We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our safari!”
Review of Ololo Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ololo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017

True Africa recommended this Ololo Lodge for our stay in Nairobi at the start of our safari in Kenya and Tanzania. It is a beautiful setting in Nairobi National Park and the setting was matched by the beauty of the lodge and grounds. The staff was wonderful as was the food. We had drives in the National Park and saw way more wildlife than expected. Also convenient for Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and Wilson Airport. Great recommendation by True Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahdr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Sarah,
Troy from True Africa is a fellow Australian and of course he recommends our lodge!!
Thank you for your kind feedback about Ololo. I will pass on your comments to our terrific team in the kitchen who are just reeling from a very exhausting 3 - day wedding event!!
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here - we are a bit like one big family at Ololo.
We would love to welcome you back again if you return to Kenya.
Asante sana.
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Hate to write a great review of this AMAZING PLACE, because it is a SECRET that I would like to keep. Starting with exceptional chef's veg & fruit gardens, to brilliant food, to rooms that don't miss a thing to really embrace you, to BEYOND reproach staff and delightful engaging owners, to really lovely nearby places to visit (glassworks, master craft metalworks, animal orphanage, Sheldrick's, Karen Blixen's, Karen town), to the views and wildlife. Just couldn't do much better for a private home Kenyan visit. Have lovely low key conference spaces. Safe room for kids to run around.

Room Tip: Joanna has exceptional taste, the stable rooms are lovely for two, the suites & tents are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nenegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Nenegirl,

We are glad that you have divulged our little secret! Thank you for taking the time to write this entertaining review.
I will pass on your comments to our wonderful staff as well.
One day you will have to return to our Kenyan 'home' - we would love to welcome you back here.
Asante sana and kwaheri!
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at Ololo Lodge for two days before going onto the Masai Mara.

All staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I cannot recommend Ololo Lodge high enough, food was magnificent; our accommodation superb; everything about our experience at Ololo Lodge was phenomenal. You truly have to experience this gem yourself, I assure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Janene,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your lovely remarks to all the team here at Ololo.
Hope you enjoyed the Maasai Mara as much as us ....and please if you are back again in this neck of the woods we would love to welcome you back a second time.
Thank you for taking time to write such a delightful review!

All the best,
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What a wonderful venue to recuperate after long journeys. I came from 10 days in Madagascar and my sister from a sleepless flight from UK. Within hours we were fed nurtured, cleaned and Restored to Heath and vitality. Joanna and Craig were on hand to organise our every need. The lovely food from the organic garden, pool, comfy room all had us full of energy. And we needed it as Ernest showed us every inch of the reserve and all the wonderful animals. The Sheldrick orphanage introduced us to our adopted baby elephant Ngalai, and the giraffe centre had us nuzzling giraffes. It would be so easy to hop down to Nairobi for a few days and go no further to see the wildlife. In fact it's on the agenda for future visits. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieHLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed in the stable, it was a charming but a bit cramped for two. The food was great and the service impeccable. but the best was the game drive - amazing to see all those animals with the backdrop of Nairobi. We saw as many animals (and even more) than we have seen on a game drive in the Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tuckerlemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear tuckerlemmo,
Thank you for this kind review. The Nairobi National Park is such a gem and all the more unique being so close to a bustling capital city.
The stable rooms were the original and authentic horse stables on the Ololo farm and as a result are priced accordingly because of their size. Size-wise they do vary a little however, and each stable is appointed differently.
Very glad you enjoyed our service and food and will pass these comments on to the Ololo team. And glad the animals came up trumps for you before departing Kenya!
All the best,
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
15.1 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
544 reviews
11 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,312 reviews
7.1 km away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Southern Sun Mayfair Nairobi
13.3 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7 km away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#21 of 169 in Nairobi
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ololo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ololo Safari Lodge

Address: Nairobi National Park | P.O. Box 15273, Nairobi, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: €379 - €431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ololo Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ololo Lodge is a 12 room Safari Lodge on the edge of Nairobi National Park (the only park within a City). Perfect for Nairobi layovers, daytime visits, and airport transfers as well as wildlife enthusiasts, Small private conferences, functions, families and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ololo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing