We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodmere Serviced Apartments(Nairobi)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$550
US$476
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
23
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgated communitygiraffe centrenairobi national parkkiberaronnyvioletprivacymatatukenyawifidriverairportsafari
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for the week while exploring Nairobi. An awesome family that make you feel right at home instantly. The rooms were spacious and quiet for sleeping. You should definitely consider this spot when staying in Nairobi! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you so much for bringing warmth and laughter into our home. We enjoyed your company and the children could not get enough of the fun and games. We hope we shall see you again, cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Serah – we so enjoyed our time with you – and the opportunity to meet your extended family, friends and other guests. A much more rewarding experience than staying in a hotel!

We stayed at Mdawida Homestay for several weeks while on a one-month visit to Kenya. Mdawida is in a gated community of family homes – so it is quiet, and very safe and secure. The location means that you avoid the traffic congestion of the central city and you are conveniently close to the popular tourist destinations – the Nairobi National Park, the Elephant orphanage, the Giraffe centre, Bomas and the Karen Blixen house. We used a mix of matatu, bus and taxi to travel around Nairobi. Serah will organise a reliable taxi driver whenever you need a taxi. A matatu route nearby takes you directly into the central city if you want to be more adventurous.(St Marys no 15).

Serah can advise you about anything you need to know, and will help you plan and organise activities and tours. For us, this took a lot of the stress away from making arrangements. It was really appreciated for when we were not familiar or a little uncertain about the local situation.

The studio flat was affordable, comfortable and convenient, with excellent wifi. It was lovely to come back in the evenings to generous and very tasty meals.

Thanks Serah, Ronnie and Steve (and Agnes) for making our time in Nairobi so special.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gillr364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

We are so grateful to have met you. We enjoyed having you here and loved having our little chats about life, your experiences and so much more. If ever you are in Kenya again, you have a family now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Sara the owner had problem with Agoda booking system, We had booed two rooms, she only had one! She gave us whole nearby house with 4 bedrooms . All to our selves. without charging anything extra.
It is a beautiful house, with all appliances in kitchen. Very very clean.
Highly secured. quite neighborhood. Her arrangements for local sight seeing are very economical. Davis who took us around, is the man. Very polite and safe driver.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nalin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for being so understanding, I appreciated your patience as we sorted everything out. When in Nairobi please stay with us again, we would be honored to host you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We spent one night before we headed out on our overland tour. Sarah (owner) had arranged our airport pickup so we didn't had to worry at all. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable all we were looking forward to after a long flight. Clean bathroom, fully equipped kitchen.

This property is very close to the National park's gate we could easily cover the elephant orphanage and Giraffe centre. The owners also arranged for the same! The property is within a safe gated community

  • Stayed: July 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We enjoyed having you here with us, it would be a pleasure to host you again. I hope you enjoyed your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The host(ess) kept on calling us and updating us on the arrangements they had for us. They were kind enough to pick my family from Otiende shopping centre. They ushered us in with lots of welcoming smiles. very friendly people. The rooms were clean, neat and spacious. My kids also found other kids to play with. Lots of cartoons and toys for my kids. The food was nicely cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Use the lower rooms if you have kids and you do not want to watch over them every second.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aldadenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews