We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food with a beautiful view”
Review of Forodhani

Forodhani
Ranked #28 of 177 Restaurants in Mombasa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 March 2022 via mobile

We took a group of 18 this week after our tour of Fort Jesus. We had preordered. By the time we used the restroom and ordered our drinks the food was coming out. Our team was thoroughly impressed with the food. From the Chicken, to the beef, to the mutton, to the vegetarian options. All was very good. Our server was fine. I would say their attentiveness and happiness were the only reason we didn’t give them a 5.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank 481leeannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2022 via mobile

I visited today forodhani resturant in the old city off mombasa , i went there 4 :30 PM . i asked for Ses food plater after the waiter said it is good for 4 people and we will need 30 minute to prepare .
after 10 minute I gor my order
the pkatter is fotr one person the mix seafood was relly cold and has no taste ,
i recommend if you go there to enjoy the inviroment , my advise to you go early or after 6PM , and becarful with what you orded ..

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank abdullahaT7681UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 January 2022

The lobster we ordered was not just rubbery, chewy, and cold it was also stale. Lobsters have bacteria that can kill you if not prepared the right way. You'd think that the staff would know, but they didn't. This isn't much of a review but a warning, you eat here at your peril.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank universalitye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

This place is a must-go when you’re in the old town of Mombasa. The atmosphere is lovely, especially in the evening. There is a great mix of local families, expats and tourists. This is a straight forward restaurant: plastic chairs, but delicious Swahili food. You have the option to eat BBQ and dishes from all countries of the Indian Ocean. EVERYBODY will feel welcome.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Stijn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 December 2021

We were a family of 3 and we wanted to order a couple of food items , like shawarama and chips and some hot beverages, it was around 4.30pm and one of the waiter said we are not allowed to serve snacks . Thats very shameful I was very surprise to hear that beacuse i have nerver heard of such !!! Even in a 5 * resturant you have a choice to order anything during anytime.
Left very disappointed .

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank rukaiyah2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Forodhani also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Forodhani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.