We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in need of upgrade but OK for 1 or 2 nights as part of a tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #135 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in need of upgrade but OK for 1 or 2 nights as part of a tour”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had some misgivings about staying here after completing an overland trip and before starting another one. From the rear gate, the parking lot and surrounding buildings looked almost abandoned. The front part of the hotel though—including lobby, patio, pool—was perfectly pleasant.

The rooms were spacious and clean, the vibe (unintentionally?) 70s retro. The balcony is great for hanging laundry! The door locks were dodgy and the toilet flush required some DIY jerry-rigging. Luckily, our room on the 5th floor had great water pressure; no problem with the hot water either. Someone did tell us to request a room away from the noisy lift...very good tip.

The buffet breakfast was so-so (The Heron Hotel a couple of buildings down had a slightly better spread). However, the patio restaurant had inexpensive café fare, no complaints there.

The hotels is pleasantly located in a quiet neighborhood; downtown Nairobi is a pleasant 20-minute walk downhill.

Room Tip: The lift made a loud, grinding noise. If you're sensitive to this, book a room farther from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadabout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
17
51
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Most people stay here because it is the starting hotel for several overland companies - it is probably about time these companies looked for another locally run hotel in the area.

We stayed there twice- one night either end of our tour.

The first room we had was included in the tour. The room was pleasant- clean and a king sized bed. However, we had no hot water and had to wait an hour for the maintenance man to turn it on.

On our return the hotel staff could not find our booking, despite me checking with them two weeks previously that they had it. Luckily we had a copy of the confirmation email. It took an hour for us to be given a room.

Our second room was OK- clean, smaller than the first room with no coffee table/ armchair, and our bed was two singles pushed together. Hot water worked fine this time, and we had a very good, fast wifi connection in the room.

On the second visit we had to pay $100 for the room as it was not included in the tour, but I would not describe this as good value. The hotel needs a lot of money invested in rennovations, although the bar and pool areas are fine.

On the morning we were leaving we received a phonecall saying we had not paid for the room - we informed them we had paid when we booked. On checkout we were once again asked to pay and had to wait for the accounts department to find our payment. This was frustrating as we were on our way to the airport and could have done without the delay. Make sure you have the confirmation paperwork with you.

Breakfast buffet was adequate - fruit, bread/toast, cereal, selection of hot dishes and jucie/tea/coffee.
Dinner buffet was OK but limited choice and not great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Placestovisit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here at the start of a two week tour of Kenya and Tanzania. We decided to stay here as this was the starting point of the hotel, however, we have since discovered from one of the girls on our trip that the Heron Hotel down the road is much better and cheaper! We weren't impressed by the broken tiles in the bathroom and the cold shower (if you could call it that - it was more a trickle). However, we weren't in the hotel for long periods so had the rooms been cheaper (we paid £70 a night for a double) we wouldn't have minded it being run down so much! But for that money you would get a much better hotel in England or Europe. The bar was good fun and the terrace was a great place to have a few beers...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here as it was a starting point hotel for an overland safari trip. The lobby is really nice with a bar (order a Tusker beer), outdoor patio and pool. The food is decent, but you may be waiting a while to get it. The rooms are basic and a little dated but they do the trick. I've read a lot of complaints of toilets not flushing...it's true that they don't always flush, but if you're staying there as part of an overland trip, get used to it! On a 16 day tour of East Africa, I think I encountered 4 or 5 toilets that flushed reliably.
If you stay on the first, second or third floor, you have to flip a switch to turn on the hot water. If you are staying on the 4th or 5th floor, you'll have to go to the front desk and ask them to turn your water on (it took a friend of ours 90 minutes for this to happen). Either way, there's not much water pressure.
You can upgrade to different hotels in the area, but a lot of them are European/North American chains. Just stay here and support a local company.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

You are probably looking to stay here ahead of a tour or other event - otherwise if budget isn't your constraint go elsewhere.

Very basic, didn't seem very secure, shower was bad, beds rickety and old.... After a week on Safari and sleeping in tents this place felt like a palace! So it's really just a matter of perspective. ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Reata Serviced Apartments
#38 of 164 in Nairobi
78 reviews
Hadassah Hotel
#119 of 164 in Nairobi
15 reviews
Kenya Comfort Suites
#62 of 164 in Nairobi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
475 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Concord Hotel & Suites
#30 of 164 in Nairobi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing