We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible accommodation”
Review of Sanctuary Olonana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Olonana
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible accommodation”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at Sanctuary Olonana in November 2011 and it was the best of all the places we stayed (8 in all during our 14 day safari) - for its staff, location and setting on the river, the menus and meals and the accommodation. The overall hospitality and welcome one felt was amazing. We are just trying to figure out how to come back to this amazing santuary!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
77
113
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon. As all trips are planned by my wife, i was very curious whereabouts. The place amazed me very much after all. First, hippos welcomed us from the river. All staffs are very friendly. Tents are very facinating and relaxing. Foods are very good too. That was very nice hospitality. For game drive, we had a great learning drive about all animals, nature, and living people around Masai Mara thanks to a professional guide. It was very pleasant stay. I hope that ican go back again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Martens-Latem
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights with a group of friends (Latem - Belgium) in this marvellous place. Tents are very comfortable and decorated with good taste. Sleeping so close to hippo's is quite an experience. Overwhelming friendliness and sense of humor of the staff brought us immediately into the "african mood". The chef, insired by the Italian cuisine, serves tastfull and refined food. This restaurant is beyond everyone's expectation. Safari guides are highly qualified and spare no effort to guide you to the best spots. On our first day in the Mara we spotted 4 of the big 5. In Masai Mara nature is overwhelming and wildlife abundant. This is a place you have to see once in life.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We loved our stay at Olonana; I miss the sound of bellowing hippo! The food is great, the tents are wonderful, I hope I can go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank map54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Olonana. The first night we were in tent 6, but this was quite a walk from the main lodge, and my companion was having trouble walking, so the next day they moved us to tent 1. That was greatly appreciated.

The tents are huge, and sitting on the patio watching the hippos was quite entertaining. One afternoon we were sitting there listening to the hippos make their Snort -grunt-grunt-grunt dominance sounds, when (during a quiet period) my companion burped loudly. This set off the hippos for a round of Snort-grunt-grunt-grunts. lol

The food was quite good, and the staff worked hard to please the guests. Our game driver, Nelson, was excellent at spotting different game, including 2 elusive leopards. And back at the camp, the pool was both refreshing and relaxing. Joseph worked hard to keep us happy with our tent.

But the real highlight of our stay was going out for a walk in the bush with Richard, the local Masai village chief, and later that day visiting his village. During the walk down to the river, Richard pointed out so many things that the average person would just walk by, and in so doing, he also educated me about the Masai ways.

Then during our visit to the nearby Masai village, our understanding of the Masai people and their ways greatly increased. We started at the outside of the village enclosure with a group of women and one warrior singing us a song of greeting. Then we entered the village, and toured a house, before sitting with all the men in the tabernacle (men-only meeting room). A special provision was made for a female to be sitting there. A fire-making demonstration was given. A question and answer session followed, with both us and the Masai asking many questions. This was followed by a chance to buy souvenirs, which were picked out and then brought back to the tabernacle for serious bargaining about price. The price was a collective price, with only a certain percentage going to the person who made the object, and the village getting another percentage, etc. Fascinating!

The only drawback to this camp was the rocky road which had to be negotiated on each trip outside the camp, but I would certainly go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.2 km away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#33 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
300 reviews
8.5 km away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#26 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
100 reviews
19.4 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
499 reviews
38.7 km away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
336 reviews
20.5 km away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#15 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Olonana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Olonana

Property: Sanctuary Olonana
Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Olonana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Olonana, our award-winning tented camp situated on a private stretch of the Mara River, recently undergone a significant upgrade to the public areas of the lodge as well as a soft refurbishment to the tented rooms and pool area. The interior decor reflects a contemporary design using a combination of light earthy tones and the local Maasai women played an active part in the refurbishment using the same traditional technique used in their own houses to “mud” the interior walls in all of the main areas and curio shop. From the main viewing deck see and hear the family of noisy hippos who colonise the banks below the camp. Relax with a good book in the library, cool off in the pool or for an extra special treat, experience traditional African remedies and spa treatments in the mini-spa. Oversized Safari Tents – Built on the banks of the Mara River, the twelve canvas tents at Sanctuary Olonana are extremely comfortable and spacious. The ensuite tents all have two four-poster beds with floor to ceiling mosquito netting – making them perfect for families travelling with small children. Each of the private verandas overlook the river and offer the perfect spot where guests can relax and watch the resident hippos wallow in the water. There are also two honeymoon suites with each featuring outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary Olonana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Olonana Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sanctuary Olonana Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing