We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Clean Comfortable”
Review of Mdawida Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mdawida Homestay
Ranked #13 of 296 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Sara the owner had problem with Agoda booking system, We had booed two rooms, she only had one! She gave us whole nearby house with 4 bedrooms . All to our selves. without charging anything extra.
It is a beautiful house, with all appliances in kitchen. Very very clean.
Highly secured. quite neighborhood. Her arrangements for local sight seeing are very economical. Davis who took us around, is the man. Very polite and safe driver.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nalin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for being so understanding, I appreciated your patience as we sorted everything out. When in Nairobi please stay with us again, we would be honored to host you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We spent one night before we headed out on our overland tour. Sarah (owner) had arranged our airport pickup so we didn't had to worry at all. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable all we were looking forward to after a long flight. Clean bathroom, fully equipped kitchen.

This property is very close to the National park's gate we could easily cover the elephant orphanage and Giraffe centre. The owners also arranged for the same! The property is within a safe gated community

  • Stayed: July 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We enjoyed having you here with us, it would be a pleasure to host you again. I hope you enjoyed your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The host(ess) kept on calling us and updating us on the arrangements they had for us. They were kind enough to pick my family from Otiende shopping centre. They ushered us in with lots of welcoming smiles. very friendly people. The rooms were clean, neat and spacious. My kids also found other kids to play with. Lots of cartoons and toys for my kids. The food was nicely cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Use the lower rooms if you have kids and you do not want to watch over them every second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aldadenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

There is nothing this lovely couple cannot do for you. They sorted me out with a great trip to the Maasai Mara. From arriving, you feel like part of the family. I loved it so much, I came back to stay for one more night before leaving Kenya. The family support community schemes in Kibera that was worthy of support.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janeff189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Before going into Tanzania, we stayed in the Homestay for a few days. The room was good, it had a good bed with mosquito net and a nice warm shower. We also spent some time in the living room, where we had stable WiFi. The meals were served here too. We really enjoyed having dinner: trying some different local dishes.

The family was very helpfull in arranging several things for us (taxi's/transfers) and suggested some activities to do on our own. They also offer different excursions, but we didn't do that.

We also appreciated the flexibility. After we could not get our bus to Tanzania, we were more than welcome for another night.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerahMucha, Owner at Mdawida Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015

Hi Sanne
It was great having you guys here. I hope you enjoyed your adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#14 of 296 in Nairobi
96 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#6 of 296 in Nairobi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glory Palace Hotel
#46 of 296 in Nairobi
1 reviews
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 296 in Nairobi
493 reviews
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 296 in Nairobi
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mdawida Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mdawida Homestay

Address: Sun Valley Estate, Phase 1, House 135, Police Dog Unit Road | off Kungu Karumba Road, Nairobi 00517, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range: €19 - €37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mdawida Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! A homestay is a form of tourism and/or study abroad program that allows the visitor to rent a room from a local family to better learn the local lifestyle as well as improve their language ability. Our home stay is warm and welcome to people who want to have a bit of culture, home cooked African meals and get to know about Kenya from real Kenyans. Here you meet people from every corner of the world and the experience is amazing. We have housing and homestay options for singles, couples, groups, volunteers, students and travelers you name it, we have a place for you. Our homestay offers a great location to all that Nairobi has to offer, as well as a superb base for heading out on your travels around Kenya. Many of Kenya's highlights are just a short drive away from our home. Is this your thing? We are waiting for you, come join!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mdawida Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing