We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location....”
Review of Geruisi Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geruisi Art Hotel
Ranked #158 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 14 February 2012

As an art lover, I think this is the only and the best place to stay in Beijing. I had a wonderful time wandering round all the galleries, found some new interesting works from artists I did not know previously and was reacquainted with works of well established artists, namely that of Wu Guanzhong, the father of modern Chinese painting - an artist who I admired 20 years ago when I was studying in Beijing and that I have all but forgotten.
I was very very VERY spoilt at Grace - from the initial glass of champagne at check in to the wonderful made to order breakfasts; from the wonderfully CLEAN and airy room to my own very large bathroom - what a difference it was to when I was last in Beijing as a student staying at the university campus - then, I had to share room and bathroom, and had daily 'run ins' with rats and all types of creepy crawlies - ugh!!!
Had a fabulous lunch sitting outside on the terrace with friends and a wonderful intimate dinner in the restaurant with my husband. The restaurant staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful.
Loved the photograph which was in my room - man with head in towels - made me smile every time I saw it - the artwork in the rest of the hotel I found to be quite quirky and humorous.
Yes, it is a teeny tiny bit inconvenient to get to and from the centre of Beijing but then why would anyone want to leave? I would stay and wait for Beijing to move its centre to 798!





Front desk / check in - complimentary champagne
Room - large, cool and airy
Bathroom - large
Breakfast - made to order

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you love quirky small hotels that offer unobtrusive yet very friendly individual service, not forgetting fantastic food, Grace, Beijing has to be somewhere not to miss.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank acg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I travel to China approx 30% of my time from Los Angeles, and the Grace/Yi Art house hotel is my top favorite respite from the day to day chaos and clamor of business in China. It is very close to the Airport: I choose it also when I have a layover choice that only allows a single night.

The staff was welcoming and very helpful about the area and the galleries. One is greeted with champagne at the reception, and for my stays had imported Shiraz wine in the rooms. The rooms and hallways are airy; the decor its own modern style. The food at Fennel, the on site restaurant is fantastic and the service spot on. They have live bands quite often from what I can gather, and the atmosphere is peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Traveling to Beijing for research on 798, I chose to stay at the Grace Beijing. With a quick airport express ride (25Y) and Cab ride (15Y), the Grace Beijing is not only convenient from PEK, but it is ideal for anyone who loves art or plans to focus their trip on the 798 art district.

When my luggage was lost, the front desk called Air China for me and dealt with my issue, returning it back in two days!

I stayed at the Grace Beijing for two weeks and had an amazing time, the customer service was the best that I had experienced not only in China, but throughout all of my travels. To give two specific examples, I had mentioned to the front desk that I wanted to take public transportation to Panjiayuan Shichang. The head breakfast server (they give a great complimentary breakfast) told me that if I was in no rush, he could take me on his way home.
I had many experiences in which several of the hotel's customer service would run into me while in the city.

Moreover, during my last week I ran into Roberto who is absolutely wonderful and he stated that he noticed my two-week long stay. He said that he saw there had been a few vacant rooms and immediately offered to upgrade me into one of the suites. Roberto was incredibly kind and it was a pleasure to hear his experiences about Grace Hotels in Asia.

Although its location is a bit more inconvenient (you need to take the bus or cab to the subway), the Grace Beijing is definitely worth it.

Between the customer service, included breakfast, fresh flowers, and of course accessibility to art right out your door, the Grace Beijing is the best hotel in the 798 District.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaviotarosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

After a few days in busy, hectic Beijing, it felt like sanctuary to get away to the art district. The hotel is modern and quite nice in decor, with very comfortable bedding, though perhaps the bathroom had a couple of kinks in its fixtures. The included breakfast was lovely, and the service provided during breakfast dining was excellent. The front desk was adequate though due to the language barrier, some requests were not so easily understood. However, overall, it was a lovely place to stay, especially to enjoy the artworks within and around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27thstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Jiuxianqiao
Quanji Beijing Dashanzi Qiao 798 Art Zone
Quanji Beijing Dashanzi Qiao 798...
#1,520 of 6,568 in Beijing
46 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,568 in Beijing
413 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#71 of 6,568 in Beijing
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geruisi Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geruisi Art Hotel

Address: Jiuxianqiao Lu, 2 Hao Yuan,798 Yishu Qu, 706 Hou Jie, I Hao, Beijing 100015, China (Formerly Grace Beijing)
Region: China > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Beijing
#115 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#130 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: €91 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Geruisi Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Art Hotel in Beijing, first Hotel in 798 Art District ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Geruisi Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing