We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

the best location in Aswan. great breakfast, beautiful pool area, nice pool cafe, good shops, pharmacy on premesis a bonus, big rooms, nice balcony (ask or Nile view) good beds, lots of room for luggage etc. bar on the tower is nice, great location as you can travel by felluca everywhere. very friendly staff from front desk to ferry drivers to pool guy. i would stay again

Room Tip: Nile view rooms on level 3 good as you are on the same level as breakfast and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    356
    126
    44
    32
See reviews for
299
485
102
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It took some time to realise that the hotel is practically located in elephantine island .
But they have 24hrs boat service from the hotel to the other side and it's quite an experience crossing the nile everytime and seeing the feluccas pass by.

The room was good with 2 balconies, giving views of the nile from 2 different sides.The staff were efficient and courteous.The breakfast was also nice with a generous spread.One could even eat out in the terrace and see the nile.

Best part was during evenings and nights when the hotel was lit up and the lights would change colours in the main tower at short intervals.

Also at least here you get to have proper ice cream and not what they serve sherbet-style in most places in egypt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sckol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinoBustani, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Beloved Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your lovely comments. The whole Resort Team is very touched by your compliments and we all thank you for having chosen our property to be your choice of stay in Egypt.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you in our resort, or to any of our properties worldwide, I remain,

With best regards,

Dino Bustani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My son and I travelled to Aswan together from Cairo where he resides. We had originally planned to stay in Aswan three days but enjoyed the hotel property so much it became an 11 day holiday! From the moment we arrived, we knew we had chosen the right hotel. The staff at the front desk was efficient and courteous and went out of their way to be helpful at all times. The General Manager, Dino Bustani, runs a very nice property.

Our spotless and well appointed room on the second floor faced the Botanical Gardens and was calm and peaceful. The balcony was very nice to sit out and watch the passing Feluccas. Complimentary bottled water was available in the room which was a nice touch. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were great. Linens were crisp and clean and the room attendant Abeer was extremely efficient.

The dining room was extremely well run and the breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The morning Manager was a jolly gentleman who greeted everyone warmly. A nice way to start the day. There was an excellent omellete station as well as a variety of hot and cold breakfast foods. The mixed fresh fruit bowl was always full and there was a nice selection of yoghurts. The selection of croissant and baked goods were impressive.

The evening buffet where we ate nightly, offered a very nice selection of European style and Egyptian food. There was a very nice pasta station as well. The food was well prepared and on some nights there was a selection of freshly grilled meats and chicken. Deserts were simply splendid! The night Manager, Mervat, was lovely and it was a pleasure to be greeted by her. Without exception, all of the wait staff were wonderful and were so attentive. They just couldn't do enough for you.

The grounds of the hotel are extremely well kept and their is a resident horse, Sukar, that roams the property freely. The infinity pool was clean and there is a lovely poolside restaurant. A very pleasant place to spend the afternoon after trekking through the Souk.

We did meet two older European couples at the hotel who had been coming for years and are long term guests (1-2 months) which speaks very highly of the hotel.

The hotel is located on Elephantine Island and is accessible by a continually running ferry from the main Corniche, making it very easy to get into Aswan.

There are a few shops in the hotel but you will find anything you could possibly want in the colorful Souk. There is a tailor on hotel grounds who can whip up a suit or some nice dress shirts fairly quickly and my son had some very nice things made. The owner of the shop, Nagib, is very friendly. The jewelry shop has some very nice pieces and will customize a cartouche in short order.

The Nubia Museum and the Nubian VIllage were interesting to see and be sure to take a Felucca ride from one of the many boats waiting by the Corniche.



































































































































































.

Room Tip: A room facing the Botanical Gardens is very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinoBustani, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Beloved Guests;

Lovely greetings from everyone in Aswan.

With a little delay, allow me to salute You, and your esteemed Son. I do remember you very well and thank you for the trust you both had put in us. It touched us all, the fact that you had decided to extend your stay. We were so happy, and long spoke about you.

Your precious review is considered one of the most valuable. Your sincere words felt rewarding and so touching to us ALL. It shall remain engraved within us for as long as we remain serving in this property.

I feel the joy of my Team when they will welcome you with joy, the day you decide to come back again to Aswan. Please, consider Elephantine Island your home away from home.

Truly,

Dino Bustani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrésy, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Perhaps because we had stayed at the Old Cateract just before, this hotel was rather a disappointment. The two hotels are simply not in the same league. The main reason is that this hotel has all the charm of a 1970's airport terminal. It's a pity because the location on Elephantine Island away from hustle and bustle is a delight and the staff do their utmost to help. What I found particularly irritating was constantly having to go in and out of doors to get from one part of the hotel to another. It is quite cold and windy out of doors in the evenings in Aswan in February, but to get to the gawdy orange-chaired clashing against deep salmon pink walled mosquito infested restaurant this couldn't be avoided. Although half the price of the astronomically priced Old Cataract I still did not find this hotel good value for money. It is a similar style and price tag to a 4 star airport hotel in Europe.. but this is Egypt and prices and wages are simply not the same.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room face the West bank and not the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradeform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinoBustani, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Moevenpick Resort Aswan to be your holiday destination.

I took note of all your comments, and feel sorry for not having met your expectations in certain aspects of comfort. Your review is very important to us as it helps us identify the matters that must be improved in the near future.

Again, thank you and looking forward to welcoming you in our resort, or to any of our hotels worldwide, I remain,

With best regards,

Dino Bustani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We would rate the Mövenpick Resort Aswan a 4-4 ½ star hotel by European standards, with almost continuous boat access from Aswan to its location on Elephantine Island. It has a large pool, several shops, a lovely location with good-sized rooms overlooking the Nile, and a generous breakfast buffet. Breakfast includes an omelet station, cereals, Egyptian breakfast foods, vegetables, wonderful tomatoes, bread and sweet rolls, juices, fruits, coffee, and tea. The rooms are slightly worn; we specifically asked for robes, which were quickly provided. There is no clock or coffee/tea maker. There is a safe and unstocked refridgerator in the room. (You can ask them to stock the refridgerator if you wish.) Our room had a small terrace overlooking the Nile, a desk, TV, and a small tound table with two chairs. Access to and from the town of Aswan is provided by a ferry that seems to run continuously and takes about 5 minutes to cross the Nile. This puts the hotel within easy walking distance to the Aswan souk The scenes of the Nile, the dunes, and feluccas are gorgeous. Our reservations were recommended and arranged by our tour guide, Your Egypt Tours.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main part of the hotel facing the west and therefore western side of Elephantin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.3 km away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.8 km away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.0 km away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.6 km away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 km away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Property: Movenpick Resort Aswan
Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Mövenpick Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing