We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
171
15
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
15
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suspension bridge game drives nairobi national park terrace room stable room converted stables driver george kenyan adventure homemade lemonade recycled glass australian couple glass blowing extra days black rhino cape buffalo animal sightings arrived late in the night
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Hate to write a great review of this AMAZING PLACE, because it is a SECRET that I would like to keep. Starting with exceptional chef's veg & fruit gardens, to brilliant food, to rooms that don't miss a thing to really embrace you, to BEYOND reproach staff and delightful engaging owners, to really lovely nearby places to visit (glassworks, master craft metalworks, animal orphanage, Sheldrick's, Karen Blixen's, Karen town), to the views and wildlife. Just couldn't do much better for a private home Kenyan visit. Have lovely low key conference spaces. Safe room for kids to run around.

Room Tip: Joanna has exceptional taste, the stable rooms are lovely for two, the suites & tents are larger.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Nenegirl,

We are glad that you have divulged our little secret! Thank you for taking the time to write this entertaining review.
I will pass on your comments to our wonderful staff as well.
One day you will have to return to our Kenyan 'home' - we would love to welcome you back here.
Asante sana and kwaheri!
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at Ololo Lodge for two days before going onto the Masai Mara.

All staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I cannot recommend Ololo Lodge high enough, food was magnificent; our accommodation superb; everything about our experience at Ololo Lodge was phenomenal. You truly have to experience this gem yourself, I assure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Janene,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your lovely remarks to all the team here at Ololo.
Hope you enjoyed the Maasai Mara as much as us ....and please if you are back again in this neck of the woods we would love to welcome you back a second time.
Thank you for taking time to write such a delightful review!

All the best,
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a wonderful venue to recuperate after long journeys. I came from 10 days in Madagascar and my sister from a sleepless flight from UK. Within hours we were fed nurtured, cleaned and Restored to Heath and vitality. Joanna and Craig were on hand to organise our every need. The lovely food from the organic garden, pool, comfy room all had us full of energy. And we needed it as Ernest showed us every inch of the reserve and all the wonderful animals. The Sheldrick orphanage introduced us to our adopted baby elephant Ngalai, and the giraffe centre had us nuzzling giraffes. It would be so easy to hop down to Nairobi for a few days and go no further to see the wildlife. In fact it's on the agenda for future visits. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieHLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed in the stable, it was a charming but a bit cramped for two. The food was great and the service impeccable. but the best was the game drive - amazing to see all those animals with the backdrop of Nairobi. We saw as many animals (and even more) than we have seen on a game drive in the Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tuckerlemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear tuckerlemmo,
Thank you for this kind review. The Nairobi National Park is such a gem and all the more unique being so close to a bustling capital city.
The stable rooms were the original and authentic horse stables on the Ololo farm and as a result are priced accordingly because of their size. Size-wise they do vary a little however, and each stable is appointed differently.
Very glad you enjoyed our service and food and will pass these comments on to the Ololo team. And glad the animals came up trumps for you before departing Kenya!
All the best,
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The Ololo Lodge is absolutely amazing!! It was our first time in Kenya and we stayed there for three nights. The food is so fresh and delicious (most ingredients from their gardens/chickens), the staff are incredible and like a big family, the service is excellent, and the property is breath taking. The stable room we stayed in was clean, beautifully decorated, and cozy.

My boyfriend proposed to me while on a game drive in the Nairobi National Park and it was the first engagement for the lodge. Ernest was our guide the whole time we were there and we couldn't have been luckier, he is so knowledgeable about all the animals and birds and he was able to capture the proposal for us. The staff, Joanna, and Craig were so excited for us. They really went above and beyond to make our trip special and celebrate our engagement. I could not recommend this place more. I wish we could have our wedding there!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TessH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

HI Tess,
We were so thrilled to have your marriage proposal done at Ololo - well..... in the Nairobi National Park - very close! It was such a lovely thing to hear Ernest ringing us with the news! Congratulations again and also thank you for writing such a kind review. We would love to welcome you both back again another time.
All the best Joanna, Craig, Ernest and all the crew at Ololo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews