We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the cheap guest houses I have seen in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels
Ranked #103 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 18 March 2016

If I would travel to Hong Kong on a budget again, I would definitely chose Las Vegas Guest House.

Note that hotels in Hong Kong are ridiculously expensive. If you are travelling on a small budget, you need to accommodate yourself in one of the guest houses. I have seen four rooms in 3 different guest houses within one month and they are all similar what comes to location and (mini-)size of the room. If you want a decent hotel room you need to pay several times the money than for the guest house. So when rating a Hong Kong guest house, you need to keep that in mind. It is not fair to compare it to a 300 USD /per night hotel.
I rated the Las Vegas Guest house as very good, as it stands out from the other guest houses for the following reasons:
1. The room was clean. Even the corners of the shelves were wiped. The other guest houses were all more or less dirty and you were never sure if the sheets are fresh or not. No such doubt at Las Vegas Guest House.
2. There was always someone at the reception during day and evening times, when the door was open to the elevator area, The receptionist was friendly and kept an eye on our luggage when we stored it there on the day we left. The place felt safe.
3. Wifi worked fine.
4. Everything in the room was intact. In other guest houses, bulbs have been broken, the paint was coming off the furniture or electricity cables were hanging out of the wall. At Las Vegas Guest House all appliances were in order.
5. The bath room was small, but large enough to sit on the toilet and still close the door. The shower was working fine and there was enough hot water with a good water pressure
6. The guest house was not noisy, other than what I have experienced from other guest houses.
7. Our room had a proper window with a view to the court yard. This is a plus, because the other guest houses I have seen didn't have a window at all, a window towards an air shaft or a windows towards Nathan road, which was partly broken and fixed with a plastic bag to cover the hole.
8. No wild life in the room.

Only the bed was really narrow for two persons. If you are not a couple, make sure to get a twin. Our bed was under the window, so the curtains were hanging above the person who slept on the window side. That could not be avoided as the bed was too narrow to make space.

Room Tip: Get a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaroterPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2016

Stayed at 13F, Block C for 3 nights.

Overall rating for this guest house is great!

Location: Located in Tsim Sha Tsui. The location is perfect. It is almost near to everything (MTR, Shoppng Malls, Restaurants, parks, etc.) MTR is just a 2-minute walk from the guest house. You can walk to different parks located on that area. Location is perfect.

Room: The room is clean and have a good scent. Well-ventilated. Air conditioner works well. The room has flat tv, wall fan (maybe can be utilized when you don't need AC), bedside table, nice lighting, has hair dryer, mini fridge, pair of slippers, and clothes hanger. Bathroom is small but it has everything -- free body soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, sanitary tissue, and hot/cold shower. The bathroom which I consider the most in choosing a guest house or a hotel -- I want a clean and with proper sanitation, and YES their bathroom is sooo clean. The only thing is that the hot/cold shower from our room is that, the hot water suddenly gets cold (to think that the weather during our vacation was very cold like 12deg C). You have to turn the faucet off for it to gets hot/warm for you to be able to utilize the hot water again. Free Wi-Fi and connection is great whoa! Overall with the ROOM, it's great. Stayed with comfort though the room size is small. Good for backpackers.

Building: Building or the place is okay. Ground floor has everything you need (Money Exchange, restaus, internet cafe, and other shops). The elevator from our block (block C) -- 2 elevators, and each elevator has a capacity of 6-8 persons only, so you have to wait for the availability. It doesn't take that long anyways, so it's fine. Don't be surprised, if you see doors behind bars, there are also local residents staying on that building.

Service: The service is good. Mr. Rich is nice and friendly. Can speak English fluently -- so you won't have a hard time talking to them. They provide free drinking water (water dispenser), and free tea. They always change your bath towels, provide sanitary tissue, and you may request to change your linens. They also clean and arrange the room everyday.

Value for Money: Affordable. Suits your budget. Worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AyKlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

A little room for moving yourself, but it is worth it,good wifi services and very air condicioned air; it is near the ferry to cross to hong kong,and very well comunicated. If you don't care tje lack of intimacy it is worth it,and the prices are not so high

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank leenaM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

So I booked a double room on booking.com for two nights the description was as follows:
This air-conditioned room is fitted with a work desk, a mini fridge and a LCD TV. A hairdryer, shower facilities and free toiletries are offered in the private bathroom. Guests can enjoy distiller drinking water in the communal lounge.
What we actually got was a room which we could touch both walls by spreading our arms across it, a bedside locker about 6inches wide on one side of the bed as the other was against the wall, TV on the wall at foot of unusually small "double" bed, bathroom which was maybe the width of the toilet bowl?! Shower head lay on ground beside toilet so u held it above toilet to shower? Soap dispenser on wall completely empty. No mini fridge, not that there would have been anywhere to put it, we even had to put our bags under the bed as otherwise we couldn't get to the bed! Which under the bed we found a lovely pair of flip flops some poor soul must have forgotten them, reassuring at how well they clean the rooms! Wi-fi forget it! There must be 100s of people using it as you can't get anything on it its so overloaded! As for the location , if you feel safe entering a cheap shopping mall with people shouting in your face trying to sell you stuff and trying to take your bags off you to get you to go with them then this is the place for you! You wait approx 15-30mins to get to the top of the queue for the lift! After getting to floor 5 to check in there's no reception desk and no one about! We then went to floor 15, and were sent back to 5 where we paid cash and then were brought to our nightmare of a room. When we left the last morning we couldn't get a lift down from the 16th floor as the cleaners had the lifts jammed full if rubbish! After checking out I got wifi in the next hotel and discovered he told booking.com my card declined which it never did, so they cancelled the Reservation and so I'm assuming he had to pay them no fees when we arrived oblivious to this, checked in and paid him cash! It's a compete scam, dodgy area, dodgy people! Never would I even recommend this place to my worst enemy!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mournemaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Please be advised to avoid ALL prison houses at the Chung King Mansion.
Described as "guest houses" they are entered via bars at the doors on various levels in this building accessed only in lifts from a mall where the queues and waiting times are 20 to 30 minutes.
Miserable aggressive attendants look after these prison houses which would be death traps in any fire or emergency.
The rooms are smaller than prison cells with less amenities.
Their acceptance on ANY hotel website should be considered criminally negligent.
I would ask all the websites to consider removing this building from their sites before something serious occurs.
BE ADVISED. DO NOT STAY IN THIS BUILDING FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILIES SAFETY

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Reliance Inn
New Reliance Inn
#63 of 163 in Hong Kong
10 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#26 of 163 in Hong Kong
137 reviews
Campus Hong Kong
#15 of 269 in Hong Kong
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#11 of 163 in Hong Kong
178 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 163 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 163 in Hong Kong
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels

Address: Block C, Floor 15, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Las Vegas Hostel)
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: €24 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Guest House-Las Vegas Group Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing