We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOULD NOT BE AUTHORIZED FOR ACCOMMODATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels
Reviewed 8 August 2016

All I need to say is... 5 blocks of buildings, around 5,000 people living permanently, and an estimated of 10,000 people transiting in the building every single day. If it takes around 30 minutes to queue in the elevator, WHAT WOULD IT BE LIKE TO EVACUATE THIS BUILDING IN CASE OF AN EMERGENCY? I preferred to lose my entire money and cancel this reservation with no refund because it was really a matter of safety. And, not to mention that I am not exactly sure if the level of security measures are enough for such amount of strangers transiting the building for other reasons than touristing. Please, GOOGLE CHUNKING MANSION and READ READ READ. This is not a place to stay. In my country and in many countries, this place would be closed down for sure. Be safe. Travel wise!

Room Tip: Do never ever EVER stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaruWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2016

'It'll be an experience" our friend said. That much cannot be denied. If your idea of an experience is fake watches, drugs and prostitution, of which we were offered all inside the 'mansions' building. As for the guest house itself, we went to the 5th floor as instructed for check but no-one on that floor knew of any place by that name, they were more interested in offering us room at their 'guest houses' along with the other 'extras' described above. We left as soon as we could get out of the place and went to the safety and security of the Holiday Inn, do yourself a favour and do the same.

Stayed: April 2016
4  Thank Teaseruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The location is just perfect-walking distance to everything.The house reception is on the 5th floor so go directly to section C floor 5th.Mr Rich is more than helpful host.He assisted to us in every way to feel comfortable and secure.The room is very clean, equipped with all needed facilities incl.fridge.The space is small-but this is Hong Kong space is limited everywhere.This guest house is the best in Chunking mansion-clean and reliable service.

The building is a bit creepy from first glance so be prepared in advance.But it is in top location and we had no problems with security.There are lots of salesmen in front and at the lobby but when you say no to them they stop further insisting.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viol3ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. The best part is there is no curfew. You can come late without bothering anyone to open the gate for you. Moreover, the place is fully secured. You have your own access key for the apartment and it is under CCTV surveillance. The place is tiny but neat. Fresh towels are given daily and linen is changed as per request. Housekeeping services are good. The location is prime and close to Star Ferry, TST promenade, Harbour, MTR and shopping malls. You cannot expect more if you are a budget traveler. Room is tiny but this problem is everywhere in Hong Kong (not comparing with hotels with skyhigh prices).
The only thing I did not like is the slow filling of toilet cistern. It takes a lot of time for it to fill fully. If you flush once you need to wait for atleast one and half hour to flush again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank amitvikramraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

If I would travel to Hong Kong on a budget again, I would definitely chose Las Vegas Guest House.

Note that hotels in Hong Kong are ridiculously expensive. If you are travelling on a small budget, you need to accommodate yourself in one of the guest houses. I have seen four rooms in 3 different guest houses within one month and they are all similar what comes to location and (mini-)size of the room. If you want a decent hotel room you need to pay several times the money than for the guest house. So when rating a Hong Kong guest house, you need to keep that in mind. It is not fair to compare it to a 300 USD /per night hotel.
I rated the Las Vegas Guest house as very good, as it stands out from the other guest houses for the following reasons:
1. The room was clean. Even the corners of the shelves were wiped. The other guest houses were all more or less dirty and you were never sure if the sheets are fresh or not. No such doubt at Las Vegas Guest House.
2. There was always someone at the reception during day and evening times, when the door was open to the elevator area, The receptionist was friendly and kept an eye on our luggage when we stored it there on the day we left. The place felt safe.
3. Wifi worked fine.
4. Everything in the room was intact. In other guest houses, bulbs have been broken, the paint was coming off the furniture or electricity cables were hanging out of the wall. At Las Vegas Guest House all appliances were in order.
5. The bath room was small, but large enough to sit on the toilet and still close the door. The shower was working fine and there was enough hot water with a good water pressure
6. The guest house was not noisy, other than what I have experienced from other guest houses.
7. Our room had a proper window with a view to the court yard. This is a plus, because the other guest houses I have seen didn't have a window at all, a window towards an air shaft or a windows towards Nathan road, which was partly broken and fixed with a plastic bag to cover the hole.
8. No wild life in the room.

Only the bed was really narrow for two persons. If you are not a couple, make sure to get a twin. Our bed was under the window, so the curtains were hanging above the person who slept on the window side. That could not be avoided as the bed was too narrow to make space.

Room Tip: Get a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaroterPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Reliance Inn
New Reliance Inn
#61 of 162 in Hong Kong
10 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#40 of 162 in Hong Kong
136 reviews
Campus Hong Kong
#16 of 269 in Hong Kong
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#11 of 162 in Hong Kong
178 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#4 of 162 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 162 in Hong Kong
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels

Address: Block C, Floor 15, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Las Vegas Hostel)
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €24 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing