We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
24
16
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
16
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I have been here for 3weeks and have 1week remaining. From the day we arrived the hospitality here has been amazing.
The chef makes delicious dishes, nothing is too much trouble for him.
The restaurant staff "Carol and Michael" are wonderful, they are extremely attentive and exceptionally polite.

Office staff are equally helpful and polite.

Swimming pool is beautiful, lovely and clean.

Apartments themselves are extremely spacious and comfortable.

To sum up, the Nightingale is great value for money and we have been coming here since 2012 regularly.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sandraT1420KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

From the time I was picked up at the airport by Harrison, to the check in the next day (I arrived VERY late), the friendly and attentive staff in the restaurant, everyone at the nightingale made sure my stay was excellent. I was very well looked after and anything I needed was immediately looked after.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyWrenshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

All the staff polite and friendly,I have returned to Nightingales time and time again.Having stayed at various other hotels and apartments this is one of the best,value of money and great service,dont listen to the local taxi drivers as they have a hidden agenda e.g they get commission to take you some where else.On the three occasions I have stayed at Nightingales I have felt safe and never had any issues,i will return again for sure.Also the power cut out at night has been sorted so just the normal Kenyan power cuts but that's Africa,the generator cuts in no problem,

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philspencer8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This small apartment complex is awesome. Pick-up from airport by Harrison, courteous and friendly; give the staff your flight number via email and they'll even check if you're landing on time! Rooms all vary, well-equipped by African standards (hey, if you want a pillow-menu, this is not for you, stick to the chain hotels, and pay a fortune!) If you need anything extra for your kitchen, just ask and it will be sorted/delivered/fixed within 10 minutes.
The staff are incredible, felt like part of ' the family', they make you feel so welcome. They even hung up an Australian flag especially for my arrival; how cool is that!

Special features that make it a stand-out:
Well placed pool receives full sun, so water is of a superb temperature and super clean. Pool is a proper swimming pool; no fancy kidney-shaped thing where you can barely swim but a nice, long, square pool to do your laps, play around or float while you listen to the birds and low-volume African music from the restaurant/bar.
Great breakfast included, fresh fruits, any choice of cooked breakfast with eggs, bacon and the lot but also pancakes if you're a vegie like me! You ask, and they'll go out of their way to make it.
Excellent Wi-Fi throughout, and it's free (how rare is that these days!)
Each apartment has its own instant hot water service for your shower, so no issues with mass-showering at 5 pm and then ending up with a cold shower (as I experienced at Bamburi in one of the hotels there).Tap water is fresh, not salty, safe and clean.
Great balconies for each apartment with plenty privacy; very cleverly built.
Quiet air-conditioning and mosquito nets in bedrooms.

Seems to have many return guest; spoke to a few who are here for the 4th or 5th time...what does that tell you?:) I'll be back too, loved every minute of my stay and highly recommend tis place for anyone, from solo travellers to families to honeymooners.

What a gem, tucked away at the back of Shanzu. No loud discos, no hustlers, 300 meters to stunning Shanzu beach (pathway there may look a bit dodgy but the few hustlers there understand the meaning of No Thanks)
Easy walk across the little field out of the gate to pick up a tuk tuk to take you anywhere.
Two minute walk to Serena Road which has nice restaurants and live music bars and also some very nice clothes and souvenir shops.

Ignore global travel warnings about safety in Kenya; these days it's probably safer here than at the Eiffel tower, sad as that is. Security is everywhere and I felt very safe in this gated complex. The lack of tourism is killing the Kenyan coastal communities, just because of how the world has become.
This area needs a boost so come on, what are you waiting for....Nightingale will make your stay an awesome experience. Thank you Eunice, Carol, Catherine, and all the other lovely staff members, you run a great place with real dedication to the traveller. A sante sana, I'll be back:)

Room Tip: All rooms good, but if you have trouble walking stairs ask for a ground floor room.Only 3 levels high. Morning sun on balcony side.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51danielled57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms are very smart good service manager and all staff are very kind.
I loved the breakfast they serve you on time whatever you want it.
Clean and very quite place loved the music which they play during a breakfast .
Like the watch man's if you go out and comes back late they open gate for you in a second good place definitely will go back next time

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KiangoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews