We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
3
9
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
9
10
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Ilived and worked here as a VSO in 1967/8.
I was so thrilled to return. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Never once did I feel anyone was taking advantage of me financially. All were trying hard make my stay just what I wanted. Asd usual I found some fascinating people staying there and had some unique conversations with discerning peoplke who woul;dnt dream of wsting money on a rather superficial "glamour hotel" . Everything here was peacefdul;e, simple ,local and wholesome. Only the room decor and furniture (which was just the same as 1967 but with the wear and tear 44 years brings. I wish I had time to volunteer and decorate each room one at a time!

Well done YMCA Wewll done Kenya -I am so proud of you! See the real Nairobi stay at YMCA Centraql!

Room Tip: De luixe rooms have a bit more room abd are still very cheap.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed longer than intended due to sickness, but found the Y to be adequate for this because of its location. It's 5 minutes walk from the centre of Nairobi, in a very safe area where you can also walk to the Arboretum to see beautiful trees and plants and do some altitude training. Food at the Y is delicious, good value and very popular during the week. If you stay on Sunday, be mindful of the fact that there are four churches that meet within the compound, four, seriously! Staff are professional, kind and friendly. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Toilets and Showers were in good condition, so I chose the non-deluxe rooms with shared facilities and saved 1000/night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

this hostel is have a perfect location.

The room is OK - be prepared for low african standard (this is a hostel, and I rated it as a hostel).
old furnitures, baathrooms are small (some rooms have problems with hot water)

The best part is the garden restaurant. Where you can take good meal for 4 USD, or just a cup of tea and meet other travelers.

Smiling staff !
Safe place !
Fair taxi-service !
Walking distance to city center - (even at nights...... if you are a small group)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Good environment and nice crew. Rooms need new furniture, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are OK. Good breakfast is included in the fare.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

YMCA offers a reliable hostel to a budget traveler even in Nairobi. You can feel at home at a restaurant, an internet cafe, a kiosk, a swimming room, a barber and a conference room. Protected by a guard, it locates next to the University of Nairobi and in a walking distance (10-15 minutes) from the city center. However, you may need a mosquito repellent both in a room and at a shared shower room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Terry75690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews