We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
512
358
60
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
358
60
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvery nice hotelroom servicelovely poolafrican artlong flightbreakfast buffetan oasisrooms are comfortablecentral locationbusy citysafari tripgift shopmain restaurantmasai maramaghrebbusinesssecurity
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I had been to the Serena Hotel about 10 years ago and so was pleased when presented with the chance to stay there again - the hotel is still very nice, but in need of updating, which they are undertaking.

The breakfast buffet is amazing, but I recommend that you get a room rate with breakfast included since it is very expensive. Staff is very attentive and the food is very good, both at breakfast and at dinner.

One issue with the Serena is it's placement in downtown Nairobi - you can't just walk over to restaurants in the area, there aren't many. The hotel is very well organized in as much as they will call to make reservations at local restaurants, and you can take one of their authorized taxis. They also give you a card so you can call them when you need the taxi to bring you back to the hotel. The problem is that the fee goes up depending on the kind of car they send (seriously). When we questioned why our fare back to the hotel was more than the fare to the restaurant, we were told that it was because the car that picked us up was a Mercedes. But we hadn't asked for a Mercedes, so it was an unpleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JGL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

i stayed in Serena for one night and i enjoyed their excellent services.staffs of the hotel are friendly and welcoming.The hotel food is tasty.Hotel rooms are specious and pool area of the hotel is cool

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Native201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip.

The hotel is very friendly and a good place to hold meetings in a relaxing setting. It’s very popular with locals as a place to meet after work and I hope that the renovation and extension will include more public spaces or it could be rather over busy.

My room was large and comfortable, although the bed was rather hard, but huge for just one.

All the food we had, from bar snacks to the main restaurant was good, (in particular the rack of lamb) and the breakfast selection was varied with eggs cooked to order

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.
We are most delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager| Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Arrived late, left early, but managed a few drinks and breakfast. Well appointed rooms, finished with loads of African ‘memorabilia’, but nice nonetheless. Nice staff from what we saw of them, bar was well used by locals, great atmosphere

Room Tip: The bar had a Samba band on when we stayed, not a problem for us, but check when you arrive if there’s a band on as they do go on late
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, following your recent stay.
We are delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction.Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.

Regards,
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager| Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

I stay at the Serena several times a year and it’s always an enjoyable experience. After arriving late night in Nairobi I always look forward to getting in to bed at the Serena. Some of the rooms are better than others but all are a good size. Some of the larger rooms are especially good for lounging!

Staff are always friendly, the pool area is always nice to hang out and the food is always tasty. It is in need of refurbishment though, which at the time of writing is underway (and has been for about a year). I think once this is complete it will be a really nice place to stay - as the old rooms are starting to look a little worn around the edges now.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank RichardMPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, following your recent stay as well as your continued patronage. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to know that our efforts to meet our guests needs and expectations are met. In spite of the refurbishment, we'd like to that you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Daniel Kang'u
General Manager| Nairobi Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews