We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure hidden in a real Hutong”

4 Banqiao Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
4 Banqiao Guesthouse
Ranked #162 of 1,389 Beijing B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A treasure hidden in a real Hutong”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This perfectly located small courtyard guesthouse was a great find. The rooms are small and minimal but nicely decorated. Our bed was very comfortable; the bathroom was small but efficient. This wonderful little lodge is located within a couple of steps of the Beixinqiao subway and within a 45 minute walk of most of the major Beijing attractions.

There is a nice courtyard to sit in and you will enjoy the two little dogs playing around. We gave them both names "Pitter" and "Patter" and enjoyed their company while relaxing with a beer purchased from one of the stores nearby after a long day of visiting some of the attractions in the area. If you prefer to sit inside there is a wonderful "common room" to relax in. You'll find a book or two to enjoy that were left by other guests. Breakfast is pretty basic but made to order with a smile. We enjoyed it very much and did not find it necessary to go outside for breakfast as some of the other reviewers did.

The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. "Michelle", the assistant manager went out of her way to help us. We stayed here a couple of days before joining a 20 day tour of China. When it was time to move to our tour hotel which was a 45 minute cab ride away, "Michelle", the assistant manager, walked to the Dongsi Street with us to make sure we would find a taxi that would take us that far away.

On this 6 week trip to Thailand, China and Hong Kong we stayed in 15 different hotels. 4 Banqiao was definitely not the most luxurious or well appointed hotel but it is only one of two hotels we would definitely return to because of its location, value for money, great staff and service. So it is not a Five-Star hotel because of the luxury offered, it is a true five star hotel because of the staff, service and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DekkersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    33
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
phnom penh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Well situated with good transport options, nice hutong neighborhood with good restaurants nearby. Smallish room, but with a nice bed and well done bathroom. heater didn't work but they brought a portable one. pretty courtyard, and fun little patio on the roof. breakfast left something to be desired - but there's excellent pancakes at Grandma's Kitchen next door. at about 450RMB for a room, good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Very small hutong courtyard inn, just north of touristy and crowded popular areas of Beijing. The neighborhood is the real deal, which may not be everyone's cup of tea, but very peaceful and quiet. Rooms are tiny but comfy - bathrooms are quite minimal. A nice public room and courtyard tables for breakfast, or just sitting (the pet rabbit will appreciate your breakfast cucumber slices). The suite is much roomier - advisable if you're not alone. Kim and her helpers couldn't be nicer. If jumping on and off the metro is your plan, it's especially good, and Grandma's Kitchen is practically right next door, too. Not particularly inexpensive - but if a dose of real "old" Beijing is what you want, look no further.

Dale M., Fayetteville AR/US

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale_uark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tianjin
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I thoroughly researched our options for a cute upper scale (i.e. not a hostel or cheap hotel) unique and romantic place (yet not tourist 'one-time-only' prices) to stay in Beijing over Christmas. Having already stayed in a few fine hostels , each with private bathrooms, I expected much more from this "guesthouse" at over twice the price of our previous stays.

Although we made the most of it, the experience was quite disappointing - esp. after the pre-booking with the British-run b+b china operation went so smoothly via www. bb-china.com and they called back long distance to arrange payment and answer any inquiries. The bed and its bedding were by far the best and most comfortable part of the room - as most beds in Chinese hotels and homes are of the hard variety - this one was plush and the little touches with the linens and pillows were lovely. I am sure that in the summer this would also be a more attractive location to stay as they have a rooftop patio and sunlit common room. The former being unusable in the dead of winter, and the latter should have been unused as well as it was frigid.

By far the most unattractive part of our stay was that the rooms were not sufficiently heated - in fact upon arrival our room was freezing! Later with the heat blasting via aircon and a space heater (which they tried to take out of our room after the first night - trying to convince us that the water heaters, which never really got hot at all, would now be sufficient to heat the room) AND the addition of the water pipe heating - with stone floors and a door without a seal...there was always somewhat of a chill if you were not under the covers.;-)

The other major downer is that the place is billed as a bed and breakfast -- but I have not heard of a relaxing bed and breakfast that serves breakfast only between the hours of 7am - 9am!!! Even business hotel chains in the States hold longer breakfast hours. Especially it being a weekend and over Christmas - you would think, with few guests, breakfast would be a) served later in general and/or b) accommodated at guests requests.

Would not recommend staying in winter or if you thing you'll get bang-for-your-buck with the breakfast. Just a rug on the floor, seal on the door, sufficient heating and accommodating breakfast preferences would have made a world of difference! Thumbs down!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,516 in Beijing
571 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#30 of 6,516 in Beijing
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,419 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Banqiao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Banqiao Guesthouse

Property: 4 Banqiao Guesthouse
Address: No.4 Banqiao Alley, Beixinqiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,389 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Hotel Class:3 star — 4 Banqiao Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a traditional courtyard-style guest house, located in the city center and surrounded by local people's residences.The guest rooms are decorated with a Chinese traditional residence style,simple, comfortable and natural. The rooms feature private bathroom facilities and free internet access.The tranportation is very convenient. it takes one minutes to the subway station. You can also go to the Lama Temple and the Confucian Temple on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 4 Banqiao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Banqiao Guesthouse Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing