We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food”
Review of Singh Restaurant

Singh Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 178 Restaurants in Mombasa
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In April 1962, as Mombasa was growing into one of East Africa's busiest ports, Dalip Singh Wilkhu had a vision. While working as a signal operator for East African Railways, he was inspired to feed arriving visitors while preparing packaged meals for those preparing to depart. Singh Restaurant was born. Since then, Singh Restaurant has fed generations of people from various walks of life... Providing lunches and dinners for entire groups of workers, for families, for individuals... And becoming one of the most popular tourist destinations in the region, and drawing visitors from nearby cities such as Nairobi and Dar es Salaam. Our success comes from high quality in all aspects of our business, from the food we serve, to our operational efficiency, to the atmosphere we provide our visitors from the moment they walk in, until the moment they depart. Our quality of food and quality of service has helped Singh Restaurant gain recognition as the most highly recommended Indian restaurant in Mombasa by sources including TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet.
Reviewed 1 February 2021

I have always visited this restaurant. Food is excellent. Service is good. But one is always worried about parking outside.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank AmirAlisaary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

OMG

I used to come eat here all the time when i was younger. THE FOOD WAS AMAZING. I always had the spicy chicken wings , and the chicken masala curry. It was always so wonderful. The small things about the place are what make it so wonderful, how they jeep on giving you fresh rotis whenever you finish them, the way that the green chillies are always fresh in a cold glass of water and the spectacular fresh limes. I always used to ask my dad if we could eat here and it would always make my week. The food and the environment is spectacular. There is an AC’d portion of the restaurant where you can eat, if a customer doesn’t like the cold they are welcome to eat there because there is also a section with no AC. Overall i just love the place and i want to eat their food, but I’m not sure if they deliver, so ill have to wait until covid finishes.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank thatdude54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 October 2020

We arrived late in Mombasa and decided to try Indian for a change, after having been in the safari for awhile. The prices are very reasonable $10-$15 per main dish. I had the butter chicken with rice and naan. The garlic naan didn't taste very garlicky but the butter chicken was flavorful, washed it down with a great tusk beer!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AHY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Whenever I want a taste of authentic indian cuisine this is the place i head to without giving much thought. Delicious food, good customer service plus pocket friendly.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank kinga728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

Had kadai paneer with unlimited rotis . Portion was good for 1 person... Expected it to be a portion for 2 in comparison to other restaurants out there but regardless, good food and good service. The juices are not the best.. More like drinking bottled juices so not a good option to have while there... Maybe try the lassi or just have a soft drink

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank kishen606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Singh Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Singh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.