We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$53
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$62
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pavillon Winter Luxor(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$46
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nefertiti Hotel(Luxor)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$56
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
360
56
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
56
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationindependent travellerstour guideboutique hoteldaily lifea great place to stayegyptian historyno elevatorrooms are largeancient egypttemples and tombsabu simbelegyptian experiencemini barrooftop terracehorse carriagenile cruise
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Being two females travelling alone to Egypt, my friend and I had all the typical words of caution before setting off on our journey. We did the 10 days in Egypt through Mara House and I cant imagine seeing it any other way! Every step of the way was so well thought out and meticulous. Starting with the communication before leaving with Mara. She had everything so well documented that you knew what to expect every step of the way. Every single transport had a professional and on time driver. Each and every guide was so knowledgable, personable and down to earth. This is huge considering you will be spending a substantial amount of time with these individuals. Mara House itself is absolutely beautiful! From the decor to the spacious rooms, you really felt welcomed and comfortable. The cook is AMAZING, our breakfasts were always perfect and the Salahadeen Feast was to DIE for! The manager of Mara House is such an amazing human.. Mara really picked the perfect people to run things for her. You can trust that if you do this tour you will be well taken care of. Go see Egypt and experience it for all of its beauty and gracious people!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sharmayne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

My husband and I just spent three days and nights with Mara House in Luxor. We can't say enough wonderful things about the staff, the rooms and the location. Each room is its own large apartment/suite with a sitting room, balcony, kitchenette, a wet room bath, very comfy beds, laundry services, and AC. Also provided is very fast Wi-Fi!

Because Mara House curates the experience for you with the best Luxor has to offer, they helped us with transportation (we had the best drivers!), hooked us up with a guide (Mohammad was fabulous!!) and every morning Mara House manager Ahmed was there to meet us with a HUGE and delicious breakfast and get us ready for our day, and every evening he was there to help us find the best restaurants Luxor has to offer! He was so amazingly thoughtful as well. We'd mentioned how much we'd loved one of the cheeses provided at breakfast and like magic a couple of boxes showed up in our room for us to take back to the USA with us! He was so very thoughtful! We also were lucky enough to experience their full Egyptian dinner as well. This was by far and away the best meal we'd had while we were in Egypt.

Don't hesitate. If you're in Luxor, this is the place to stay! I can't give Mara House and the staff enough stars!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great to the best of my knowledge. This is a boutique hotel located on a residential street.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We did a bit of everything with Mara House and it went incredibly well.

The house is beautiful. The rooms are large (apartment like). The space is clean and comfortable. The wifi internet is fast for Luxor. The team is caring, speaks great English, and is always available.

We went on tours in Luxor (and across Egypt) all organized by the Mara House team. They've vetted the best guides who know the ins and outs and will even get you behind the scenes). The guides are experts on the history, the temples, the tombs and will fill you in on the local approach to life. We went on a boat ride - awesome, enjoyed a feast at Mara House - also awesome, rode on a horse-drawn carriage - perfect, had our laundry done - fast and excellent, and had breakfast provided each morning - delicious.

The team is exceptional. They made the visit incredibly easy and covered us from airport arrival to departure and everything in-between. If you've got questions, they've got answers and we were incredibly informed which made our visit easy, fun, relaxing and educational.

Mara House is a great place to stay. We had an extraordinarly experience.

Room Tip: The rooftop patio is a highlight. Be sure to get up there for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Never_Easy_to_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We arrived into Luxor at noon and were promptly greeted by an employee of Mara house. Following check in, we relaxed for an hour in what could only be described as an apartment, and then left for the first day of tours, visiting two amazing temples (Luxor and Karnak). The next 2 days, beginning at 8 a.m., we visited a number of sites in the area with a very capable guide by the name of Mohammed. Intelligent, knowledgeable and very patient, Mohammed showed us the best that Luxor could offer. His English was impeccable and he took the time to make certain our questions were answered.
Each evening when we returned "home", the host at Mara house, Ahmed, greeted us warmly and inquired on what we had seen. To our surprise upon returning each day, he has turned on our room air conditioners (it was 114 F our final day), so that our rooms were comfortable. Ahmed went out of his way, morning and night, to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
The refrigerator in our room was stocked with cold drinks, wine and chocolate, as well as other snacks to munch on. But the golden gem of Mara house were the meals. Amir prepared a delightful breakfast each morning. Delicious and plentifil, we left for our daily tours full and content each morning. One evening we were treated with a "traditional " meal. The time and care Amir put into preparing this meal was obvious. It was superb!
Every detail at Mara house was well thought out to provide for comfort and a feeling of being cared for. With out a doubt, for lodging, tours and meals, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and comfortable. We had room 5, upstairs. No elevator, but easy access.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donnald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Marie Vaughn really cares about her people and the people who stay with her. She has a blog that reflects all her happy customers. I plan to return again next year and spend time with her because she will take me anywhere that is safe to go and will help me to have a great time.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Marie can help you find one to suit your tastes.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews