We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
2
11
11
13
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
11
11
13
22
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I agree with ces168, the positives are the location and its price. Unbeatable in a place like hong kong. But i must also admit that It was a little daunting as we tried to find our way to checkin, with the line up for the lifts and the eclectic mix of different cultures on the ground floor starring at you as you dragged all your belongs through their shops to another lift. Despite the room being no bigger than a king size bed it was clean, airconned, had a TV (no english channels) and most importantly for travelers free fast wifi! yes the shower is a hose over the toilet but it is a hot shower.

In short, i wouldn't recommend this place to female only travelers, but is perfect for couples looking to rest their head for the night in a clean and reasonably priced shoebox!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mimaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2012

There are positive things about this hostel, great location and cheap. It is located at the heart of Nathan Road where all the shopping malls, restaurants, fastfood chains and tourist attractions are located. It is also very accessible to subway and train. Downside about this hostel is the rooms. We stayed in a twin accomodation and my goodness, there is a very little space to move. There is no bathroom door but only a shower curtain. No chair, there is just no space. But they do have hot water. But if you are not really particular about the place you want to stay in, I highly recommend this place. If I go back in HK, will I stay in this hostel? hmmm, if i have money, i will not. but considering the prices of hotels in Nathan Road, I will probably consider this hostel again.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ces168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The whole building is cockroach infested, it feels very un-safe. A guy in the lift was making sexual gestures towards me and I greatly feared for my safety and there's very few people around at night which contributes to the danger. The rooms are so small we couldn't fit our bags in around the bed so we had to pout them behind the door which made getting in and out of the room difficult. the bathroom was so small I had to sit on the toilet to wash myself with the shower head, I'm not exaggerating this is how small it is. The only good thing to say is it's right in the city centre

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location of Chung King Mansions tempt many budget concious travellers into it's depths. I personally was there for one night (arranging a Chinese visa) and think you get what you pay for. It is very cheap (by Hong Kong standards) and provides you with a basic to dump your kit. My main advice is to NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE through agoda or booking as you will pay more and they will try and give you the worst room as they already have your money, if you walk in off the street you can haggle them down on price and make sure the room is clean before you hand over any of your hard earned travel budget!! There are loads of Indians and Africans hanging around trying to sell you rooms, watches, suits etc.... but as a single male traveller I never had a problem with them, although I did have to be quite forceful on occaision to get them to leave me alone. I wouldn't reccomend families or single female travellers here if they were planning to be returning late at night as they could feel intimidated howevere the rooms themselves were secure so if like me you plan to just hold up for the night I can't imagine you having a problem.

Room tip: The Chung King mansion building is split in blocks, don't go for any hostels in block A as it is right on the road and noisey! I recommend block C or D if you need a good nights sleep.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion Block C where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

what you see on the internet is NOT what you get.

I booked the best room on the internet, paid in Euro and got the worst room in all my travel history. I rather go camping in some jungle than stay here!

Let me summaries my very bad experience and advice to you- in just two words- DONT GO!!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

What you have booked,what the same we will offer to you.Your booking is Budget Room,we have so many options for you to choose,budget,standard,deluxe,all with different room size and facilities and different price.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews