We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveller rating
925
296
100
52
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
296
100
52
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter palace royal bar historic hotel old palace agatha christie king farouk opera suite grand staircase howard carter la corniche faded grandeur garden view victoria lounge jacket and tie steeped in history corniche restaurant pavilion wing
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Great old building
A block from Luxor temple
Rooms facing Nile are beautiful but a bit of street noise
Rooms facing amazing gardens would be quieter
Great cozy wood panel bar
Nice for a drink
Rooms are old but comfortable clean and very high ceilings
Recommended

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BernDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor for your recent visit to Luxor. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities and services is a reward in itself. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the old palace building with room overlooking the garden. The garden is extensive and very nice with good pool and a nice coffee shop cum restaurant by pool. Inadequate power points and not well located so hard to charge things up. One lift malfunctioned and would not stop at the floor you wanted. Food nice, breakfast buffet quite good. Not much room in room, shower over bath and hard to operate. Tea making facilities in room. Was King Farouk's palace so high ceilings and very spacious halls.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us. I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with others guests’ on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence Thank you again for sharing your luxury experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Selim SHAWER Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately not what we expected. It needs major renovations. The rooms are very outdated and dirty. The carpets throughout the hotel smell bad and look awful. The furniture is worn out. The staff are not trained properly. Food was basically left overs recycled between breakfast-lunch-dinner and for many days. Nothing was fresh. Nothing was delicious. The garden is beautiful but that does not compensate for everything else.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank frofros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor and for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We regret that your experience did not fully meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a luxury service experience for every Guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for a better experience

Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Rooms - big rooms that need some freshening up (old fitted carpets etc).

Ambiance - beautiful interiors, lovely gardens.

Restaurants - They need more work as Sofitel 5* restaurants. The evening BBQ restaurant was ok but we were expecting better food. The Pool restaurant needs more work, our sandwiches came with a warm bread and a cold chicken filling. The a-la-carte restaraunt is very good. The Bar offers great nibbles with the drinks. Service is overall friendly and good.TIP- for a corkage of $8-9, you can bring along your own bottle of wine and avoid the very expensive mediocre wines on the wine list.

Guided Tours - we selected a guided tour from a list provided by the hotel. While the tour / tour guide were good, i am certain it would have been much cheaper had we contacted directly one of the good tour operators in Luxor.

I was disappointed that, even though due to an Accorhotels website error i was charged 2 times and took us a week to rectify this mistake, i wasnt offered an apology or a customer service gesture.

Overall, as a Sofitel 5* hotel, it needs more work. But a very good choice overall.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DionysisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us at Sofitel Luxor Winter . I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. We are glad to know you fully enjoyed the historical charm of the great Old palace where lots of the presidents and celebrities have stayed in which was built in 1886, however your comments regarding the BBQ restaurant and the drinks at the Bar that has been served to you were taking into consideration in view of doing the necessary changes. also please note that a face lifting plan will take place soon to be inline with our Guests expectations .The kind words are passed over to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the close future. Best regards, Best regards, Selim Shawer Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is situated right at the banks of Nile river and has a feeling of an old palace. We were given an upgrade to opera suite which was quite large. It had a great view of Nile and Luxor temple. Rooms were clean though furniture/ carpets looked old. Staff is polite and helpful. Breakfast is continental and food was ok. There is no spa and gym facilities available. Massage room was very basic and situated underground at a secluded place. Hotel grounds are maintained well and quite big. Swimming pool is nice. Overall the hotel is nice though it needs renovation. I would recommend staying here as it is still one of the best in Luxor.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank runjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAWERSelim, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us at the Sofitel Luxor Winter Place. Let me seize this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts of your last visit. We are delighted to read that you had a unique Luxury experience and that our colleagues succeeded to come up to your expectations, please note that a face lifting plan will take place soon to be inline with our Guests expectations The kind words are passed over to the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the close future. Best regards,
Selim SHAWER
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews