We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,979)
Filter reviews
1,979 results
Traveller rating
1,467
436
54
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
436
54
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding suite dongsi subway station traditional chinese style family room narrow alley chinese experience traditional hotel forbidden city taxi driver real china hutong area beijing experience dumplings small hotel loved this hotel spoke good english lama temple
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,979 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Very helpful staff and the courtyard seating areas outside the rooms allowed you to meet and chat with other guests in a friendly atmosphere plus there was an equal number of Chinese guest which is always a good sign. Very bright and cheerful, hard to believe you could come back in snow given the average temperature for our August stay was about 35 Celsius. Not a negative but maybe a point of amusement the room was decked out in traditional type Chinese looking silk bedding when we arrived that was fairly promptly removed after we were asked if we wanted a photo then told is was just for show. Free internet and computer in our room too was a bonus, plus the assistance with tours or subway directions and the in house meals when days had been too full to venture out. Breakfast was a smorgasbord of choice but maybe the cereal needed to be overlooked as there was no understanding it should really be kept airtight and the french croissant were a definite avoid but the Chinese choices were great including the fruit choice and fresh juice. Would be happy to stay here again and recommend it to others. So much better than a generic type hotel.

Room Tip: Check heating and/or cooling depending on season. Make use of the staff knowledge and subway guidance, enjoy breakfast but check times.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The staff at this hotel are so kind and helpful, very sweet people. Location is close to a train station and lots of lovely shops/pedestrian street. Beautiful ambiance and feel to the hotel and very different to the commercial chains we all usually stay in. Definitely recommend this lovely little hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

5 stars for atmosphere, charm, location, and friendly, helpful English speaking staff! We loved being able to sit in the courtyard and walk down the tiny street to local restaurants. Yes, our room was a bit small but we would go back in a minute.

I'm writing this from a Western-style hotel in Xi'an in a room that is bigger and brighter, but also boring and bland, with impersonal staff. I can have THAT experience anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spammie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Pretty and comfy courtyards, relaxing at end of day
Great breakfast selection of Western and Chinese options in a nice dining room
Lovely bar/restaurant area with soft couches
Very good English spoken at front desk with helpful workers
Soft beds, working a/c, hot water: not to be taken for granted in China
Plenty restaurants nearby
Subway not too far
Chinese, not institutional, furniture in rooms and corridors

Room Tip: The rooms don't seem to vary much, only if you care if you're on the first or second floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank launiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in July and booked a family room and a double room for our family of 5. The place is colourful, has lots of character and is stuffed to the gills with Chinese art objects. The staff spoke good English and was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice although the dining room was very small and often full.

Although both of our bedrooms were nicely decorated there was a large difference between the two. The family room was fairly spacious and had a canopy bed and a day bed but our (corner) double room was much more ordinary and really tiny. The only place to sit was on the bed. We travel very light but if we had taken 2 suitcases it would have been an extremely tight squeeze.

The nearest metro station is Dongsi, which is well placed for getting around and the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from here. Once you’re off the main road, it’s about a 10 minute walk down the alley. It was a constant hive of activity as they seem to be expanding the road surface there. This means there was a lot of congestion and cars are reluctant to drive down there. I’m glad we didn’t have to get a taxi anywhere.

This was a cute place and we enjoyed our stay. I’m giving it 4 stars because of its unique character although it comes at a price.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank howie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews