We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Camp !!”
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fig Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Fig Tree Camp is the perfect example of glamping on safari. The tents are clean and comfortable. Our tents were on the river with the most incredible view over to the Mara. The food is just to die for with something for everybody and the staff are warm and welcoming. Hot water, wifi and electricity are at certain times but what would you expect on Safari...if you want wifi and hotwater and power at all times forget Safari and go go and stay in town BUT you will be missing out. The hot air balloon ride is a must, save your pennies !! Incredible !

Room Tip: overlooking the Talek river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Notalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

I absolutely loved this place! The location is wonderful: the camp is well inside the maasai mara reserve. We had to drive almost an hour inside the reserve before we reached the camp. A gigantic fig tree welcomes you into the eponymous camp. At the edge of the camp flows the Talek river, which flows in a deep, muddy trench. The tents directly oversee the river and this is the best thing if you are an enthusiastic birder! Late in the evening we were walking to the dining area, when a couple of housekeeping staff asked us if we wanted to see a leopard! Of course we did! They pointed to a spot on the rock in the middle of the river right across where we were, and sure! There was a pair of bright eyes that gleamed back at us! We spent about half an hour photographing the cat who seemed to be resting on the rock. The most exciting sighting of the entire trip because it was so completely unexpected.
The dining experience was enhanced manyfold by the amazing folk song and dance performances. The restaurant staff took special care when we mentioned we were vegetarians and went out of the way to make rotis and dal for us because we were Indian. The vegetarian menu was quite good in itself and we enjoyed the buffet spread greatly.
The tents themselves are compact and modest, but comfortable. If you love the wildlife camping experience, this place delivers on every count!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowris5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We had a Fantastic stay at Fig Tree. We were very lucky with the weather and were amongst some of the only guests at the camp. The staff and service were exceptional, with hippos and crocodiles in the river just outside our tent. The tent was beautiful and really well equipped with private bathroom and hot water and wifi early in the morning and night time. You could choose to take an early morning game drive and have a packed breakfast / lunch or enjoy the three course meals that were served each lunch and dinner. The staff could not have more accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. It was safe and professional and we loved our time there. 2 nights were perfect to explore the Maasai and see so many incredible animals in their natural environment. Our driver and guide, Nixon and Hiram, made our tours personalised to what we wanted and went above and beyond and gave such an insight into the wildlife and the Maasai culture. Thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaLees6765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed for 3 days at the Fig Tree camp and it was one of the best. Our tents were located right outside the river with lot of hippos around. Being a vegetarian we were worried about our food options, but there were plenty of choices and the food was excellent. We requested the chef to prepare some local Kenyan cuisine and he prepared some excellent food. I would definitely recommend the stay here and it's super close to the Masai Mara park too..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaviGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The Fig Tree Camp does it right. We stayed 2 nights (March 9-10, 2017). The accommodations were comfortable. Slept well. The service staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. We were in a Tent, which is covered by a sheltered roof and an affixed bathroom/shower. The bed was comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch over looking the river, watching Weaver birds and Hippos. The food and service was very good. The Fig Tree Camp is an excellent place to serve as a base for safari in the Masai Mara National Reserve. I would gladly stay again at the Fig Tree Camp if the future holds another trip to the Masai Mara. Internet is available in the lobby/reception area. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redwards2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.3 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
24.1 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
17.7 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#25 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#31 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
322 reviews
0 km away
Sekenani Camp
Sekenani Camp
#62 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
18.1 km away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#9 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok | Talek river area, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: €134 - €467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Tree Camp, located in the prestigious Masai Mara National Reserve, is a luxurious lodge with top-class amenities and service. You have a reason to adventure, we give you the hospitality to go with it. This 72 roomed property is ideal for game drives and nature walks. Our rooms comprise of the superior Ngaboli tents, executive standard tents and lodge rooms, all fitted with facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Talek River also snakes its way around the camp, to give you that serene and tranquil feel from the hustle and bustle of the city. We do hope you enjoy your stay with us. Welcome to Fig Tree Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing