We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
105
31
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
31
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstream runningtasty drinksmaasai maraprivate tentbush dinnercomfortable tentspleasure of stayingturned downhot waterdining hallsmall riverthree nightsmorning and eveninglocal maasailions roaringgame drivesmain tent
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Four of us had a very unique and memorable experience at the beautiful Sekenani Camp. Lucho Ilkapur ("Kapur") the manager was welcoming and hospitable. Alex gave us personalized service and responded to our every whim. The food was FABULOUS and he served our dinner on the veranda under a full moon with the electrifying night sounds of Africa. Thank you Kapur & Alex!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The Sekenani Camp was part three of our stay in Kenya, when we visited the Maasai Mara. It was a long way to travel from Nairobi, but wow, was it worth it. What a stunning place. Everything about this place is amazing from their tented accommodation, the food, the service, the animals that visited and were able to feed, to their green, eco friendly policy throughout the camp, a refreshing change to see in Africa.
I wasn't very well when I arrived at Sekenani, but the staff couldn't do enough for me. Directed by manager Mr. Kapur, he has a real knowledge of how to look after you.
The food is amazing, prepared on site with vegetables from their garden and even more amazing when you hear the story of how their chef learnt everything he knows from a Jamie Oliver cookbook and the BBC's Good Food channel.
Also don't let the tents put you off, these are the most stunning tents you will ever stay in. They are in the trees with a beautiful comfy bed and bathroom.

You will see some great wildlife whilst you are there too, whether its the Genet Cat on your roof at night, the bats and birds that fly around the camp, the monkeys that come to visit throughout the day and investigate what you have that they can steal, to the beautiful black Bush Babies that visit whilst you are having dinner. A few days earlier before we arrived, a family of Elephants came out of the bush on to the lawn, how special would that have been to see. Their footprints where still there to see when we arrived.

This is truly a great place to stop whilst on the Massai Mara.

Room Tip: Lock your tent up, or the monkeys will be having a good look around!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Sekanani is an amazing camp. The forest location is great - the view from the tent is great. They have great food as well. I love the hanging walkway to get from the main camp to the trents. The only downside to the camp is the location, which serves a lot of tourist traffic. It takes a while to get into and out of the park.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheetahtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We loved our stay at Sekanani, especially the layout of the tent that made you feel like you are amongst the trees, with a vista over the stream nearby. The service, meals and settting were also great, including the dinig area, campfire in teh open air, walkway and paths to the tents, and beign away form it all!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bswift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The manager of Sekenani was extremely warm and friendly which made everyone feel welcome. I felt a part of their family. The room was amazing, bubble bath during a huge rain storm, while sipping wine and watching the monkeys. The five star candle light dinner served by a gentlemen in a tuxedo was fabulous. The strange noise during the night ending up being a cape buffalo breathing hard and munching out. The nocturnal animals was an added treat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews