We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a view”

Galaxy Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 177 Restaurants in Mombasa
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

As it is, the number of quality restaurants in Mombasa are far fewer as compared to Cosmopolitan Nairobi. However, Galaxy is one of them which offers a good Chinese menu alongwith a good view of the Ocean. We went there for lunch and preferred to sit in the lower area, as the view was better. The menu was quite extensive with a variety of starters and main courses. We opted for spring rills and prawns. For mains, again a wide variety of meat, fish, chicken, vegetables etc. Overall pricing was reasonable, good food, and a lovely view. A must visit when visiting Mombasa town.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sainbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

First and for most the view is breath taking. You walk in and you are wow. The staff are always smiling and of course very smart.
Well i have been going to the place for over 15 years and believe you me, i never get enough of there food.
I like the starters and i love the mushroom, then followed by the spring rolls, and deep fried prawns.. then i go for the main course. mmm i am drooling as i tell you about it.
the rice or noodle in any style is yummy... i cant wait to go this week, and for sure i will send you the pictures... Just come on over and enjoy the best Chinese food in Mombasa.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dolphin904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The food was good not so much depth of flavour . I loved the spring rolls for starter the most but the main course was very blunt for me ...not much seasoning. The view is amazing from the restaurant because you can see the beautiful Indian ocean. The service was also really good...I will definitely go back and try something else.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hopemutheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

A must vist when in Mombasa especially as the standard of chinese cuisine in Kenya is very poor. The chinese in Kenya is very indianised. The locals love it. I dont. Galaxy on the other hand offers less spicy, subtle authentic flavours. With breathtaking views of the vast open sea there cannot be a better place for a quiet lunch. All items are fresh. Highly recommend Golden fried prawns and beef in oyster sauce. Great Veg Selection too!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank romanholiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Very good food and decent service. Lots of seafood options, and it's fun to watch the cargo ships slowly come in. The sea view is extremely lovely (once you look passed the abandoned swimming pools below). Am also glad we chose Galaxy because otherwise we would never have seen this side of the island, and since it's out of the town center, alcohol is allowed.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Galaxy Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Galaxy Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.