We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
19
26
19
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
26
19
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverland tourgreat hostsquiet areaeasy accessstayed here for one nightfirst floortaxiairportkenyatentskauribeddingstopovermara
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

loved this place. 2 of is camped on the very good soft grassy ground, a 3rd stayed in very reasonable room. we were all v happy with our accommodation. the bar and restaurant were very good, fun, atmospheric, and sociable. good wifi, easy recharging, a reading/quiet area. v easy access into centre of nairobi. we were 'overlanding' but would recommend this for anyone wanting easy safe nice place to stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank bm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear bm65

Thank you for your excellent review. The staff and management here at Karen Camp are striving to provide our guests with the very best that we can provide with the facilities we have. We look forward to your future visit should you ever visit Kenya again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Karen camp is a fantastic place to stay whilst touring the area. Brendan and Val (the owners) were both welcoming and great to sit for a chat with. The staff are fabulous and very accommodating and the food is lovely. We are both vegetarians and have had more or less the same meals in Uganda and Rwanda so coming here to find a good few options on the menu was very nice. The gardens are nice for a relaxing afternoons beer in the sun and the dogs and cats are an added bonus for us! They have taxi drivers who can take you anywhere you need at reasonable prices.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zoebramwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear zoebramwell,
Thank you for your excellent review. The staff and ourselves thoroughly enjoyed your company and your stay with ourselves here at Karen Camp. We attempt to keep adjusting the menu with new and exciting good old fashion home cooked meals including a variety of vegetarian recipes. We all look forward to your next visit to Kenya and we hope that you choose Karen Camp once again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

The rooms and facilities are basic but suitable and very reasonably priced, everything is clean and well maintained. I opted for an ensuite room and was more than satisfied, especially considering the price!
More importantly, what makes Karen Camp special is the people. The staff are extremely welcoming and willing to help in any way they can. In addition, the landlord and lady, Brendan and Val, are great for a chat and a drink. Not only will you meet other tourists but also some very interesting locals, it wasn't uncommon to find hours had slipped by without realising.
The site is an ideal base.
There are several cab drivers working out of the camp that are professional, friendly and know the area well.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Peter R,
Thank you for your excellent review. The staff, Val and myself strive to make all welcome but especially great guests such as yourself and all the staff, drivers and of course Val and myself really enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Kenya remains a great place to visit and explore especially for good folk like yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for one night with my overland camping tour, the facilities were clean and great. We had food at the restaurant, had chicken burger and chips and it was tasty. The bar was cool as well and WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Tej_Chau,
Thank you for excellent review. The staff and management enjoy taking care of happy travelers such as yourself. We do hope you choose us again whenever you visit Kenya again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here four years ago and despite the website saying that renovations were underway I could not see any change. It's ok for a quick stop over but not a longer term stay. Food is adequate and the bar has a great atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Zanta63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBlack, Owner at Karen Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Zanta63,
Thank you for your review. Many other reviewers do seem to disagree with some things you have pointed out and we would be disappointed that all the investment and work we have put in here at Karen Camp has not been better noticed. However, whenever you get the chance to visit Kenya again we would be happy to host you and hope you enjoy the many improvements we have made here at Karen Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews