We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Nairobi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakwood Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jamiat Hotel(Nairobi)
View Hotel
Hilton Nairobi(Nairobi)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
319
457
229
76
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
457
229
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantthe club loungeterrace restaurantpool barroom servicecentral locationpool sidebusiness triprooms are nicebreakfast buffet isenjoyed my staymasai maraihgsecuritysafariconciergegym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
873 - 878 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we started our safari here and was an excellent place to relax after the long flight from Alabama.
could not have asked for more in a hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlabamaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Intercontinental has average rooms (passable but not super-comfortable). Lighting in the rooms was really poor. Wifi and internet rates were exorbitant. ATM on premises as well as a couple of really overpriced shops. I felt safe walking around the surrounding Central Business District during the day although the area is mostly government offices with nothing in terms of restaurants or shops around. Taxis can be arranged to nearby attractions but for a premium price (but safer).

Check-in was incredibly slow both times (and when arriving in the middle of the night after flying 20 hours or after riding hours on bumpy roads, it wasn't exactly pleasing to wait so long to get to our rooms). Service was generally slow throughout the restaurant, baggage transfer and so forth. The main Terrace Restaurant actually had decent food and there's a pretty nice pool area to just hang out around. All in all, unless you're there on business, you're better off staying in one of the nicer suburbs closer to key Nairobi attractions and with more amenities close by.

Room Tip: Area around the hotel remains rather quiet overall, but when I had a room facing towards the street, very loud music came from the restaurant next door.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Like all chain hotels, Intercontinental offers impersonal hospitality, leaving no enduring impressions afterwards. The rooms facing the front are marginally better kept than those facing the back. Since it is in a busy part of the city, the nights may not be restful if you have got a room on the lower floors. The hotel swimming pool is actually an over-sized bath-tub, the surrounding lounge and patios are crowded in the evenings and on weekends. Quality of hotel staff below expectations per five star standards.
The hotel coffee shop serves over-priced brunches on weekends. The selection is extensive and includes local delicacies. The Indian restaurant, Bandhini, does serve good Indian food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed feedback, the time you spent sharing your recent experience and apologize for not having delivered consistently an up to your expectation in all areas.
We are happy to hear that our Indian Restaurant "Bandhini" and the variety of our buffets exceeded your expectation.
Personalizing our services on all levels is a key focus and we will certainly share your encouraging comments with our employees.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in Nairobi in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Intercontinental in April 2011 and was pleasantly surprised by the service. it was clean and though dining in the hotel was expensive, the food quality was good. Though there was nothing special about the rooms they were of decent size and fairly comfortable. The presence of a casino is definitely a big plus in a city where you are advised not to venture out in the night alone. The pool side hasa nice ambience

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0am_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were finishing our African safari (Kenya and Tanzania) and this was our last night before flying home. Although the hotel is very secure (scanners upon entering the hotel) and the rooms are spacious and amenity-filled, the staff is less than amenable. When I tried to sign up for computer time at the business center, the attendant completely fouled up the transaction (as we discovered upon checkout, when we had been mistakenly charged for double the time I used). The attendant was also very unfriendly. On the other hand, breakfast was amazingly good: a huge variety of all food groups, even a good selection of packaged yogurts. We had dinner at the Indian restaurant there, which was also good. Rooms are large and also had A/C, which is sometimes rare in Kenya. You actually never need it, though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_10, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,

we are happy to hear that your recent overall experience while staying at our hotel was pleasant.
We adressed your feedback on our Business Service Center to the team in order to review the current procedures and provide more consistent service in the future. We truly apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope you enjoyed your Safari through Kenia and Tanzania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews