We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amani Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$960
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Pepper Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Aardvark Lodge Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Destiny Eco Camp Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,310
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$3,200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
US$5,437
US$4,565
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angama Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$3,376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
222
139
27
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
139
27
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek rivermasai maragame drivesearly morning balloon ridehot waterbuffet styleweaver birdschampagne breakfastballoon tripacross the riverour waiterdry seasonhear hipposthoroughly enjoyed our staystayed for two nightslunch and dinnerrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay to do safari. Accommodation is tented but better experience than we could imagine. Ok the power goes off at certain times, but no problem. You can hear the animals at night which is great. Food is excellent. And a must do is breakfast in Mara. Bed is really comfortable and you do have a torch if you need the bathroom at night. Guides were good. We saw 4 of the big 5. We only missed out on seeing rhino. It is cold on the morning game drives but they do supply blankets, and it does warm up quick and then gets very hot. The guides did respect the animals and did not harass them. We would go back to Fig tree.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Fig Tree Camp is the perfect example of glamping on safari. The tents are clean and comfortable. Our tents were on the river with the most incredible view over to the Mara. The food is just to die for with something for everybody and the staff are warm and welcoming. Hot water, wifi and electricity are at certain times but what would you expect on Safari...if you want wifi and hotwater and power at all times forget Safari and go go and stay in town BUT you will be missing out. The hot air balloon ride is a must, save your pennies !! Incredible !

Room Tip: overlooking the Talek river
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Notalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I absolutely loved this place! The location is wonderful: the camp is well inside the maasai mara reserve. We had to drive almost an hour inside the reserve before we reached the camp. A gigantic fig tree welcomes you into the eponymous camp. At the edge of the camp flows the Talek river, which flows in a deep, muddy trench. The tents directly oversee the river and this is the best thing if you are an enthusiastic birder! Late in the evening we were walking to the dining area, when a couple of housekeeping staff asked us if we wanted to see a leopard! Of course we did! They pointed to a spot on the rock in the middle of the river right across where we were, and sure! There was a pair of bright eyes that gleamed back at us! We spent about half an hour photographing the cat who seemed to be resting on the rock. The most exciting sighting of the entire trip because it was so completely unexpected.
The dining experience was enhanced manyfold by the amazing folk song and dance performances. The restaurant staff took special care when we mentioned we were vegetarians and went out of the way to make rotis and dal for us because we were Indian. The vegetarian menu was quite good in itself and we enjoyed the buffet spread greatly.
The tents themselves are compact and modest, but comfortable. If you love the wildlife camping experience, this place delivers on every count!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We had a Fantastic stay at Fig Tree. We were very lucky with the weather and were amongst some of the only guests at the camp. The staff and service were exceptional, with hippos and crocodiles in the river just outside our tent. The tent was beautiful and really well equipped with private bathroom and hot water and wifi early in the morning and night time. You could choose to take an early morning game drive and have a packed breakfast / lunch or enjoy the three course meals that were served each lunch and dinner. The staff could not have more accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. It was safe and professional and we loved our time there. 2 nights were perfect to explore the Maasai and see so many incredible animals in their natural environment. Our driver and guide, Nixon and Hiram, made our tours personalised to what we wanted and went above and beyond and gave such an insight into the wildlife and the Maasai culture. Thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaLees6765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed for 3 days at the Fig Tree camp and it was one of the best. Our tents were located right outside the river with lot of hippos around. Being a vegetarian we were worried about our food options, but there were plenty of choices and the food was excellent. We requested the chef to prepare some local Kenyan cuisine and he prepared some excellent food. I would definitely recommend the stay here and it's super close to the Masai Mara park too..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaviGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews