We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Old World Hutong Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in a wedding suite in this lovely hutong hotel in the centre of Beijing. We really enjoyed the architecture, location, friendly staff, decor and tranquility of this centrally located hotel. With the rates of other hotels in Beijing approaching New York prices, this hotel pricing was more in line with what you would expect from boutique hotels in comparable capital cities. Still, my suggestion would be that the hotel bathrooms need updating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qwertasdfgzxcvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,160 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We also rented the wedding suite to accommodate three of us. It was lovely and tastefully decorated--even had a rooftop deck with a table and umbrella where we sat in the evenings. The hotel is located in one of the local neighborhoods--the Hutong--and we loved walking down the clean alleyway where locals walked home in the evenings, a local man sold wonderful nuts, and kids and grandparents hung out until the sun went down, etc. It was so nice! The hotel staff was wonderful--even sent us home with some local tea. The breakfast was fantastic and there was a variety of foods for all eaters. The lounge at night was very quaint and quiet with more "local flavor", as well as beautiful small courtyards where you could sit and read or just relax. Fabulous place!

Room Tip: Just keep in mind that you are in a local neighborhood and the neighbors can be loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling3Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed in the wedding suite, not because I was a newly wed, (I was travelling solo for business) but because I wanted a bigger room and Agoda had a great special on. The room was not bigger but oh my golly goodness, it was delightful! I don't think I have ever been so moved walking into a room before. There was teak wood and silk upon silk and a delicate china tea set and lollies in a heart-shaped bowl and everything was red (customary colour for weddings). The room was warm and faced the courtyard, and the bed was so very comfortable, the kind where you just melt into it. The bar was a great place to relax, the breakfast was interesting to say the least but the food in the bar was a little on the average side. Staff were wonderful, every single one of them. Oh, and don't be put off by the fact it is down an alleyway. The alleyway is not scary at all and cars can fit down the street - if you are worried, just ask your taxi driver to drop you out front.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venner135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this gem of a hotel for six nights, and loved every minute of it. The location is great, in a nice neighbourhood Hutong minutes from Dongsi subway station. The staff were simply lovely, very professional, efficient, and above all very friendly. The room was a delight, very quiet, with ac/heating, solid fast wifi, TV, minibar, wonderful decor and artifacts, and nice en suite. The ambience of the hotel is also a delight. After ten days on the train from England, this was heaven. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a double room to myself, well worth the cost, on the ground floor in the first courtyard. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

March 26-30, 2012
My experience in Beijing was fantastic. The hotel is not your “western” style and it met all my requirements of being a typical Chinese culture hotel. I had no expectations and was happy with my accommodation which was clean and tidy. I had a single room which was not large but suited me just fine. I had the best sleeps in the quietest room I’ve had in a hotel for a long time. The staff were helpful, spoke English well, answered all my questions, fixed the computer in my room which was not working for me. Breakfast was very good and plentiful in a buffet style.
Due to being picked up every day for tours I did not venture far outside of the hotel but I did walk in the “alley/lane” and found the area interesting and nobody bothered me. There was construction going on but that added to the interest. The location did not seem far from interesting sites. Value for me was great, although it was included as part of the tour I had organized before leaving home, the only idea I have on the price was what is on the web site. On leaving I was presented with a tin of tea which was a complete and unexpected surprise. Would I stay there again? In a heartbeat. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,987 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#20 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,259 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,599 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,599 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#30 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: €78 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing