We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic”
Review of Philippe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Philippe Hotel
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Manchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty basic”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It was OK - I wouldn't stay again, although the staff seemed nice enough (even if I'm not convinced that pasta is a traditional Egyptian dish.....)
tired room decor with old furniture and carpet, and seemingly only twin bed rooms as my husband and I weren't offered a 'large bed' as we had been in other Egyptian hotels. Bathroom was clean,and the pool area was was reasonable and a good size.
The hotel is a bit jammed in amongst other buildings - so our bedroom windows looked out into another hotel, and the hallway windows looked into another building being renovated (and a large pile of old bathroom fittings). The hallways are very poorly lit, and the breakfast poor too (hard boiled eggs and bread in our 'breakfast bag'). But I understand from people joining our tour group in Luxor that compared to other hotels in the area it was in a good and quiet location. And if you're out and about sightseeing, and just sleeping there, clean and a reasonable bed is all you need after all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingactress03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    8
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Sorry to say this hotel, which was probably excellent in its day is now in a sad decline. The lobby and hallways are poorly lit, even though there are light there, no doublt to save costs. The room was acceptably clean, but tired, with torn carpets and a view of a wall. Even though there were only a handful of us staying, breakfast was no where to be seen, even 20 min after the official start time. The table cloths were stained and the breakfast rudimentary. We wouldn't recommend it, even if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The staff at the Philippe hotel could not do enough for us. They were curtious and friendly,nothing was too much trouble.Of course it is not a five star hotel, and things do go wrong from time to time,particularly with the small family hotels,but this should not worry the season traveller. If you are the type that likes to be pampered in a luxury hotel,and pay rip-off prices for food and drink then the Philippe is not for you! My overall praise goes to the waiter George who made our stay most enjoyable,nothing was too much trouble, and he spoke excellent english.If you want a small friendly hotel without the frills,then you will enjoy the Philippe.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

As my partner and I were looking for a hotel in Luxor, we came across this really nice hotel website, the pictures were so well taken that we thought, right thats the one but we were SO WRONG! It's the worst hotel we've ever stayed in! When we got to the hotel everything was 10 times smaller, it was dark and has a rotten egg smell.

Location:
We have to give them a thumbs up for the location, its close to most of the major sites on the East Bank (within walking distance). However, there are many other hotels in the same location.

Room:
The room we had was small and smelly, bed sheets were dirty, balcony door cannot be closed properly. The toilet seat was broken, shower water cannot be controlled to a constant temp.. Fridge was broken, TV and lamp wires were frayed.

Reception:
The reception agreed to help us with a reservation on the overnight train to Cairo so they told us everything is fine & reserved. However, when we got to the train station there was no reservations at all and that screwed us over, as all the trains were fully booked for the next couple of days. Also whenever we asked the reception for help, they wanted to charge us more!

Breakfast:
One word - CRAP! It consists of one boiled egg that was not fresh, one small mini jam, butter and cheap spread cheese. OH forgot, they also provide cheap stale bread.

Other Services:
Internet - extra charge!

I would actually rate this hotel as extremely terrible if I could! I would never come back to this hotel ever, not even if you pay me!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gregwa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Where to start?
Checked in at The Philippe with Tour Group. Gf and I were given a twin room which was "changed" into a double. Due to length of phone lead the telephone HAD to remain on the bed (we needed early morning wake-up call). Table in the room had to be moved so that one of us could leave the bed...but that meant the table covered half of the doorway to the bathroom.
We managed to get a room change.
Second room was even worse. Again, small, but, after putting on AC, we managed to get three separate streams of water dripping onto the floor from the ceiling. Took over 45 minutes for a third room to be found...which ended up being the first one again. It was then midnight so we gave up and stayed in it...after re-arranging most of the furniture.
Into bed, and, sheets aren't big enough. It appears that the hotel has no double sheets at all...they simply use single sheets across the bed...and across the body only...your feet dangle out the bottom right underneath the fur-type over-blanket.

Service in this restaurant is absolutely terrible. Other members of the group had to ask for toilet paper four times before it arrived.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CPerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
583 reviews
0.4 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
1.4 km away
Susanna Hotel
Susanna Hotel
#45 of 54 in Luxor
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.5 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
1.0 km away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippe Hotel

Property: Philippe Hotel
Address: Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Philippe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing