We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and luxury in glorious Luxor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Winter Palace Luxor is my favourite hotel, it's a classic, a grand old lady which continues to draw me back year after year for its ideal combination of excellent service, beautiful interiors and stunning grounds, ideally located on the banks of the Nile and close to everything you need to enjoy Luxor and its attractions. Afternoon tea on the terrance watching the sun set over the Nile is one of the great experiences and the Royal Bar with its atmostpher of a 1920s gentleman's club makes you think that Howard Carter or Lord Carnarvon might appear at any moment to order a gin and tonic and talk about their adventures in the Valley of the Kings. The two swimming pools are a perfect for relaxing and swimming, and the staff so friendly and attentive, I can't wait to return. In fact I've just booked another week in January.

Room Tip: I like to wake up with the rising sun so always choose a room facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brightonmark2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from the land of the Pharaohs!
Thank you for your loyalty and interest in Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, we are delighted hosting you with us. We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your luxury experience at the Hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Great old building
A block from Luxor temple
Rooms facing Nile are beautiful but a bit of street noise
Rooms facing amazing gardens would be quieter
Great cozy wood panel bar
Nice for a drink
Rooms are old but comfortable clean and very high ceilings
Recommended

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BernDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor for your recent visit to Luxor. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities and services is a reward in itself. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the old palace building with room overlooking the garden. The garden is extensive and very nice with good pool and a nice coffee shop cum restaurant by pool. Inadequate power points and not well located so hard to charge things up. One lift malfunctioned and would not stop at the floor you wanted. Food nice, breakfast buffet quite good. Not much room in room, shower over bath and hard to operate. Tea making facilities in room. Was King Farouk's palace so high ceilings and very spacious halls.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Selim SHAWER Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately not what we expected. It needs major renovations. The rooms are very outdated and dirty. The carpets throughout the hotel smell bad and look awful. The furniture is worn out. The staff are not trained properly. Food was basically left overs recycled between breakfast-lunch-dinner and for many days. Nothing was fresh. Nothing was delicious. The garden is beautiful but that does not compensate for everything else.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank frofros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We regret that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a luxury service experience for every Guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for a better experience

Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Rooms - big rooms that need some freshening up (old fitted carpets etc).

Ambiance - beautiful interiors, lovely gardens.

Restaurants - They need more work as Sofitel 5* restaurants. The evening BBQ restaurant was ok but we were expecting better food. The Pool restaurant needs more work, our sandwiches came with a warm bread and a cold chicken filling. The a-la-carte restaraunt is very good. The Bar offers great nibbles with the drinks. Service is overall friendly and good.TIP- for a corkage of $8-9, you can bring along your own bottle of wine and avoid the very expensive mediocre wines on the wine list.

Guided Tours - we selected a guided tour from a list provided by the hotel. While the tour / tour guide were good, i am certain it would have been much cheaper had we contacted directly one of the good tour operators in Luxor.

I was disappointed that, even though due to an Accorhotels website error i was charged 2 times and took us a week to rectify this mistake, i wasnt offered an apology or a customer service gesture.

Overall, as a Sofitel 5* hotel, it needs more work. But a very good choice overall.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DionysisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us at Sofitel Luxor Winter . I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886, however your comments regarding the BBQ restaurant and the drinks at the Bar that has been served to you were taking into consideration in view of doing the necessary changes. also please note that a face lifting plan will take place soon to be inline with our Guests expectations .The kind words are passed over to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the close future. Best regards, Best regards, Selim Shawer Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.2 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.2 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
0.8 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
915 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Address: Corniche El Nile St, Luxor, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: €76 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Accor Winter Palace Luxor
Winter Palace Luxor
Sofitel Luxor
Luxor Sofitel
Old Winter Palace Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing