We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
50
9
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
9
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nour el nil medinat habu west bank rooftop terrace within walking distance ragab cruise temple embarking valley kings egypt taxi accommodations cons sights nile
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The staff were incredibly nice and made you feel very at home. The food was good and the location we found to be great for accessing the West bank attractions in Luxor (and frankly being in the middle of East bank Luxor is over-rated). The rooftop terrace and the view is reason enough to stay here.

There were a few unfortunate things that seemed easily fixable that could have made our stay match the other great accommodations we had on our trip: 1) they call out the beds as being 'purposely firm' but they are just not comfortable - we did get extra padding from the staff, but this seems something worth fixing to make the stay more comfortable; 2) the cost of the taxi the hotel uses is heavily inflated versus the going rate - this is fine, but it would be helpful if those expectations are set upfront so we could make other arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fightingwithavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

i have to agree with the previous review. We had a large scruffy room and the bathroom shower was in front of the toilet with no curtain so toilet was wet. It is cold in the winter and neither the room or the water temperature were comfortable. It is far from town so few eating options close by but they are also ready to provide very mediocre food at a high price. And always ask prices for an any extra service beforehand!!!! there are better options out there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kuchimayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Don't expect what you see in the photos on the website, but a sort of scruffy version of it. Prior to my arrival I met a couple on the train from Aswan who asked where I was heading and suggested I not expect much. Then 2 more conversations over roof-top meals with a similar sense of disappointment. I'm not saying it's terrible, no one said that, just not what was expected and consequently overpriced.

I was there for a day's rest before moving on and while the staff of 2 were friendly enough and mostly helpful, their continuous squabbling was not the soundtrack of my dreams. The setting is lovely and I had great hopes for the place, have traveled many years in developing parts of the world and seek out simple places to stay but this isn't one to which I'll be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

This place is great. Staff are super friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is quite the spread and includes homemade jam. Dinner was also tasty and enjoyable. Roof top is an extra bonus - the perfect start and finish to the day.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank PurplePapillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Perfect place if you are looking to be away from the city. This hotel is a two floored beautiful traditional house located very close to Madinet Habu temple with two people looking after it with top class hospitality. Every need is attended immediately and the feeling is like living at home, and it cannot be compared to any hotel in the city. The bedroom is beautifully decorated with traditional items and antique furniture with all the basic amenities.
Food was delicious as it was freshly prepared based on our choices. There is no menu to order and we were asked what kind of cuisine we preferred, and we were very clear that we wanted only Egyptian food. All meals were served on the roof top with splendid views of the mountains on the background and we loved every bit, there is no need to go looking for food outside as everything is taken care here.
The caretaker Rajab was friendly and made our stay very comfortable in every aspect.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews