We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family night out”
Review of Tamarind Dhow

Tamarind Dhow
Ranked #3 of 177 Restaurants in Mombasa
Price range: US$65 - US$65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

We joined the evening dhow cruise on a windy and cooler day. Hilda reassured us they had all weather covered so off we went and I’m so glad we did. Not only did the weather improve we were spoiled with a lovely 4 hour ride, amazing meal, even more incredible band. We had such a great time as a family of 3 dancing the night away. We will definitely be back to enjoy this experience again.

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank daniellem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Dhow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Dear Danielle, We are delighted to hear that the cruise met with your expectations and you and your family enjoyed the whole experience from the amazing meal to dancing to the band. Your complimentary remarks have been shared with the team who take their roles very seriously and it is very rewarding for them to see that their efforts have been appreciated. Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2022

Dhow is a great experience. Calm waters, good music, good vibes, good view. Food is mediocre for the price. It is served late late and cold. All in all, eating dinner on the ocean is fun.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Ffdhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Dhow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are disappointed to learn that your dining experience on the Dhow did not quite meet with your expectations and although you found the ambiance and music good, you thought the food was served too late and it was served cold. It is regrettable to learn that we fell short of our customer service mark, which is to provide the best of food and service for each and every one of our guests and for this we apologise. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback and just to let you know we are actively working to ensure the food is exemplary in the future. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021

I had to try it once...last year today 29 December 2020, i was lucky to get a table for a no-show! music was pleasant although I found the dish I ordered very minimal for the price charged but the bigger disappointment was that the free G&T offered to customers which I requested to swop for another drink as I dont drink G&T was charged to my bill...this was not advised to me when I asked for the swop! hoping to visit again for the Dhow to put it right...

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SAWAtraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Dhow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2022

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Tamarind Dhow. Although overall you enjoyed yourself, we are sorry that we didn't quite meet with your expectations and you found the food minimal and you were charged without being informed when you swopped your welcome drink. It is certainly discouraging to learn that we fell way short of our customer service mark which is to provide the best for each and every one of our guests and your feedback has been passed on to the team for review and correction. We hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2021

Food is mediocore and portions rather small for what is being charged.
Pridence and team including band all very good however, food definitely needs improvement

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank 819begu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Dhow, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet with your expectations and that though you found the service and the band good, you thought the food mediocre and definitely in need of improvement. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able improve upon the services that we provide and we thank you for your valuable comments which have been passed on to the team concerned to ensure improvements are made. We apologise for your disappointment even though we realise that the outcome of your meal will not be altered on this occasion. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

The place never disappoints. An experience of it's own. Dining as you cruise in the ocean. The choir is very splendid, and so is the food. Prepare well, ahead of time, and save for this if you are a low budget person like me.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank EricN577
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Dhow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Dear Eric, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us and your fabulous compliments. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a nice birthday experience on Tamarind Dhow.
Your positive feedback has been passed on to the team who are totally energised by your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Dhow also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Tamarind Dhow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.