We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
4
15
11
6
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
15
11
6
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016

'It'll be an experience" our friend said. That much cannot be denied. If your idea of an experience is fake watches, drugs and prostitution, of which we were offered all inside the 'mansions' building. As for the guest house itself, we went to the 5th floor as instructed for check but no-one on that floor knew of any place by that name, they were more interested in offering us room at their 'guest houses' along with the other 'extras' described above. We left as soon as we could get out of the place and went to the safety and security of the Holiday Inn, do yourself a favour and do the same.

Stayed: April 2016
4  Thank Teaseruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The location is just perfect-walking distance to everything.The house reception is on the 5th floor so go directly to section C floor 5th.Mr Rich is more than helpful host.He assisted to us in every way to feel comfortable and secure.The room is very clean, equipped with all needed facilities incl.fridge.The space is small-but this is Hong Kong space is limited everywhere.This guest house is the best in Chunking mansion-clean and reliable service.

The building is a bit creepy from first glance so be prepared in advance.But it is in top location and we had no problems with security.There are lots of salesmen in front and at the lobby but when you say no to them they stop further insisting.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viol3ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. The best part is there is no curfew. You can come late without bothering anyone to open the gate for you. Moreover, the place is fully secured. You have your own access key for the apartment and it is under CCTV surveillance. The place is tiny but neat. Fresh towels are given daily and linen is changed as per request. Housekeeping services are good. The location is prime and close to Star Ferry, TST promenade, Harbour, MTR and shopping malls. You cannot expect more if you are a budget traveler. Room is tiny but this problem is everywhere in Hong Kong (not comparing with hotels with skyhigh prices).
The only thing I did not like is the slow filling of toilet cistern. It takes a lot of time for it to fill fully. If you flush once you need to wait for atleast one and half hour to flush again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank amitvikramraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

If I would travel to Hong Kong on a budget again, I would definitely chose Las Vegas Guest House.

Note that hotels in Hong Kong are ridiculously expensive. If you are travelling on a small budget, you need to accommodate yourself in one of the guest houses. I have seen four rooms in 3 different guest houses within one month and they are all similar what comes to location and (mini-)size of the room. If you want a decent hotel room you need to pay several times the money than for the guest house. So when rating a Hong Kong guest house, you need to keep that in mind. It is not fair to compare it to a 300 USD /per night hotel.
I rated the Las Vegas Guest house as very good, as it stands out from the other guest houses for the following reasons:
1. The room was clean. Even the corners of the shelves were wiped. The other guest houses were all more or less dirty and you were never sure if the sheets are fresh or not. No such doubt at Las Vegas Guest House.
2. There was always someone at the reception during day and evening times, when the door was open to the elevator area, The receptionist was friendly and kept an eye on our luggage when we stored it there on the day we left. The place felt safe.
3. Wifi worked fine.
4. Everything in the room was intact. In other guest houses, bulbs have been broken, the paint was coming off the furniture or electricity cables were hanging out of the wall. At Las Vegas Guest House all appliances were in order.
5. The bath room was small, but large enough to sit on the toilet and still close the door. The shower was working fine and there was enough hot water with a good water pressure
6. The guest house was not noisy, other than what I have experienced from other guest houses.
7. Our room had a proper window with a view to the court yard. This is a plus, because the other guest houses I have seen didn't have a window at all, a window towards an air shaft or a windows towards Nathan road, which was partly broken and fixed with a plastic bag to cover the hole.
8. No wild life in the room.

Only the bed was really narrow for two persons. If you are not a couple, make sure to get a twin. Our bed was under the window, so the curtains were hanging above the person who slept on the window side. That could not be avoided as the bed was too narrow to make space.

Room Tip: Get a twin.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaroterPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Stayed at 13F, Block C for 3 nights.

Overall rating for this guest house is great!

Location: Located in Tsim Sha Tsui. The location is perfect. It is almost near to everything (MTR, Shoppng Malls, Restaurants, parks, etc.) MTR is just a 2-minute walk from the guest house. You can walk to different parks located on that area. Location is perfect.

Room: The room is clean and have a good scent. Well-ventilated. Air conditioner works well. The room has flat tv, wall fan (maybe can be utilized when you don't need AC), bedside table, nice lighting, has hair dryer, mini fridge, pair of slippers, and clothes hanger. Bathroom is small but it has everything -- free body soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, sanitary tissue, and hot/cold shower. The bathroom which I consider the most in choosing a guest house or a hotel -- I want a clean and with proper sanitation, and YES their bathroom is sooo clean. The only thing is that the hot/cold shower from our room is that, the hot water suddenly gets cold (to think that the weather during our vacation was very cold like 12deg C). You have to turn the faucet off for it to gets hot/warm for you to be able to utilize the hot water again. Free Wi-Fi and connection is great whoa! Overall with the ROOM, it's great. Stayed with comfort though the room size is small. Good for backpackers.

Building: Building or the place is okay. Ground floor has everything you need (Money Exchange, restaus, internet cafe, and other shops). The elevator from our block (block C) -- 2 elevators, and each elevator has a capacity of 6-8 persons only, so you have to wait for the availability. It doesn't take that long anyways, so it's fine. Don't be surprised, if you see doors behind bars, there are also local residents staying on that building.

Service: The service is good. Mr. Rich is nice and friendly. Can speak English fluently -- so you won't have a hard time talking to them. They provide free drinking water (water dispenser), and free tea. They always change your bath towels, provide sanitary tissue, and you may request to change your linens. They also clean and arrange the room everyday.

Value for Money: Affordable. Suits your budget. Worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyKlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews