We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gated community giraffe centre nairobi national park kibera ronny violet privacy matatu kenya wifi driver airport safari
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We spent one night before we headed out on our overland tour. Sarah (owner) had arranged our airport pickup so we didn't had to worry at all. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable all we were looking forward to after a long flight. Clean bathroom, fully equipped kitchen.

This property is very close to the National park's gate we could easily cover the elephant orphanage and Giraffe centre. The owners also arranged for the same! The property is within a safe gated community

  • Stayed: July 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajashreeM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We enjoyed having you here with us, it would be a pleasure to host you again. I hope you enjoyed your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The host(ess) kept on calling us and updating us on the arrangements they had for us. They were kind enough to pick my family from Otiende shopping centre. They ushered us in with lots of welcoming smiles. very friendly people. The rooms were clean, neat and spacious. My kids also found other kids to play with. Lots of cartoons and toys for my kids. The food was nicely cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Use the lower rooms if you have kids and you do not want to watch over them every second.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aldadenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

There is nothing this lovely couple cannot do for you. They sorted me out with a great trip to the Maasai Mara. From arriving, you feel like part of the family. I loved it so much, I came back to stay for one more night before leaving Kenya. The family support community schemes in Kibera that was worthy of support.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erinna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Before going into Tanzania, we stayed in the Homestay for a few days. The room was good, it had a good bed with mosquito net and a nice warm shower. We also spent some time in the living room, where we had stable WiFi. The meals were served here too. We really enjoyed having dinner: trying some different local dishes.

The family was very helpfull in arranging several things for us (taxi's/transfers) and suggested some activities to do on our own. They also offer different excursions, but we didn't do that.

We also appreciated the flexibility. After we could not get our bus to Tanzania, we were more than welcome for another night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

Hi Sanne
It was great having you guys here. I hope you enjoyed your adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Just came home from another great three weeks in Kenya at Mdawida Homestay and Wongonyi village. Treated like family at both locations. Improvements noted both in the Homestay and the village from my visit five years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

It was a great joy to have you back. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews