We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing - Loved this place, want to go back”
Review of Siana Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siana Springs
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I loved this camp so much. We stayed here for 2 nights, but I really wish we could have stayed longer as it was amazing. The lodge itself is completely hidden so you cannot even see it when you approach, you enter the lobby through a covered bush walkway, which at night time feels very surreal. Out of all the places we stayed during our safari this was by far my favourite and made me feel like i was really camping. The rooms themselves from the outside look like big canvas tents, which they are, but when you unzip your tent it has a bathroom, which comes complete with toilet and hot shower so you have all the feel of camping, but with the luxuries you would get at a hotel -perfect - glamping!! I loved the layout of the lodge, which had an open restaurant and a log fire, which you could sit around at night. The staff were all very friendly and i loved the masai performance after dinner around the fire, it all felt very magical and exciting. It made me feel like a kid again. Would 100% go back to the Masai Mara and stay at Siana Springs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamanthaFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Because we have been supporting a primary school about eight miles from Siana Springs Intrepid Camp, we have returned year after year since 2008 to this "oasis in the Mara". It was like coming home, being greeted by name and receiving the same convenient B1 tent as we enjoyed on earlier visits (we each have minor mobility issues, and this tent was nearest to the restaurant and Reception). This year, 2011, we visited three other sites before arriving at Siana (Mountain Lodge, Sweetwaters and Lion Head Lodge) so we had a baseline on which to judge our Siana experience. In all categories, comfort, service, food, convenience to game viewing and accessibility, Siana ranked first or very high. Others have commented on the 20-minute drive to the Maasai Mara Game Park, but this is little enough "inconvenience" for the overall top-notch safari experience one can receive at Siana.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kallmancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August 2011. Having previously visited Masai Mara on several occassions, I found this camp to be of average standard. Tents are descent but the facility as a whole lack the comfort one should have when doing a once in a lifetime safari. The camp is furthermore located a fair distance from the main gate to the park, something which depening on road conditions will take you 1-1,5 hours a day in going back and forth.

My suggestion would be to add the extra, far from significant, amount of money and stay at one of the more luxurious lodges inside the park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intonarumori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I was with a tour group of seventeen that stayed at Siana for two nights in June of 2011. It was a wonderful, very clean and comfortable. The tents have electricity (though the lighting is dim) and private bathrooms. Each evening the staff closed the tent flaps and placed a hot water bottle in the bed. In the morning, they opened the flaps to let sunshine and fresh air in. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and good. Entertainment was available every evening around a camp fire.

My tent was by itself, outside of the main section. I was a bit turned around the first day and there were no signs to direct me to the restaurant or registration desk. This is one thing that Siana might improve. Flashlights are needed to get around at night and they are provided in each tent.

Our group participated in an afternoon safari in the park when we arrived and a full day safari the next day. We saw a host of wide animals including lions who unabashedly mated in front of us, two sister lions stalking a wildebeest, cuddly cubs enjoying an afternnon nap, a cheetah, rhinos, buffalo, elephants, hippos, giraffes, etc. We also enjoyed a picnic lunch right on the savannah.

I participated in a Masai Village tour. This was a highlight for me. The village is not a theme park. it is the real thing. These are Masai who continue to live in the traditional way. The money collected from the entrance fees goes to community projects and education.

Warning- the road to Masai Mara is very bad. You might want to consider flying especially if you have back problems.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelingProf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

A permanent tented camp 30 minutes from the masai mara with plenty of open space, resident bush buck, mongoose, cute bush baby's and noisy tree hyraxes - take your ear plugs! Our driver was excellent, spending hours finding the animals we wanted to see and full of information - we spent days looking for leopard and finally saw three! We spent four days here which meant we had variety of different game drives including lunch and breakfast in the bush which was rather special. The food was great, but there was far too much of it for us! We'd like to see less plastic bottles used, a water purifier and jugs would be far better. The extras, nature walk and masai village unfortunately were not worth the money as they felt lacklustre and forced. We would still recomend the camp highly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.7 km away
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Ol-moran Tented Camp
#84 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
10.9 km away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#87 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
88 reviews
13.6 km away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#73 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Camp
Elangata Olerai Luxury Tented Ca...
#116 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
60 reviews
12.6 km away
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Ma...
#65 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
187 reviews
10.6 km away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#127 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siana Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siana Springs

Address: 41163 | Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: €211 - €357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siana Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Siana Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siana Springs Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Siana Springs Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing