 subway stops from Central station, where there's an in-town airport check-in.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you can cary your bag up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    47
    34
    13
    19
See reviews for
4
26
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Mingle Place By the Park is a rarity in HK: cheap, clean, centrally-located and a decent place to stay. If you book on a last minute hotel website you can get rooms for about HK$400-500 (around US$50-60). The only other places in HK you can get prices anything like this are firetraps that you would not want to risk your life in. As well, the Mingle properties are all in old buildings that have been renovated with a certain amount of character and style, with pictures of old HK on the walls and tasteful tiles on the floors. They are also all completely high-tech with free wifi and a large movie library on demand. Now, you don't get all of this without some catches. The major one, of course, is room size. The rooms are tiny. I would advise against the "lite" rooms as they are really, really tiny. But the single rooms and above are livable (but if you are very tall then this probably is not the place for you). Basically, if all you want is a clean bed to sleep in, a good shower and free wifi in an excellent location, consider the Mingle. Also, you will have to carry your bags up several flights of stairs as they have no elevator. Again, this is a place for the solo traveler not planning on spending a lot of time in the room and without a lot of luggage. Mingle by the Place is in Wanchai, not far from the Wanchai computer center and convenient to MTR.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Funky makeover of a heritage building into boutique hotel. Extremely small rooms and no elevator, absolutely not for those with heavy luggage. Got great deal from asiawebdirect.com, hk$500 for double room. Tight space but very comfy bed. You may have to put up with noises from the busy streets; this is wan chai after all.

Not your typical hotel, but rather fun to be in an old tenement house - for a great value too!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good location, very close to MTR, good service, nice room with balcony.
Room is small, but let's face it, it's Hong Kong. I've been in rooms much smaller there.
The only drawbacks are that is has no elevator, my room was in the last floor and going up with luggage was a considerable effort, and that rooms face to the street so there is considerable noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

after arriving from a 13hr flight and then 40min taxi ride my colleague & I were looking forward to a good nights sleep & a hot bath.

We arrived at the hotel and were stunned into slience, having stayed at many hotels over the years I have to say words failed me. The rooms were tiny, cramped & the noise of the cockroaches were audible. It was noisey both outside & inside the hotel, heaps of rubbish piled up outside the guestrooms, the internet connection straight outstide the door were other hotel guests were on U Tube for most of the night.

No facilities, no service just a tiny horrid room so unsuitable for any business traveller needing down time. We booked in Wed 11pm & by Thur 7.30am we'd booked out 7 hours was more than enough....thankfully the lovely little Charter House Hotel a few blocks up the street had 2 rooms & a full suite of facilites for only $200HK extra...no roaches, no noise and excellent service. I WILL never Mingle anywhere again

Room Tip: Dont book unless your a back packer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanghaiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place With The Star
Mingle Place With The Star
#292 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#448 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#146 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#208 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#298 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Walden Hotel
Walden Hotel
#373 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place By The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place By The Park

Property: Mingle Place By The Park
Address: No.143 Wanchai Road,Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingle Place By The Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old Colonial Hong Kong at this Unique Culture Hotel! This hotel is based on a vintage 1960's old Chinese residential building with splashes of colonial architectural style (e.g. small balconies facing the main street), carefully restored for a truely unique, authentic experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mingle Place By The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place By The Park Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing