We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Friendly Home Base in Nairobi.”
Review of Mdawida Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mdawida Homestay
Ranked #15 of 290 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My husband and I booked this place for the few days we had before heading off on safari in East Africa.
We were very happy with the accommodations and the staff. While we didn't stay in the main house, the owner, Serah put us up in a house next door, our room was HUGE really HUGE! With a nice balcony that looked out over the gated community. We had a lovely large shower and a simple yet filling breakfast every day.
Serah also arranged for airport pick up and rides to and from activities each day with the best driver in Kenya, Wilfred whom we came to view as a dear friend.
One of the best mornings we had was spent chatting with Serah who is intelligent and personable, a perfect host.
Maxie, our second hostess was attentive but allowed for plenty of privacy. We would stay in this place again, as it's very convenient to many attractions close to that side of town (Nairobi traffic is notorious) including the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, the new Galleria (with excellent currency exchange, best rate we found, and a SUPER new super market)! There are not a lot of extras you may find in a fancy hotel, (gym/bar etc) but we were super comfortable, and felt incredibly safe. Highly recommend! OH PS the Wifi was very good!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redmango43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for this amazing review. I did enjoy our chat and I am very happy the service was great. A bar would be a great idea. I would love to host you again when you come back. I can probably work on a bar, but I am hopeless in that department.

Again thank you so much, really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for the week while exploring Nairobi. An awesome family that make you feel right at home instantly. The rooms were spacious and quiet for sleeping. You should definitely consider this spot when staying in Nairobi! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Brodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you so much for bringing warmth and laughter into our home. We enjoyed your company and the children could not get enough of the fun and games. We hope we shall see you again, cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Serah – we so enjoyed our time with you – and the opportunity to meet your extended family, friends and other guests. A much more rewarding experience than staying in a hotel!

We stayed at Mdawida Homestay for several weeks while on a one-month visit to Kenya. Mdawida is in a gated community of family homes – so it is quiet, and very safe and secure. The location means that you avoid the traffic congestion of the central city and you are conveniently close to the popular tourist destinations – the Nairobi National Park, the Elephant orphanage, the Giraffe centre, Bomas and the Karen Blixen house. We used a mix of matatu, bus and taxi to travel around Nairobi. Serah will organise a reliable taxi driver whenever you need a taxi. A matatu route nearby takes you directly into the central city if you want to be more adventurous.(St Marys no 15).

Serah can advise you about anything you need to know, and will help you plan and organise activities and tours. For us, this took a lot of the stress away from making arrangements. It was really appreciated for when we were not familiar or a little uncertain about the local situation.

The studio flat was affordable, comfortable and convenient, with excellent wifi. It was lovely to come back in the evenings to generous and very tasty meals.

Thanks Serah, Ronnie and Steve (and Agnes) for making our time in Nairobi so special.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gillr364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

We are so grateful to have met you. We enjoyed having you here and loved having our little chats about life, your experiences and so much more. If ever you are in Kenya again, you have a family now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Sara the owner had problem with Agoda booking system, We had booed two rooms, she only had one! She gave us whole nearby house with 4 bedrooms . All to our selves. without charging anything extra.
It is a beautiful house, with all appliances in kitchen. Very very clean.
Highly secured. quite neighborhood. Her arrangements for local sight seeing are very economical. Davis who took us around, is the man. Very polite and safe driver.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nalin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for being so understanding, I appreciated your patience as we sorted everything out. When in Nairobi please stay with us again, we would be honored to host you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We spent one night before we headed out on our overland tour. Sarah (owner) had arranged our airport pickup so we didn't had to worry at all. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable all we were looking forward to after a long flight. Clean bathroom, fully equipped kitchen.

This property is very close to the National park's gate we could easily cover the elephant orphanage and Giraffe centre. The owners also arranged for the same! The property is within a safe gated community

  • Stayed: July 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We enjoyed having you here with us, it would be a pleasure to host you again. I hope you enjoyed your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#13 of 290 in Nairobi
95 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#6 of 290 in Nairobi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 290 in Nairobi
489 reviews
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 290 in Nairobi
220 reviews
Safari Homestay
#2 of 7 in Syokimau
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mdawida Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mdawida Homestay

Address: Sun Valley Estate, Phase 1, House 135, Police Dog Unit Road | off Kungu Karumba Road, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: €22 - €44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mdawida Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! A homestay is a form of tourism and/or study abroad program that allows the visitor to rent a room from a local family to better learn the local lifestyle as well as improve their language ability. Our home stay is warm and welcome to people who want to have a bit of culture, home cooked African meals and get to know about Kenya from real Kenyans. Here you meet people from every corner of the world and the experience is amazing. We have housing and homestay options for singles, couples, groups, volunteers, students and travelers you name it, we have a place for you. Our homestay offers a great location to all that Nairobi has to offer, as well as a superb base for heading out on your travels around Kenya. Many of Kenya's highlights are just a short drive away from our home. Is this your thing? We are waiting for you, come join!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mdawida Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing