We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porini Mara Camp
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
US$464
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$610
US$592
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$371
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$432
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ashnil Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$383
US$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
US$2,336
US$1,954
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,681
US$1,539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
408
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsol kinyei conservancymara campconservancy conceptgame drivesjake grieves cookgame watcherssafari experienceresident hippoother guestsroaring lionsmaasai guideslocal communityhot waterhis teamnature walkamazing wildlifeeco tourism
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We had just a brilliant honeymoon at Mara Porini Camp after a wonderful wedding at Zanzibar! We received the trip as a present, so we had no idea know what to expect and that made it even more exciting. It was quite luxurius to have sparkling wine at our terrace when we arrived and hear voices the wilderness just in front of us. The nights were even more exciting when we could hear the lions hunting wilderbeast just next to our camp! A funny thing also happened in the very first morning: a group of monkeys got somehow into our tent and stole our biscuits :)

Special thanks to our excellent guides Jimmy and Marima who taught us so many things about nature during our stay of four days. They asked what animal we'd like to see most and we said lions, because they are so exciting to see in wilderness. As a result we saw tens of lions during the trip and saw them haunting and playing also during the night. All game drives were different and we enjoyed them a lot. We only missed a gepard of the Big Five, but had a chance to see the black rhino, which is also very difficult to see.

We warmly recommend Mara Porini Camp to people who expect a lot from their safari. The quality is excellent in every measurement.

Some tips for travellers:
- If possible, have a good camera with excellent lenses. A pocket camera is like a joke in a trip like this :)
- Take warm clothes, trousers and jackets with you. The nights were quite cool in December and it is also a bit windy when sitting in a car.
- Ask your travel agency for a safari packing list -that helps you to pack wisely

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wedding_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

In january this year our extended family of 14 (3 sisters with husbands and teenage children 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 & 16 yrs, 1 grandfather and partner) decided to travel from Australia to Kenya for the Xmas holidays. We ranged in ages from 11 to 80 years. We decided that all technology was to be left at home (except for 1 or 2 adult mobile phones) and were therefore rather anxious about how the family and teenagers might cope. On tripadvisor we came across the Gamewatchers Safari website and the Porini Camps. What transpired was the family holiday of a lifetime! Our trip included all 4 of the Porini Camps - Amboseli, Rhino, Mara and Lion camp. At several of the camps, because of our group size, we were the only ones there. Gamewatchers did a superb job organising the airport pick ups and the air transfers between the camps this being a reasonably complex task given the size of our group. At each of the Porini camps we were greeted by the camp manager who already knew much about us and our needs having spoken with the managers from our earlier camps. This level of detailed organisation made our stay extremely easy with everyone across our vast age range feeling valued and special. The Maasai staff were incredibly attentive, extremely good trackers and seemed to anticipate our every need. Our 6 teenage children were so excited by the wildlife, and tracking for cheetah, leopards and lions that any thoughts about missing technology were completely forgotten. They learnt much about the animals and the Maasai culture and how to complete a 2 minute shower. The food, tents and service at each of the camps was impeccable. The scenery at each of the camps was spectacular but different from each of the other camps. My 80 year old father and his partner enjoyed the trip as much as all of us and did not miss one day of game viewing. This holiday has bonded our family like no other as we have shared an amazing experience and will be talking about this for many years to come. I could not recommend this trip more highly!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janielats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My daughter and I just got back from a mezmerizing safari at the Mara Porini Camp. We booked the safari through Gamewatchers and I must say that they thought of everything from sun down to sun up. No detail was left unattended to. I would highly recommend them to anyone and everyone considering taking a Kenyan safari.

Each step of the way, from time spent on the safari to time spent in the camp, was meticulously organized without feeling overly organized. We saw fascinating wild life - the big animals and the small, and even followed a pride lions on one night safari. Wow!

If you are ever thinking of taking a safari in Kenya, I highly recommend this location and the Gamewatchers company.

-Greg Miller, New York City

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theMill37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had a memorable 4 days at the Mara Porini camp. We were actually the only 2 guests for the 3 nights which while slightly quiet in the evenings meant we had the whole reserve to ourselves. This involved sightings of 2 month old lion cubs and 2 day old cheetah cubs as well as all 3 cats with kills. The Masai guides were superb with Jimmy particularly enthusiastic. You do feel this is a real attempt at sustainable tourism involving the local people.

Accommodation is very comfortable and the setting is superb. We had both lion and elephant close to out tents during the night.

A return visit one day hopefully

Peter and Judith- Inverness Scotland

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The Safari was fabulous and the camp staff, food etc just as good as I remember from our Visit to Porini Amboseli 5 years ago. My family were very impressed and I am sure will recommend you to other friends and family. We intend to use you again if we do another safari perhaps at another of your camps. There were so many highlights but one of the best was the Masai staff bringing in a birthday cake of my son and them dancing together. I think what makes your camps special is the fact that they are staffed by local people with knowedge of the area and the environment. Can’t really think of any improvements you could make. We drove from Nairobi and if you were to do one thing I would build a better crossing at the small entrance to the conservation area. Perhaps also warn people that the last couple of hours is on dirt track and pretty hard going. I think we would fly next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia-recht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews