We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
44
34
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
34
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool the cottages donkey cart forest walk feeding the chickens colobus monkeys peaceful lodge rough road perfect escape tilapia two nights naivasha fireplace milking longonot animals charles
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We stayed two nights Friday and Saturday and were the only guests Friday night. The location is amazing, peaceful and beautiful. Large rooms (actually detached cottages) with ample warm water, real fire, fridge etc. There is a natural hot spring/plunge pool in the forest and many miles of trails for walking/cycling. The breakfast is really good the only feedback i would give is that the evening meal should be better given the price band. Service accommodation and everything else fit the bill. Recommended.

Room tip: You must have a high wheel based 4 x 4 to get there. The road in is a bit rocky/uneven in places. Especially if it rains.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This was my first time here. We were 7 people and stayed in the Mahindu cottage. The cottage was quite quaint and the staff were really friendly and accomodating.

This cottage had no phone or internet reception, which we worked around (we didn't realise this until we checked in). If you require internet and phone reception, it may be best to stay closer to the main reception area. You do need transport to get around the property if you do not like walking.

We went for a hike to the plunge pool, that was not expected. It was quite small and is manmade, but it was refreshing after our hike. We were expecting a much larger and deeper natural plunge pool.

There is food available on site, but we brought our own and the kitchen facilities were good (no microwave or mwiko, but we managed).

This is a location we will go to again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank No R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We spent one weekend at Malu, in the self-catering Mahindu cottage. We really fall in love with the place, the Mahindu area is so beautiful. The kids really enjoyed the place, they loved seeing and feeding the animals, milking a cow, donkey cart riding... It is the perfect place for a nice family weekend outside Nairobi.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Marie-Laure F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have been to Malu lodge few times but never slept over. This time we decided to stay for two nights and MY-OH-MY we didn't regret it. It was AMAZING! We, two families with 5 kids in total age from 1,5 to 5 years old, stayed at Mahindu cottages. Our kids LOVED it so much they didn't want to go back home.
First about other kids' experiences, they loved to play in the small stream next to the cottages, ran among sprinkles on a lawn, milked cows, went on a donkey carts ride, did house-back riding, fed rabbits, geese, turkeys. They did everything possible to make a child happy. But above all else they loved the plunge pool. It was an adventure with a capital A! They were talking about the walk to the plunge pool and back for days. The plunge pool is lovely. Water temperature is very pleasant,
Now about adults.What can be more pleasant than to enjoy a cup of tea in a serene early night hours looking at the stars and hearing distant voices of laughing hyenas, been woken up in the morning by sun-birds fighting outside your window, being able to have a pleasant walk in safe environment, and most of all to see your children having the time of their life?
We LOVED it! Will definitely come again. Thank you very much

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Went to Malu yesterday for lunch. Mali is set in a conservancy.
it is beautiful, raw nature in the African, Kenyan bush....
The meal was served in the restaurant lodge, it was pleasant enough, but not one of the best meals I've had,
the battered fried Talapia was a little soggy, the thin sliced potatoes were not very warm/cold.
The complex is approx 12.5 Kms from the main road. The first 11kms are reasonable enough, (not tarmac) more graded road.
The tricky section is the last 1.5 Km. This really is mostly a river bed. very rough and a bit of a bone shaker.
not for the faint hearted and not for a saloon vehicle....... We were in a 4 x 4 and were still thrown around the vehicle.
The cottages have a faded rustic feel (needing attention). Its a back to nature, bird watchers paradise.
not for those seeking luxury, rather more earthy.
Would I go back , sorry not for me, but it was an experience I won't forget too soon..

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank Romevisitor2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews