We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive dining hall, but busy and packed”

The London Restaurant
Ranked #471 of 11,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mong Kok
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Of the four Hong Kong dim sum restaurants we tried, London Restaurant definitely caters to the masses. Walking into the huge banquet hall, we were seated at a table next to another patron, but the table was "divided" by a rolled up table cloth to partition out our area.

Push carts with dim sum roam about the hall with their attendants calling out to patrons what they have to offer... but unless you understand Chinese, good luck in making out what anything is! However, that is all part of the experience. For the non-locals, you can simply go up to the cart and ask to peek under the lids. Take whatever you would like to try and they will stamp your menu card to note your selection.

The restaurant staff seemed a bit gruff, but were actually quite helpful and would flick us a smile every once in a while when they could see we were enjoying our meal. Definitely a not-to-be-missed Hong Kong dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this place the other day. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Hong Kong! Smiling servers showed us to our seat and taught us how to order. They were worried we ordered too much and came to check that we knew the dumplings came in baskets of 4. There was so much food and tea. The shrimp dumplings were amazing. We rolled out incredibly full and content - and spent less than $80 AUD. So good! Don’t be put off by the decor. There are a couple of dishes missing in the photo but as you can see there was lots of great food.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

The service is sh¡t. Don't look at costumer when we want order, instead the play whit there phone. And when they come after we tried have some contact whit them they belive we have already order. Service looks angry, have bad service attitude.
We didn't eat there we just left.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JoseffL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This restaurant is located on the 3rd floor of a building along Nathan Road. There are plenty of choices of dim sum available and you just have to pick them up from the ladies in the pushcarts who go around the tables. There is also a station for the fried dim sum where you can pick and choose from a wide variety. Just remember to bring along the table card because the waitresses have to stamp on the quantity and type of dim sum taken in the card. All dim sum tasted very good. Their roasted duck is also pretty good but pricey. This restaurant seems to be always full for breakfast and lunch.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Brilliant food, great service and most of the staff speak English as well. The prawn dumplings and custard buns are amazing as is the Beef Ho Fun

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shah_zada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The London Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The London Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing