We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
Review of Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #283 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 24 October 2011

good enough place given what we paid for; close to coffee shops, shops (sogo & times square), MTR, taxi stand & a 24 hr grocery; a bit tricky to find - lobby located in the 3rd floor of a building with no sign; was asked to go to another building (same owner) since they were fully booked

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marica36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 164 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

HK is very crowded, tiny and bloody pricey apartments mashed alongside shops/departmental stores, some of the worst service in Asia, non-english speaking public, workings that defy common logic... if you understand what the country is like, you'll get why some reviews are as they are

If you're looking to stay on HK Island/not too far from shopping or partying - location is brilliant! it is literally 6min from the metro station (Causeway Bay exit E) and smack right in the middle of a smart shopping district, not a sketch lil alley way... It's a HKD40 cab ride from the party area of Lan Kwai Fong (which is wicked). Good food options nearby as well. Shopping in Jardine Crescent is rubbish despite what guide books seem to say.

Service wise, I think they definitely have taken reviews seriously and worked on it. The guy at the reception was great, gave us advice on food/shopping/partying/police stations/airport info, etc and was chatty and friendly every single time I met him. Considering English is probably his 3rd language, be a little patient!! Some of the other staff speak only cantonese, so can't fault them for not trying to make conversation with me.

Had a 4 bed female dorm, #217, and also saw #313, 3 bed female dorm. Both rooms were clean, clean en suites, hot water, great air con, linen, pillow, quilt, cups, TV, soap and shampoo dispensers. Some rooms have lockers and some don't. Very sufficient for a hostel in a country like HK (or Singapore). Mate was saying the bed was quite hard, didn't really affect me though

3 computer terminals, all working.

You get what you pay for and in HK, for 20 bucks, this is great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WeeTanWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

First the good things: good location and its price. Can't beat it in HK considering its central location. The availability of the kitchen is also a plus since you may want to cook that pack of instant noodles dead in the night. Then again, food is plenty around the clock in HK so not a biggie.

Bad things: Customer service was poor and this frustrates me most of the time as a hostel is meant to be a friendly communal place and the last place you want to experience bad service. And there's only 1 computer that worked??

The dorms had some smell but fortunately the air-con works. The working of other things like the door lock, tv is dependent on your luck at times.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alvinchia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Good things: Free internet, wifi worked in lobby most of the time, not in our room, two computer terminals, one of which worked. They had a wok and rice cooker so you could cook your own food, and they had a fridge. Location was absolutely amazing, central HK Island and on the same block as an amazing grocery store.

Bad things: When you first walk in, there's a sign on the door of the building telling you that the hostel is operating illegally in the building, and the security guards at the front are jerks. THEN, when you get to the actual hostel on the third floor, about half of the guests get told their room was double booked and sent to a different building. Our room was filthy, there was still snot left in the sink from previous guests, bathroom was really moldy and had a semi-transparent door, so no privacy (we were in a 3 person dorm, though it's not what we booked, and three person dorm is a double bed and a single, so don't book it with someone you don't want to share a bed with!) We asked the manager how much laundry would be and he told us minimum 5 kilos for 100HKD, and then told our roommate a completely different number (can't remember off the top of my head)

All in all, it was cheap (for HK) but pretty lousy, and the manager was kind of sketchy, and he's clearly in to some pretty bad business practices. Wouldn't recommend it for most.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank IanIanIanIanIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Got to hostel to be told in a round about way they had double booked our room even though we paid a deposit, emailed 2 weeks before we went too. We were taken across the road to a dingy hostel for the first night in a 3 bed room (we needed 4) there was a mattress on the floor for the 4th bed. We were told come back across in the morning at 11am. We did this and after being messed around for over 2 hours (we had planned a day trip too) we eventually got the room after losing our patience.
The room was a good size, website said you got towels everyday but we just got one on the floor for when we got out of shower. It was not cleaned at all, just bin emptied, we stayed 5 nights. Had free wifi in the room.
The location was excellent, the staff did not appear very friendly although the owner did try and make it up to us by given my children cold drinks and letting us use his printer for free. I think they were quite busy and possibly this is why the mistake was made but i think if they had told us the truth and apologised instead of not letting us know what was going on with the room it would have helped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becgrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#209 of 730 in Hong Kong
120 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#394 of 730 in Hong Kong
65 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#358 of 730 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#426 of 730 in Hong Kong
55 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#435 of 730 in Hong Kong
126 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#411 of 730 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hostel

Address: 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay | Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: €23 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hong Kong Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing