We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
51
71
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
71
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mombasa island self catering seafood great accommodation exceptional food sea food restaurant place to stay big balcony business trip excellent stay special thanks swimming pool fort jesus creek nyali dawas fixtures
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Having stayed at the Tamarind a number of times previously, I knew what to expect, and I was once again not disappointed. After the chaos of the taxi drive from the airport, steeping into this oasis of old world charm is truly refreshing. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The location and the view is excellent, as is the pool area. Breakfast is not the best, but acceptable. All in, the best place to stay in Mombasa.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank aubergine_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff and we are delighted that we met with your expectations and you found the rooms well appointed and comfortable with an excellent view and pool area. Your feedback about the breakfast is noted and we will take the necessary steps to ensure that on your next visit you will find that it has improved. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your future trips to Mombasa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Stayed at the Tamarind for two nights. The apartments are huge, with a beautiful view of the estuary. The rooms are a bit out dated but very spacious. We had a huge balcony to sit outside with a fantastic view. The harbour terrace restaurant serves a very good buffet breakfast on a morning with an excellent choice. Cooked food was fresh and hot.
The restaurant on the evening was excellent, the food was exceptional. I would highly recommend the mushroom and asparagus soup as a starter - it was delicious. Good choice of cocktails. Excellent service. I would highly recommend the restaurant.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank _julie_hadley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay and while you felt the rooms were dated, you enjoyed their spaciousness and the huge balcony with a view. It most pleasing to hear that the breakfast at the Harbour Restaurant was good and the Tamarind Restaurant had exceptional food, cocktails and good service. We always aspire to give the best of food and service and we are delighted that we were successful and made such a positive impact on your sty at Tamarind Village. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I'd highly recommend Tamarind for quality stay and service in the Nyali, Mombasa area, close to all major attractions and well secure.

The apartment we stayed in was a corner view over the water, but it was a bit dated with the furniture and fixtures, water pressure in the shower was low, sinks clogged up very fast even after just brushing teeth, and many small things were beyond their lifespan. Although I hear every apartment interior is different, maybe we got a better view one with inferior interior.

The restaurant is one of the best and most famous in Mombasa, fantastic oysters, seafood, prawns, steaks, etc. highly recommend even if you aren't staying there

Room Tip: Ask for a new interior if possible, and compromise on the view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NeverHome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the from your apartment and the fantastic Tamarind food. It is certainly discouraging to learn however that the furniture and fixtures were dated,and inferior and there were problems with the shower pressure, sink drainage.and other small things beyond their lifespan. We sincerely appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and just to let you know that we are actively working to improve these technical issues. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable and has been passed on to our team. We hope you will give us another chance and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Very good hotel, with self catering rooms. Have a big balcony with the back-water view and also a smoking area. Good sitting room with good interiors. The Hotel has one of the best sea food restaurant, we tried both Grilled Fish and Grilled Prawns Platter, it met better than our expectation. The restaurant service is a bit slow at times due to the number of clients visiting at the same time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roopak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you very much for posting such a great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Village and the sitting room and interiors were to your liking. It is also pleasing to hear that the seafood restaurant exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the grilled fish and grill prawns. It is unfortunate to hear that the service in the restaurant was slow however we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Many thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Initially I was not sure about this hotel, I really wanted a beach front hotel but I ended up loving it. The rooms are large and the view of the Indian ocean with old Mombasa town in the distance is breathtaking. Now the food at the Tamarind was fantastic.

My only complain is staff should be a bit friendly, especially to us locals. Most hotels I've visited, everyone including cleaners tend to be friendly and accommodating. I did not experience that here. I also had a problem with the hot water in the shower, I'm not sure what mechanics were needed but I had to turn it a couple of times to get to my desired temperature.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the spacious room, the view of Mombasa Old town and the fantastic Tamarind food. It is certainly discouraging to learn however that the hot water in the apartment shower had problems and also that we fell way short of our customer service mark which is to provide the best service for each and every one of our guests. We sincerely appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and just to let you know that we are actively working to improve service levels and technical issues. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable and has been passed on to our team. We hope you will give us another chance and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews