We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location, outstanding breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We booked our holiday through ebookers where we booked the hotel and flights together. I'm guessing that we didn't get one of the best rooms but all we needed was a bed and a shower and both were good.
The first night there, we went down to the bar and had a beer and a snack. We decided on spring rolls. They weren't very good. If 'Iceland' had a shop in Beijing then I would have guessed that they bought them there. The Chinese don't seem to do bars but if you are in the same first night predicament as us, then just go back down the hutong to the main street and turn right. Within 100 metres there is a great hot-pot restaurant and also a busy chinese reataurant. Don't be worried about speaking chinese because most of the restaurants have pictures of the dishes on the menu. Be guided by the pictures! (In another restaurant, we ordered Beef ribs even though the picture had strips of what looked like chicken on top. After chewing these strips for a minute with no impression we used Google Translate to find out that we had in fact ordered 'bovine tendons'). Get 'Translate' on your phone. It magically turns squiggles into English when you scan. If you simply want a drink, then turn left at the end of the hutong and there's a 7/11 type shop a couple of doors down. There's a nice courtyard back at the hotel.
The clientele at the hotel are not very Chinese during the week and this is reflected in the buffet breakfast which is superb.There is a cabinet full of steamed buns and dumplings as well as other chinese food; salted eggs, stir-fry, pastries. You could have an English fry-up, fresh fruit, yoghourt or sliced meat and cheese.()See the pictures).
The hotel has no arrangement with tour companies but they organised a car and driver to take us to the great wall at Simotai (and back) for 1300 yuan. We had to pick up our daughter the au pair, en route, so this was ideal. The same driver took us to the airport at the end of the holiday (£11 for the hour's drive)
The hotel is in the fourth hutong from Dongsi. In the sixth hutong is a restaurant called The Crescent Moon which is listed in both Lonely Planet and Rough Guides. It's good, not too expensive but the portions are huge. The soup could have fed four people and we ordered one each.
The hutong is a 10 minute walk from Dongsi subway which has lines which run to all four points of the compass. Yes, we enjoyed our stay and yes, we would go there again. Thanks to all the staff.
Almost forgot the complimentary gift of tea when we left.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Very helpful staff and the courtyard seating areas outside the rooms allowed you to meet and chat with other guests in a friendly atmosphere plus there was an equal number of Chinese guest which is always a good sign. Very bright and cheerful, hard to believe you could come back in snow given the average temperature for our August stay was about 35 Celsius. Not a negative but maybe a point of amusement the room was decked out in traditional type Chinese looking silk bedding when we arrived that was fairly promptly removed after we were asked if we wanted a photo then told is was just for show. Free internet and computer in our room too was a bonus, plus the assistance with tours or subway directions and the in house meals when days had been too full to venture out. Breakfast was a smorgasbord of choice but maybe the cereal needed to be overlooked as there was no understanding it should really be kept airtight and the french croissant were a definite avoid but the Chinese choices were great including the fruit choice and fresh juice. Would be happy to stay here again and recommend it to others. So much better than a generic type hotel.

Room Tip: Check heating and/or cooling depending on season. Make use of the staff knowledge and subway guidan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The staff at this hotel are so kind and helpful, very sweet people. Location is close to a train station and lots of lovely shops/pedestrian street. Beautiful ambiance and feel to the hotel and very different to the commercial chains we all usually stay in. Definitely recommend this lovely little hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

5 stars for atmosphere, charm, location, and friendly, helpful English speaking staff! We loved being able to sit in the courtyard and walk down the tiny street to local restaurants. Yes, our room was a bit small but we would go back in a minute.

I'm writing this from a Western-style hotel in Xi'an in a room that is bigger and brighter, but also boring and bland, with impersonal staff. I can have THAT experience anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spammie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Pretty and comfy courtyards, relaxing at end of day
Great breakfast selection of Western and Chinese options in a nice dining room
Lovely bar/restaurant area with soft couches
Very good English spoken at front desk with helpful workers
Soft beds, working a/c, hot water: not to be taken for granted in China
Plenty restaurants nearby
Subway not too far
Chinese, not institutional, furniture in rooms and corridors

Room Tip: The rooms don't seem to vary much, only if you care if you're on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank launiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,606 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,606 in Beijing
439 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#43 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: €92 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing