We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,964)
Filter reviews
1,964 results
Traveller rating
1,453
436
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
436
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding suite dongsi subway station family room traditional chinese furniture narrow alley chinese experience traditional hotel forbidden city taxi driver real china beijing hutong modern amenities dumplings loved this hotel small hotel spoke good english free internet
Filter
Updating list...
1,346 - 1,351 of 1,964 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Everything about our stay at this hotel was fantastic, from the friendly and helpful staff who greeted us to the restful courtyards to the dumplings for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseMasterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Only a short walk to Donsi subway station. Certainly an authentic hutong with all the smells and sights and then a wonderful oasis of old, historic china of this courtyard hotel. The rooms were authetically furnished and decorated - lovely small touches and to a very high standard. The courtyard and its history gave lovely ambience. The staff were extremely helpful and had an excellent grasp of English - very friendly. We stayed 5 nights - high recommended. Tripadvisor reviews led me to this hotel - a good recommendation.

Room Tip: Even though there was only 2 of us - we opted for the large family room - bed area, living area and on the courtyard. Just the best.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KaetrinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Fabulous location, not your typical hotel, staff were genuinely helpful, thumbs up to Happy Susan & Echo, loved the Chinese decor and ambience. Dongsi, the nearest subway is a walk away, love the hutong where it is located, wish I stayed there longer.

I look forward to a return one day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ozzyhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My boyfriend and I were fortunate to choose Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel for 3 nights during our April 2011 trip to China. When our taxi pulled up to the hotel our guide was extremely excited, raving at length on the "luckiness" of our choice. Double Happiness is located smack dab in the center of what I would call "vintage Beijing" .. for atmosphere it is an absolute FIND. The place is incredible, it's rickety staircases and walkways, ornate SUPER vintage Chinese decor and traditional courtyard design mean that you will definitely know you have arrived and are "not in Kansas (or California for that matter), any more. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, they also had a small bar downstairs where we enjoyed some well needed beer after a day of sight seeing.
So here is what you need to know about this hotel, it isn't the Hilton, or the Four Seasons, or the Marriott, you don't have stacks of designer toiletries, or a gym, or climate control, or an football sized breakfast buffet. Nope, you get rice, and dumplings and cool Chinese food for breakfast, period.
We found it super comfortable, good water pressure (one of my peeves) the bed was comfy and the room was spacious. Though the neighborhood was older (and endlessly fascinating) modern day Beijing with all it's hustle and bustle was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redmango43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had an absolutely amazing stay here. When we arrived early our room wasn't ready so they took us to the bar and gave us a free drink while we waited. The decor of the hotel was very authentic and had a great ambience to it at night when it glowed up with the soft lighting. Susan, one of the hotel staff was soooo smiley and couldn't do enough to help, so a special thanks to her for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews