We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed there 4 nights in November. The rooms in the fifth floor were good and clean, good breakfast and the hotel had a local feel. Many Egyptean's in it. The streets outside are quite unattrative and dirty but local restaurants and shops are available .

Room Tip: aske for the Fifth Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meis234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    22
    29
    19
    13
See reviews for
4
27
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October 2011 at the end of my Intrepid tour, and loved every moment!
The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with a flat screen tv and fridge. The cleanliness and quality of the towels and sheets was very good.
Breakfast was included, and had the usual range of items in addition to fruit, omelettes, and salads.
The restaurant has a great view, and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. Alcohol is available.
The hotel is in a good location being very close to a great supermarket, cafes, restaurants, take away and a 15 minute walk to some floating restaurants on the Nile. It’s also close to the Metro.
The staff were friendly and helpful (in particular George and Sherif) which made the stay very pleasant.
There are quite a few touts in the area, who offer transport, tours and souvenirs in addition to providing useful advice of services and facilities in the area. With the right attitude, you can have some fun!
This was the best hotel I stayed in during my 19 days in Egypt.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishMish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful with information on local hot spots and resources. Very clean, good location and good security. Special thanks to George for making my stay so easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKotaridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed a total of 2 separate nights here on a recent vacation to Egypt. My partner and I booked our Egypt trip through Gap Adventures, and they assigned this hotel to us for our one night, 2 day stay in Cairo. At first we were a little skeptical about the hotel based on the reviews on here, but we were actually pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

It is relatively close to the Giza train station, which is the big tour group train station hub stop, and much closer to the pyramids and Sphinx than downtown or other parts of the town. It's also within 3-4 min walking distance to a Western-catered grocery store with good prices on snacks/drinks (which is crucial for Egypt tours as you have to drink bottled water everywhere), a Domino's pizza, and KFC.

In terms of the condition of the hotel, the hotel rooms are clean, and there's clean towels and a renovated, clean bathroom. There's cable with several TV channels and working AC. On the desk it says it charges $60 USD for foreign visitors, and we ended up having to do that on our last day when the train was delayed and we missed our flight out of Cairo. There is free wifi (although slow) in the lobby, and only LE10 for an hour to use their computer, which I used to book a new flight. Breakfast was included and actually pretty good...the omelettes were yummy, definitely try that. We also had dinner upstairs on the 10th floor - the food was good and prices were very reasonable.

Overall the service was very good, but one thing I did not like was dealing with bellboys, which I felt was a little rude. When I tipped one of them he complained that I didn't give enough and wanted more money! All he did was carry my little duffel bag from the lobby to the taxi sitting right outside the entrance of the hotel. Other than that, a good experience at Pharaohs Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brosernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed 2-nights in this hotel. It had been recommended by our tour company but the price seemed low and I was a bit wary about what to expect. I found our room to be well-kept, clean & tidy. Furnishings were simple but functional; a small table and 2-chairs, small balcony, 2-single beds with wonderful Egyptian cotton sheets that were comfortable enough for me and my husband. If I had any complaints it would be the lumpy pillows but I had a small travel pillow with me for the airplane and that seemed to do the trick.

Breakfast was included ....nescafé coffee, toast & jam, cheese and a small station and all the fixing to make a great omelette - nice touch! The restaurant is open during the day and we had lunch there one day; price was excellent and the food was good, but it did take quite a while to prepare. They serve beer and wine as well. The staff were great, always helpful. Wireless internet was included.

Location was great, close to the Nile and to the bridge. There's a grocer just down the street - didn't really see any restaurants that I would eat at in the immediate are.

Good idea to consider bringing earplugs to block out air conditioner, horns honking into the wee hours and the cacophony of the early morning prayer calls.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.0 km away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#95 of 138 in Cairo
123 reviews
0.0 km away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#71 of 138 in Cairo
162 reviews
0.0 km away
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
#92 of 138 in Cairo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
0.0 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.0 km away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharaohs Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharaohs Hotel & Casino

Property: Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
Address: 12 Lotfi Hassouna Street | Dokki, Giza 12411, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Pharaohs Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pharaohs Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pharaohs Hotel And Casino
Pharaohs Hotel Giza
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing