We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, star restaurant nearby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed for four nights during our first trip to China. We had wanted a Chinese experience and this was a great start. The hotel is in on the forth hutong (narrow road) up from Dongsi tube (not Densikow as stated in Rough Guide) making access easy to the cheap and convenient (but packed in rush-hour) tube system. When getting to the hotel by taxi we found that if we stayed in the taxi, rather than getting out at the entrance to the hutong, and insisted on being dropped at the hotel, the hutong was, in fact, perfectly passable . At night when walking it always seemed safe in the day and evening. All life is there on the hutong and, with a little imagination, you may get a glimpse of how life was lived before the city was modernised.

The hotel itself was once a wealthy merchant's house and has the traditional Chinese courtyard design. Our family room was large and airy with an adequate shower and other facilities. We found the bed perfectly comfortable and, with its carved screen surround was quite memorable. The staff were all terrific, speaking excellent English and arranging our trip to the wall and onward train tickets. It was always service with a smile.

The absolute highlight of staying on this hutong was the discovery of Taste restaurant near the Dongsi tube end of the Hutong. The restaurant opened in July and has had excellent reviews. It is very reasonably priced with mains costing from 30 Yuan up and local beer at 10 yuan a pint. In four days we ate there four times!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doctorichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,264 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Everything about our stay at this hotel was fantastic, from the friendly and helpful staff who greeted us to the restful courtyards to the dumplings for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseMasterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Only a short walk to Donsi subway station. Certainly an authentic hutong with all the smells and sights and then a wonderful oasis of old, historic china of this courtyard hotel. The rooms were authetically furnished and decorated - lovely small touches and to a very high standard. The courtyard and its history gave lovely ambience. The staff were extremely helpful and had an excellent grasp of English - very friendly. We stayed 5 nights - high recommended. Tripadvisor reviews led me to this hotel - a good recommendation.

Room Tip: Even though there was only 2 of us - we opted for the large family room - bed area, living area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KaetrinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Fabulous location, not your typical hotel, staff were genuinely helpful, thumbs up to Happy Susan & Echo, loved the Chinese decor and ambience. Dongsi, the nearest subway is a walk away, love the hutong where it is located, wish I stayed there longer.

I look forward to a return one day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ozzyhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My boyfriend and I were fortunate to choose Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel for 3 nights during our April 2011 trip to China. When our taxi pulled up to the hotel our guide was extremely excited, raving at length on the "luckiness" of our choice. Double Happiness is located smack dab in the center of what I would call "vintage Beijing" .. for atmosphere it is an absolute FIND. The place is incredible, it's rickety staircases and walkways, ornate SUPER vintage Chinese decor and traditional courtyard design mean that you will definitely know you have arrived and are "not in Kansas (or California for that matter), any more. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, they also had a small bar downstairs where we enjoyed some well needed beer after a day of sight seeing.
So here is what you need to know about this hotel, it isn't the Hilton, or the Four Seasons, or the Marriott, you don't have stacks of designer toiletries, or a gym, or climate control, or an football sized breakfast buffet. Nope, you get rice, and dumplings and cool Chinese food for breakfast, period.
We found it super comfortable, good water pressure (one of my peeves) the bed was comfy and the room was spacious. Though the neighborhood was older (and endlessly fascinating) modern day Beijing with all it's hustle and bustle was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redmango43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,631 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,606 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,606 in Beijing
439 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#46 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: €91 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing