We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Obviously I had read all the reviews on here before I went , so was expecting it to be good, but this good!!!! To be honest it exceeded my expectations, in all areas . We had booked directly through the hotel and the email contact was great and we were able to pre book airport transfers and a sunset felucca experience before hand . The pick up was great and was 30 USD per way for a private transfer , my tip just do it ( you won't be dissapointed) , the check in and baggage to the room was done quickly and without any worries , we were relaxed straightaway . The room was clean and modern , we had a large balcony with a view of the Nile only about 25m from the edge. The room had comfortable bed linen which meant a great nights sleep and the bathroom was adequately sized and well lit with all complimentary toiletries , and the shower was large and walk in with hot water always with no temperature dropping off if you fancied a longer soak !
The pool area was superb with a lovely warm pool and semi submerged sunbeds too , there were plenty of sunbeds with no early morning dash needed to reserve a good one and the pool staff were really attentive , they would place 2 towels on the bed and you didn't lift a finger , they came round with complimentary fruit kebabs and ice cream every day , the drinks service was also as efficient , no need to get up they were always looking out to serve .
We had booked breakfast only and this was served in the Rosetta which is the buffet restaurant , however this isn't like your average buffet restaurant it was unbelievable , it felt like a a la carte restaurant except having to look around the perfectly presented food on display and the quality was extremely high . I think this was the thing that impressed me most about the hotel , that they had gone to such lengths to provide this very high standard , we did eat at Silk Road and Olives and they were also very good but we thought that Rosetta was above our expectations .
We had booked a sunset felucca ride before we arrived and had a fantastic time on a sail of about 90 mins which had a large platter of canapés included , we ordered a bottle of wine and Ahmed accompanied us and kept topping up our glasses as we sat back and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of sailing along , I would recommend this experience and it was reasonably priced . We actually met Christoph at the cocktail party after our felucca ride and it seems that he is an inspirational and passionate man who leads an excellent team with their only desire to be offering their guests the very best and I have to say that he is certainly achieving this , every member of staff we came into contact was excellent in their service , friendliness and professionalism , we arrived knowing that it would be good but left totally wowed with our expectations more than exceeded

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe Nile view rooms , they have a bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skybluethinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share with us your feedback via the Tripadvisor site.

My pleasure to know that our facilities and staff services exceeded your expectations; I have to say that I am really proud of our resort and team members who made you changed your opinion from good to WOW.

I shared personally your remarks with Ahmed and that you enjoyed the Felucca ride; he is very happy to know that his efforts have ended up to your enjoyment.

We hope to see you again at our sunny resort.

Kind regards,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 913 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for 10 days in Feb/Mar - excellent hotel, food, and especially staff
Great upgrade to room with balcony overlooking nile
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamsanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Valued Customer,

Your Feedback about your recent experience at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa is much appreciated.

We are delighted to know that you spent an enjoyable time at our sunny resort.

Looking forward for your next visit in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

M husband and I had a lovely holiday in Luxor due largely to a wonderful stay at the Luxor Hilton. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Hilton Luxor and it was one of the most picturesque hotels we've been in. It could be a destination on it's own!

Our room was lovely and a good size. Housekeeping is impeccable, leaving nice touches here and there such as nice towel art that make you smile.

The facilities and amenities are the icing on the cake in this hotel. Both infinity pools are just stunning and overlook the Nile and the Valley of Kings. The sunsets are spectacular! And basking in the wonderful weather, comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks and the faultless service from staff with complimentary refreshments every now and again is just plain bliss.

On top of this, there is a sauna, steam room, a shisha/bar area and a number of restaurants to cater for every taste. We particularly loved the Olives restaurant because of the spectacular views (day and night!), the great food and service we received, the wonderful Arabic singer who personally serenaded us during dinner and again during drinks and shisha. We felt really special and enjoyed his wonderful company and singing voice.

Breakfast was wonderful at Rosetta Restaurant. You can choose to dine alfresco or inside the restaurant and breakfast options are extensive. Again, service was faultless.

The location of the hotel is great. It's close to major attractions in Luxor and the city centre is accessible via complimentary mini buses that go frequently and can be booked in advance.

My husband and I can't fault this hotel. If we were being really picky, the bathroom we had was a tad on the small side but in saying that it really is the best value for money for the room, the service, facilities, location and amenities.

The Hilton Luxor is Egyptian hospitality at it's best!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w0rldwidew0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa and for the time you have spared to write your feedback on the Tripadvisor site.

It is amazing to see that you had a wonderful stay at our resort and that our facilities met your satisfactions.

I have passed your lovely comments onto the Housekeeping team members who are very happy to know that their efforts exceeded your expectations.

Hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The ambiance and level of service at the Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa were wonderful. The Rosetta buffet breakfasts and dinners were excellent and offered plenty of variety to us as vegetarians. The quality of all dishes, including desserts was of a very high standard, each element with perfect balance of flavour.
Every single member of staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay; that includes the front desk, the concierges, the housekeeping team, the pool staff and attendants, the spa, and waiters in the Rosetta, Silk Road and Olives restaurants. We have never been so spoiled and despite the extra cost of staying at a Hilton, it was worth it. This hotel cares about its guests 24 hours a day.

Just a couple of slight issues. I found the free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (excluding room wi-fi which was chargeable) sometimes too weak to download emails, often requiring a second or third attempt later in the day or from a different location in the hotel. We found our room, with Nile view, a little on the small side. The bathroom, though of high quality materials, did not allow for two people simultaneously manoeuvering around, and provided only a single washbasin which seems odd given that the room was clearly for double occupancy.

All in all, worth the expense, we were treated like royalty!

Room Tip: Nile view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent holiday at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa via the Tripadvisor site.

It is to our utmost pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at our resort and that our team members spared no efforts to make your stay the most memorable vacation.

As for your comment that WIFI in the room is chargeable, we can confirm that it is under discussion with our head quarters.

You mentioned that the internet is sometimes too weak to download emails; I would like to inform you that our Information Technology Manager is in contact with the third party to increase the coverage of internet.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stunning hotel
first class service by the staff
Beautifull pool and vieuw
Food very good
Cleaning almost perfect
Rooms rather small and balkony just big enough for a rabit
Alcoholic drinks too expensive and not strong

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HiltonLuxorResort, General Manager at Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for your observations that you posted on the Tripadvisor site about your recent holiday in Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa.

I am really happy to see that you had an enjoyable time with us and that the pool, food & the cleaning exceeded your expectations.

Your comment that the balcony is small has been taken into consideration for any future renovation project.

Your remarks that the alcoholic is expensive and is not strong have been forwarded to the Food & Beverage Manager to include it during our next price review and menu printing.

Looking forward for your next visit to our sunny resort.

Kind regards,

Christoph Schleissing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
5.4 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.3 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
906 reviews
4.2 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.3 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa

Address: P.O.Box 13 | New Karnak, Luxor 13, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#1 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#1 Family Hotel in Luxor
#1 Business Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: €83 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you desire to visit Luxor, you will find Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa the ideal base from which to explore the rich and ancient culture of the Nile Valley. Situated on the east bank, you can enjoy glorious, unobstructed views of the river Nile from our unique, water's edge location, with the largest waterfront on the Nile. Luxor is the site of ancient Thebes, and has a legendary reputation as the world’s finest open air museum, with an unparalleled range of historic monuments. The Temple of Karnak and Valley of Kings are on our doorstep. Our newly renovated resort & spa offers the ultimate in luxury, unparalleled in Luxor. Lounge in one of our five stylish bars, perhaps smoking a shisha pipe while gazing at the Nile. Sample the finest in Egyptian, Eastern and international cuisine in one of our three restaurants Rosetta, Olives and Silk road. Hilton Luxor boasts a World Class Spa covering an area of 1,150 m², including a beautiful garden, a 160 m2 Spa Infinity Pool, and 12 individual treatment rooms. Our palatial Karnak ballroom is the most contemporary and cutting-edge Nile Valley venue for corporate events and celebrations.You will find the attention to service as immaculate as the hotel’s contemporary Arabic design, At Hilton Luxor our highly trained and dedicated staff will make you feel like a Pharaoh during your Egypt holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Hilton Luxor Resort And Spa
Luxor Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing