We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bathrooms, good breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)
Ranked #152 of 296 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed for one night at the YMCA Nairobi after flying in on a Friday night. I desperately needed to get in touch with a friend, and was relying on the internet, as I had no phone yet, but their internet was down (and continued to be for the length of my stay). However the staff was helpful and eventually I got in touch with my friend and told him I arrived safely.

I got a single with a shared bathroom for 1500 Ksh. The toilets were pretty disgusting; the light didn't work and the toilet didn't flush, but the shower rooms were nicer (at least the light worked) with good pressure and delightfully hot water.

Breakfast was good - but anytime I eat anything other than bread and blueband for breakfast I get excited, so my standards may be low. Anyway, it was cold cereal or porridge, lots of fruit, tea, eggs and sausages. The fruit was fresh and delicious.

For the price, it was a good stay, but I can't help but think there would be better places to stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: I recommend one with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbyrdCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Ilived and worked here as a VSO in 1967/8.
I was so thrilled to return. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Never once did I feel anyone was taking advantage of me financially. All were trying hard make my stay just what I wanted. Asd usual I found some fascinating people staying there and had some unique conversations with discerning peoplke who woul;dnt dream of wsting money on a rather superficial "glamour hotel" . Everything here was peacefdul;e, simple ,local and wholesome. Only the room decor and furniture (which was just the same as 1967 but with the wear and tear 44 years brings. I wish I had time to volunteer and decorate each room one at a time!

Well done YMCA Wewll done Kenya -I am so proud of you! See the real Nairobi stay at YMCA Centraql!

Room Tip: De luixe rooms have a bit more room abd are still very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed longer than intended due to sickness, but found the Y to be adequate for this because of its location. It's 5 minutes walk from the centre of Nairobi, in a very safe area where you can also walk to the Arboretum to see beautiful trees and plants and do some altitude training. Food at the Y is delicious, good value and very popular during the week. If you stay on Sunday, be mindful of the fact that there are four churches that meet within the compound, four, seriously! Staff are professional, kind and friendly. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Toilets and Showers were in good condition, so I chose the non-deluxe rooms with shared facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

this hostel is have a perfect location.

The room is OK - be prepared for low african standard (this is a hostel, and I rated it as a hostel).
old furnitures, baathrooms are small (some rooms have problems with hot water)

The best part is the garden restaurant. Where you can take good meal for 4 USD, or just a cup of tea and meet other travelers.

Smiling staff !
Safe place !
Fair taxi-service !
Walking distance to city center - (even at nights...... if you are a small group)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Good environment and nice crew. Rooms need new furniture, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are OK. Good breakfast is included in the fare.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Purdy Arms
#1 of 4 in Karen
84 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Nairobi (Central Branch)

Address: State House Rd, Nairobi 30330, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing