We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old-fashioned Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elephant Pepper Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was to my romantic mind an experience that harkens back to another era. As part of our stay we had a full day game drive/safari - getting up early to have both breakfast and lunch out of camp. We travelled to see the hippos and crocodiles in the Mara River, an abandoned Maasi village and the natural beauty of the Mara. This camp was well managed by our hosts Patrick and Sophia, and our driver/guide George was amazing in locating and pointing out wonderful photographic opportunities - lion/elephant and leopard/baboon interactions. The camp is as wonderful as the other reviewers describe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much & that you had such amazing photo opportunities! With best wishes, Sophie & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is hands down the best safari camp i have had the pleasure of staying in. In fact, i would go so far as to say this is the best establishment i have ever stayed in. Elephant Pepper Camp is not just a safari camp however. It is an experience. An experience that will carve itself into your memory forever.

From the stunning furniture to the fantastic people, this place is sheer authentic, old school, luxury at its best. It sounds ridiculous... but i actually felt proud to be sat in a 4x4 with Elephant Pepper written on the side. Patrick and Sophie - bloody good job.

Room Tip: This is not like a hotel. Every tent is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddiepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words. We've shared your review with all the team here & we're thrilled - it's the reason we're here! With best wishes, Sophie & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visited two other camps first and wondered what we could possibly need to see that we hadn't already. This camp was a great experience, clean, well set up , all services ( although at times wifi is a bit variable - but thats not why we were there!) excellent. The meals and the housekeeping services were great - with the breakfasts out in the Mara a great way to really see the animals at a time they were out and about. We saw so many animals, and our guide Patrick, was fantastic - the knowledge of the guides is what makes the whole safari experience special. we were lucky ( in early Dec) so see a mini "crossing" and that gave us a real taste of what it would be like. OUr four nights in camp was just right - to give us experience on the plains, around our tents ( a gold mine alone) and meeting people. Definitely on the revisit list.

Room Tip: WE were closer to the Dining area - so easy to access all services - especially in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Yes, our breakfasts out in the bush are very popular - it's great to savour bacon & eggs surrounded by wilderness! Best wishes, Patrick & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Seems an unbelievable amount of money to stay in a tent-until you get there! From the moment you arrive you quickly realise why it so expensive. This is our 3rd tented safari camp we have stayed in, and although the other two were also at the high end of the market, this place caps the lot. Patrick, the manager, is superb, as are the rest of the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and agree with the other very positive reviews. We only stayed for 2 nights, whereas I was told most people stay for 3. Although fine for when we went (January), a guide told me that if visiting in the migration season you really need 3 nights, so on one day you go on an all day safari to migration crossings, which are a considerable distance from the camp.
The food is OK rather than brilliant-this was the one area where I have been to better tented camps. Also be warned that if you like splashing lots of hot water around when getting up in the morning you will be disappointed-as it is delivered in a brass jug as there is no piped water to the tent (this is an observation-not a criticism).

Elephants tramping around 5 feet from your tent at 0230 will disturb your sleep in what is otherwise a very comfortable tent-but that is a memorable experience not to be missed!
All in all-highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tents 2, 3 and 4 are closest to the mess tents (an advantage if pouring with rain) and have good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Neil

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the team here and they're delighted. We have noted your comments on the food & will work on this to bring us up to the level of the other camps you visited!

With warmest wishes
Patrick & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Elephant Pepper Camp far exceeded our expectations from the moment we landed in the little airstrip (we had to circle a couple of times because some animals were in the way) to the time we left (wife in tears).

The staff at Elephant Pepper could not have made our stay more welcoming; the service we received was excellent. The Honeymoon Tent was a dream and we loved sharing our little garden with a family of baboons and the odd giraffe and elephant. At night, the Masai guard escorted us back to the tent only for us to see two pairs of Leopard eyes staring at us!

The first two nights were fairly quiet, however, the third night we heard a 'kill'. Baboons went mental, lionesses were on the prowl. On the fourth night, we were brave enough to leave the inside flap up and at 3am woke to see a lioness strolling very casually past our door!

Food was excellent at the Elephant Pepper; Patrick took us on a walk and we saw a pride of 24 lions and their cubs playing in the bush. We got extremely close to an elephant and giraffe.

We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives and met some fantastic people at our camp. I think it was absolutely brilliant on our agents part to persuade us to go to a smaller more intimate camp which was open to the elements. We felt really blessed to be at the camp and we would definitely recommend this camp.

Room Tip: The honeymoon tent makes for an extra special stay. All for guides are good however James made our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and also for coming to visit! We are truly fortunate to be surrounded by such a vast array of wildlife - you never know what may be around the corner or, as you say, walking past your tent during the night!

With warmest wishes
Patrick & Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
35.6 km away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#48 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
117 reviews
6.1 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
301 reviews
12.2 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
78.9 km away
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Brans...
#39 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
147 reviews
26.6 km away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#28 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Pepper Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Pepper Camp

Address: Mara North Conservancy | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: €798 - €1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Pepper Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Pepper Camp is situated within the Mara North Conservancy. Small and exclusive, the camp is located in the heart of the African Bush. Our spacious canvas tents are comfortably furnished, featuring en suite bathrooms with flush toilets and traditional safari showers. Nothing rivals sitting around the campfire enjoying the sounds of the African night. Elephant Pepper Camp brings people back to nature – no traffic, no permanent structures, just the sights and sounds of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Elephant Pepper Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Pepper Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Elephant Pepper Camp Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing